We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 957)
Filter reviews
1 957 results
Traveller rating
1 259
490
143
51
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 259
490
143
51
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews love room steep hill infinity pool cozy room wow rooms shuttle service shuttle buses free shuttle yoga classes golf buggies ocean view room fisherman's village our honeymoon the main road large balcony rent a scooter bophut beach
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1 957 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We booked the Love ocean room. Plenty of room. Good solid water flow showers.
Just lacked having body lotion in the bathroom. Great views from room and restaurant. Great local Thai Food at Dinner.
Very Good breakfast. Maybe a Grilled Fish Dinner would add to the variety
We went on Luxury Escapes deal. Free cocktail each, every night and 2 for 1 happy hour 5-7 pm.
Friendly staff through all the resort
Has a very good gym for the enthusiast. Great massages as well
Very steep incline to the rooms and a lot of steps in some areas. Not recommended for anyone with physical disability, although they use their buggies all the time to take you to your room if you wish.

Room tip: Love Ocean View room. Has no adjoining walls to other rooms and good value for money
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jplummer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jplummer2016,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are happy to read, that you enjoyed our spa, the view and also our happy hour! :)

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Samui Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We visited Mantra in 2016 and loved it. As we were returning to Koh Samui for our honeymoon, we decided to come back here for the last three days before flying home, expecting the same five-star resort we had fallen in love with two and a half years ago. Unfortunately, things have changed and not for the better.

We were excited as we rode up the steep hill in our taxi towards Mantra. As we arrived at the lobby, we noticed instantly that it was different from before. It was smaller and not as welcoming, it was also crowded with people. Check in was a complete disaster. There were four members of staff working behind the desk and all four of them seemed to be dealing with us and the people around us at the same time. We were seated and waited to know what was going on when a fifth woman joined the desk and ask for our credit card to take the pre-payment from. Instead of a floating payment, 3000thb was debited from our card instantly.

We were told about the hotel app - which actually turned out to be a webpage - where we could order buggies around the steep complex. When I asked about ordering the shuttle buses to the beach, we were told we couldn't do that from the app and had to physically pick up a ticket exactly one hour before the shuttle leaves. So much for creating an app to heighten the enjoyment of your stay. We did use the app to request room cleanings and fresh towels though which were dealt with quickly and efficiently. I guess more work needs to go into the app to perfect, it but it is getting there.

The porter drove us up to our room, and as we entered, we both realised we had been booked into the exact same room as before, which was a pleasing coincidence. Unfortunately, most of what we liked about the room was gone. The small kitchen was no longer there, the four-poster bed had been replaced with a normal bed and the bathroom, although recently renovated, had lost its charm and appeal. There was nowhere to put our towels and little space for our own toiletries. Still, the incredible view was the same and being able to look out over the sea from that height was a wonderful feeling and one we had cherished memories of.

That night I didn't get any sleep due to the mattress being an extremely hard, spring mattress with a cheap, feather topper on that didn't even fit the bed. Added to that were my two pillows, one which was so soft it disappeared when laying on it and the other which was as hard as a rock. I chose the rock in the end, but only managed about 2 hours rest.

I spoke to the manager the following morning explaining this was our honeymoon and wanted everything to be perfect. He was very understanding, he made a lot of notes and asked us to go back to our room while he sorted everything out. We weren’t sure what to expect, but an hour later, we were moved to one of the newly renovated suites. This was much bigger, brighter and better with its own sun terrace. He had even included a bottle of fizz and a cake for our honeymoon. The only downside to this was the loss of our 180-degree view, but getting sleep was even more important - something I was now able to do. We were very impressed with how fast and efficiently our complaint was dealt with and although it would have been better if we hadn't needed to complain at all, the manager really did pull out all the stops to try to provide the five-star service we had known before and give us the honeymoon experience we booked for. That we were very appreciative for and it did make our experience at Mantra a lot better.

We ventured out to the pool which was the main reason for booking the first time and a huge pull for coming back. Again, this had also had a makeover which had been unsuccessful. The sunken seating area had been ripped out, making the pool larger but featureless. Also gone were the outside toilets and a small children's section had been added to the pool. It was still an infinity pool looking down on those amazing views, but for some reason (probably money) the pool was now filled with salt water. Salt water is fine when you're in the sea, but you don't want it in your hotel pool. It meant the water was cloudy and the amount of salt hurt our eyes. Two years ago, we spent the majority of our time in the pool, this time we only spent a combined time of 60 minutes. The pool is also open 24/7 which was apparent when a family with small children were screaming and playing in it after 10pm one night.

Access to and from the rooms has always been a problem due to how steep the property is which is why the hotel provides free buggies which carry people up and down the slopes. Our suite was located just above the lobby, so it wasn't practical to keep calling for a buggy to take us to and from the lobby or up to the pool and so we walked the majority of the time. It wasn’t a long distance, but the slopes are tough going (especially on a hangover) and I don't understand why steps haven't been built for the guests and staff to use.

The restaurant staff on the first day hardly acknowledged we were there, but after our complaint every single member of staff said hello and asked us how we were doing. They couldn't be more helpful from the second morning onwards. Unfortunately, the breakfast has also gone downhill. There are fewer choices and what is there, wasn't the best. We did eat both dinner and lunch in the restaurant and were more impressed by the standard of food when ordering from the menu, which of course comes with an extra charge to your final bill.

Situated below the restaurant are toilets which absolutely stink of damp. Wet towels are backed up against a glass door opposite the toilets and I have no idea the extent of damage or where it is coming from, but even the constant burning of tiger balm oil wasn't getting rid of that smell.

The other complaint we had was with the WiFi. It was terrible. Everywhere else we stayed and even the bars and coffee shops had excellent WiFi, but Mantra's was spotty at best and would usually drop half way through uploading a photo to Facebook. Streaming Netflix was impossible as was backing up my photos to Google Drive. We were using Thai sim cards but had to top them up twice in the three days we were at Mantra just to be able to use data on our phones.

It is sad to say, but Mantra is no longer a five-star resort. Everything is still sort of there, but just not as good. The breakfast isn't great, the pool is bigger but looks more corporate and is filled with eye-reddening salt and as the hotel is 30 minutes’ walk from Fisherman's Village, you are now isolated without a decent WiFi connection.

The newly renovated suites are done to a high spec (although they have all lost their outside hot tubs for some reason), but none of the beds in the entire resort have memory foam mattresses or toppers - which is expected in this price range of hotels. The service from the staff was lax until I complained and I imagine the manager had to say something to perk them all up. I understand; the constant grind of the same job everyday can sometimes make us all grumpy and dismissive, especially working in a hotel at breakfast when there are a lot of guests and hyperactive children. I imagine it can be tiring to attend to everyone’s needs, but unlike the staff who are there every day, the guests are only visiting for a short time. We had to save up a lot of money and travel for 14 hours just to be there and that welcome smile and a quick hello in a morning will brighten anyone’s day and improve their mood and experience.

In 2016, this was the best hotel we had ever stayed in, but now it is simply a moderate hotel with a high price tag. It's such a shame that this has fallen so far in just two years. I don't know if it's because of a change of ownership or simply down to renovations going wrong, but something drastic needs to happen to bring it back to the standard it was - and fast! The manager that helped us was fantastic and without him, we would have had a terrible experience which would have ruined the end of our honeymoon. As it was, the shift to the suite brightened our moods and helped us get a decent night’s sleep for the final two nights.

Room tip: Upgrade to one of the suites
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Terry G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive review.

We are sorry to hear, that your recent stay didn't live up to the expectations from your previous stay in 2016. The points raised in your review and also while you were onsite, will be used to re-assess our processes and also train our staff. But we are happy to receive your feedback, that we were able to nonetheless make your honeymoon enjoyable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Samui Resort and that we can convince you of the level of service we are able to provide.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights with our two young kids and overall we really enjoyed our stay. The pool had to be the highlight - you can’t beat that view! The breakfast was really good too, with lots of choice and the food was fresh. They have a free shuttle van to take you down to the Fisherman’s village area in Bophut and also Chaweng, which we regularly used. They also have buggy carts to transport you to and from your room if required, as the site is extremely steep. The kids adored the restaurant staff - Saw, Nui, Kwao - amazing Thai hospitality. However the reception staff were hit and miss, either unfriendly or too busy. Also the room was a bit rundown for a 5-star rating (we had 2 interconnecting rooms, garden view) otherwise would be happy to rate as 5 out of 5.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank carla_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear carla_NZ,

Thank you very much for this lovely review.

It is a pleasure to read, that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us, especially the view from the pool and our complimentary hourly shuttle bus.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Samui Resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

This place is located in Maenam and that on up the hill because of which you get one of the best views ever of the Bophut beach !
1. Spacious and neat rooms, great view from the balcony
2. Friendly staff all across from the reception to the housekeeping to the restaurant to the Spa. Thank you to the staff of Mantra Samui for making our experience one of the best one.
3. Great breakfast spread and good cocktails and must try vegetarian thai food at the restaurant
4. The pool is a must do at least one hour in the day
5. They provide very helpful shuttle service to Bophut & Chaweng beach - free of cost and also bikes on rent at a good cost of 300 baht for 24 hours

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank RushabhKapadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear RushabhKapadia,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are delighted to read your comments on the size of our rooms, the breakfast buffet and above all the friendliness of our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Samui Resort very soon.

Best regards,

The Mantra Samui Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We have been travelling thailand for over 3 weeks, so we had high expectations. We came here for 4 nights of our honeymoon, because of all the great reviews and let me stop you before you do too! NOT WORTH THE MONEY. There are other hotels on Samui that you'll spend less and love it more, or pay a little more and stay in true luxury.
As soon as we arrived, none of the staff (especially the front desk personal) spoke  English!  We spoke slow and asked simple questions (they gave us the wrong room when we checked in according to the angel app), and they look at you blankly. All the guests looked very frustrated at the lobby with the staff being incompetent answering simple questions about shuttles or anything. The manager spoke with us and upgraded us to a beautiful room (she was very nice and spoke english), so we only spoke with her after- always asked for the manager instead of getting frustrated. They don't decorate the rooms for occasions like other hotels did. The main problems were the hills. We are extremely fit, used the gym everyday (which is amazing!!!), and those hills were SO steep we found them annoying, I can only imagine what elderly or kids would think of these. When it rained it was a huge hazard, as there was tons of water sliding on those steep heels it was horrible. The hotel was packed with kids. We thought when we chose adult only section that we would have calm and relaxation, we were wrong. The pool is packed with kids at all time, so there is no romantic  or chill vibe to this resort. The hotel is VERY FAR away from anywhere- over 30 min walk to fisherman's village - in very unpleasant busy roads you have to walk on. So shuttle is your only rescues, or motor bike. The breakfast doesn't change at all- same thing all 4 days and not great. There are eggs to order and then baked goods that are nice, then just watermelon and pineapple , chia pudding (which I loved), and a salad, and cereal. There is a big pot with thai soup that you add noodles and what not to it, but it smelt just like those stinky smells on the streets you fry to avoid. It didn't have anything else and I was shocked by the lack of variety. The gym and rooms are nice and large, feel nice and clean. I would give it a 3.5 star and wouldn't recommend it unless you have kids and don't want to explore and of samui and just stay in the pool on a hill all day. Better hotels on the island for sure!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travel4life2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Samui R, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your detailed review. We are very disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
We are pleased however that you were able to make good use of our state of the art gym and your positive comments on our Front Office manager and the beautiful room upgrade are much appreciated.

Great to hear also that you loved our Chia pudding, but we were a little surprised to hear that you felt that there was a lack of variety. We offer four types of daily fresh cut fruit, juices, cereals, four types of freshly baked morning bakeries, brown and white toast, Thai style rice porridge, Authentic Asian breakfast noodle soup, eggs any style, Chia pudding, yogurt, waffles, pancakes, freshly made breakfast sandwiches from the griddle, Thai breakfast chicken and rice, overnight oatmeal and two types salads on rotation. We try to serve our guests' authentic local options as well as western comfort foods and healthy options.

We have noted your comments in regards to English proficiency of our employees and are actively working on improving this via ongoing English training to our employees.

We understand your concern in regards to the number of children at the hotel, unfortunately your stay coincided with the main family holiday season in a number of key markets. We would be interested to find out how you came the under the impression that we have an adult only section, as to the best of our knowledge this is not advertised on any of the platforms that we use to sell our rooms.

If you like to give us additional feedback on your stay please don't hesitate to contact us directly at reservations@mantrasamui.com.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Best Regards,
Mantra Samui Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews