We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 967)
Filter reviews
1 967 results
Traveller rating
1 263
494
143
52
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 263
494
143
52
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews love room steep hill infinity pool cozy room shuttle service shuttle buses free shuttle golf buggies ocean view room our honeymoon fisherman's village the main road large balcony breakfast was amazing rent a scooter bophut beach relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1 967 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We arrived at the Mantra for a 8 night Luxury Escapes deal. Check in was easy and as we arrived before check in time, we only had to wait an hour or so, when they let us know our suite was available. We really appreciated this. Thank you to the friendly helpful staff in the Lobby.We booked a Love Ocean Suite and were not disappointed with our beautiful 67 sqm room, with such an amazing view of the beautiful ocean.

Included in the deal we also enjoyed 4 massages between us and I was lucky enough to win 2 massages, by filling in their questionnaire, I also treated myself to a facial, the ladies in the spa have such lovely hands they know how to relax you and the treatments are very relaxing.

As we were their to relax, we ate at the resort's restaurant and enjoyed the local Thai cuisine. Only one request, perhaps a grilled fish, salmon, barramundi could be added to the menu. We enjoyed the breakfast, they do a really nice overnight oatmeal and the fruit is very fresh and delicious. We enjoyed the coffee, they make a very nice cappuccino.

The infinity pool had a lovely view, nice and peaceful watching all the boats sail past, just a request of some more shade needed. We had to pick our times to have a swim, which we enjoy. We found this area much too hot too lie around in for too long.

The Resort is all steep hills, slopes and steps leading up to rooms. We didn't have a long way to the main area, but it was still a steep climb and was grateful for the few steps to climb up. They do offer a buggy service if needed.

The room was always lovely and clean to return to and the fridge replenished with soft drinks.

They run a shuttle service to Fisherman's Village and Chaweng Beach S/C regularly and on time, very handy. This is a bonus, as it it not a resort you can walk out of and head down the street.

We enjoyed a very relaxing stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Room tip: If you have mobility issues, choose your room wisely
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank wenjoh2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear wenjoh2403,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, be it the room, the view, the spa or the restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Samui Resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We stayed as a couple for 8 nights in a Wow room.in August. The Ocean view room was over 50msq with a stunning view over the islands. We had the Luxury Escape package which was excellent an included all that was promised and more.The infinity pool is really stunning with clean / crisp white marble tile with grey tones and it's amazing views also.We enjoyed our lap swimming.

The purpose of our stay was to RELAX. This we did in abundance. Happy hour has cocktails 2for1 which makes them reasonalbly priced.!!

The staff are so warm and helpful and nothing is too much to ask. The food concentrates mainly on Asian food with some options of wood fired Pizza and burgers for people wanting some Western food. Brekkie is normal buffet standard with cooked egg options. The views are amazing from the restaurant.

Due to the location being on a steep hillside 15mins drive from Fishermans Village one has to get the shuttle bus to/from the hotel. Taxis are expensive.
Fishermans village is by far the cleanest place in Koh Samui with plenty of options for eating and enjoying yourself.

Overall we loved our stay and are very thankful to the lovely staff at Mantra for making us feel welcome and happy

Golf buggies are supplied to bring you around the resort..

Room Tip: Choose a higher room for most exceptional views but beware of the climb or wait for the buggy!!

Room tip: Best views at the top. Wow room great
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2018

Dear Ger_12,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are delighted to read your comments on the view, our saltwater infinity pool and the friendliness of our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Samui Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We booked the Love ocean room. Plenty of room. Good solid water flow showers.
Just lacked having body lotion in the bathroom. Great views from room and restaurant. Great local Thai Food at Dinner.
Very Good breakfast. Maybe a Grilled Fish Dinner would add to the variety
We went on Luxury Escapes deal. Free cocktail each, every night and 2 for 1 happy hour 5-7 pm.
Friendly staff through all the resort
Has a very good gym for the enthusiast. Great massages as well
Very steep incline to the rooms and a lot of steps in some areas. Not recommended for anyone with physical disability, although they use their buggies all the time to take you to your room if you wish.

Room tip: Love Ocean View room. Has no adjoining walls to other rooms and good value for money
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jplummer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2018

Dear jplummer2016,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are happy to read, that you enjoyed our spa, the view and also our happy hour! :)

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Samui Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We visited Mantra in 2016 and loved it. As we were returning to Koh Samui for our honeymoon, we decided to come back here for the last three days before flying home, expecting the same five-star resort we had fallen in love with two and a half years ago. Unfortunately, things have changed and not for the better.

We were excited as we rode up the steep hill in our taxi towards Mantra. As we arrived at the lobby, we noticed instantly that it was different from before. It was smaller and not as welcoming, it was also crowded with people. Check in was a complete disaster. There were four members of staff working behind the desk and all four of them seemed to be dealing with us and the people around us at the same time. We were seated and waited to know what was going on when a fifth woman joined the desk and ask for our credit card to take the pre-payment from. Instead of a floating payment, 3000thb was debited from our card instantly.

We were told about the hotel app - which actually turned out to be a webpage - where we could order buggies around the steep complex. When I asked about ordering the shuttle buses to the beach, we were told we couldn't do that from the app and had to physically pick up a ticket exactly one hour before the shuttle leaves. So much for creating an app to heighten the enjoyment of your stay. We did use the app to request room cleanings and fresh towels though which were dealt with quickly and efficiently. I guess more work needs to go into the app to perfect, it but it is getting there.

The porter drove us up to our room, and as we entered, we both realised we had been booked into the exact same room as before, which was a pleasing coincidence. Unfortunately, most of what we liked about the room was gone. The small kitchen was no longer there, the four-poster bed had been replaced with a normal bed and the bathroom, although recently renovated, had lost its charm and appeal. There was nowhere to put our towels and little space for our own toiletries. Still, the incredible view was the same and being able to look out over the sea from that height was a wonderful feeling and one we had cherished memories of.

That night I didn't get any sleep due to the mattress being an extremely hard, spring mattress with a cheap, feather topper on that didn't even fit the bed. Added to that were my two pillows, one which was so soft it disappeared when laying on it and the other which was as hard as a rock. I chose the rock in the end, but only managed about 2 hours rest.

I spoke to the manager the following morning explaining this was our honeymoon and wanted everything to be perfect. He was very understanding, he made a lot of notes and asked us to go back to our room while he sorted everything out. We weren’t sure what to expect, but an hour later, we were moved to one of the newly renovated suites. This was much bigger, brighter and better with its own sun terrace. He had even included a bottle of fizz and a cake for our honeymoon. The only downside to this was the loss of our 180-degree view, but getting sleep was even more important - something I was now able to do. We were very impressed with how fast and efficiently our complaint was dealt with and although it would have been better if we hadn't needed to complain at all, the manager really did pull out all the stops to try to provide the five-star service we had known before and give us the honeymoon experience we booked for. That we were very appreciative for and it did make our experience at Mantra a lot better.

We ventured out to the pool which was the main reason for booking the first time and a huge pull for coming back. Again, this had also had a makeover which had been unsuccessful. The sunken seating area had been ripped out, making the pool larger but featureless. Also gone were the outside toilets and a small children's section had been added to the pool. It was still an infinity pool looking down on those amazing views, but for some reason (probably money) the pool was now filled with salt water. Salt water is fine when you're in the sea, but you don't want it in your hotel pool. It meant the water was cloudy and the amount of salt hurt our eyes. Two years ago, we spent the majority of our time in the pool, this time we only spent a combined time of 60 minutes. The pool is also open 24/7 which was apparent when a family with small children were screaming and playing in it after 10pm one night.

Access to and from the rooms has always been a problem due to how steep the property is which is why the hotel provides free buggies which carry people up and down the slopes. Our suite was located just above the lobby, so it wasn't practical to keep calling for a buggy to take us to and from the lobby or up to the pool and so we walked the majority of the time. It wasn’t a long distance, but the slopes are tough going (especially on a hangover) and I don't understand why steps haven't been built for the guests and staff to use.

The restaurant staff on the first day hardly acknowledged we were there, but after our complaint every single member of staff said hello and asked us how we were doing. They couldn't be more helpful from the second morning onwards. Unfortunately, the breakfast has also gone downhill. There are fewer choices and what is there, wasn't the best. We did eat both dinner and lunch in the restaurant and were more impressed by the standard of food when ordering from the menu, which of course comes with an extra charge to your final bill.

Situated below the restaurant are toilets which absolutely stink of damp. Wet towels are backed up against a glass door opposite the toilets and I have no idea the extent of damage or where it is coming from, but even the constant burning of tiger balm oil wasn't getting rid of that smell.

The other complaint we had was with the WiFi. It was terrible. Everywhere else we stayed and even the bars and coffee shops had excellent WiFi, but Mantra's was spotty at best and would usually drop half way through uploading a photo to Facebook. Streaming Netflix was impossible as was backing up my photos to Google Drive. We were using Thai sim cards but had to top them up twice in the three days we were at Mantra just to be able to use data on our phones.

It is sad to say, but Mantra is no longer a five-star resort. Everything is still sort of there, but just not as good. The breakfast isn't great, the pool is bigger but looks more corporate and is filled with eye-reddening salt and as the hotel is 30 minutes’ walk from Fisherman's Village, you are now isolated without a decent WiFi connection.

The newly renovated suites are done to a high spec (although they have all lost their outside hot tubs for some reason), but none of the beds in the entire resort have memory foam mattresses or toppers - which is expected in this price range of hotels. The service from the staff was lax until I complained and I imagine the manager had to say something to perk them all up. I understand; the constant grind of the same job everyday can sometimes make us all grumpy and dismissive, especially working in a hotel at breakfast when there are a lot of guests and hyperactive children. I imagine it can be tiring to attend to everyone’s needs, but unlike the staff who are there every day, the guests are only visiting for a short time. We had to save up a lot of money and travel for 14 hours just to be there and that welcome smile and a quick hello in a morning will brighten anyone’s day and improve their mood and experience.

In 2016, this was the best hotel we had ever stayed in, but now it is simply a moderate hotel with a high price tag. It's such a shame that this has fallen so far in just two years. I don't know if it's because of a change of ownership or simply down to renovations going wrong, but something drastic needs to happen to bring it back to the standard it was - and fast! The manager that helped us was fantastic and without him, we would have had a terrible experience which would have ruined the end of our honeymoon. As it was, the shift to the suite brightened our moods and helped us get a decent night’s sleep for the final two nights.

Room tip: Upgrade to one of the suites
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Terry G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive review.

We are sorry to hear, that your recent stay didn't live up to the expectations from your previous stay in 2016. The points raised in your review and also while you were onsite, will be used to re-assess our processes and also train our staff. But we are happy to receive your feedback, that we were able to nonetheless make your honeymoon enjoyable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Samui Resort and that we can convince you of the level of service we are able to provide.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights with our two young kids and overall we really enjoyed our stay. The pool had to be the highlight - you can’t beat that view! The breakfast was really good too, with lots of choice and the food was fresh. They have a free shuttle van to take you down to the Fisherman’s village area in Bophut and also Chaweng, which we regularly used. They also have buggy carts to transport you to and from your room if required, as the site is extremely steep. The kids adored the restaurant staff - Saw, Nui, Kwao - amazing Thai hospitality. However the reception staff were hit and miss, either unfriendly or too busy. Also the room was a bit rundown for a 5-star rating (we had 2 interconnecting rooms, garden view) otherwise would be happy to rate as 5 out of 5.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank carla_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear carla_NZ,

Thank you very much for this lovely review.

It is a pleasure to read, that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us, especially the view from the pool and our complimentary hourly shuttle bus.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Samui Resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews