We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Views were amazing, garden wonderful, villa very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
colinshee...
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Views were amazing, garden wonderful, villa very comfortable.”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Emauel , thank you for a lovely stay and all the help you gave us when our car broke down and sorting it out for us. Loved this place, although the roads were scary. would do it all again. A wonderful week , meeting lovely people that welcomed you to there home. Our Villa was clean and had an arrival package of ham, cheese, eggs, milk and bread, tea, coffee, sugar a lovely gesture when you arrive late. The sea views and sunsets were amazing. Even saw whales and an oil rig being towed. Not many people can say that were they are staying on holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Dear Guest, We are delighted that you all enjoyed Madeira and your stay at our Villa, I am glad you were very satisfied with our services and that we helped you enjoy and making it a memorable holiday on such a special occasion and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for such nice review. Fortunatly we were not hit but the ashes have disturbed a bit. I hope sincerily to have the oportunity to welcome you again in my house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nowhere better to watch the sunset.”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This villa is in beautiful quiet location, with good wifi for our 10 year old! Emmanuel gave us good directions from airport, and lots of suggestions to explore Western Madeira.
The house and gardens are delightful. Spacious, homely and clean. The beds were a bit hard The pool cold in February, but plenty of wood for log burner in evening. Loads of kitchen equipment, and a BBQ for cooking espetada kebabs.
We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hard beds
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you for a great review, it is always a pleasure for us at the end of each stay to know that our guests have received the level of enjoyment, satisfaction and care that we always endeavour to deliver.
We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our Villa and all it's amenities and that you felt very well looked after by Maria our superb housekeeper. It would be wonderful to have your lovely family staying at the Villa again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Location on a beautiful Island”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful little village Faja Da Ovelha is, set against the hillside with tremendous views extending as far as the horizon line, a little bar, a lovely church and friendly locals, some speak English but others just nod in a friendly way to acknowledge you.

The villa is brilliant as a base for the island. It is far enough away from the airport to feel nicely isolated from the big bad world, but close enough to the star attractions to make the driving, and there will be a lot of that, not too straining.
You are met promptly by Emmanuel, who will check your flight times and be ready for your arrival. He is a wonderful man, who you have to envy, but in the nicest way of course as he has a wonderful location and property and seems very relaxed and clearly a happy man. He will show you everything you need to know and you can ask him anything you need or wish to know locally etc etc. P.s. The Orange's in the garden are amazing!!!!!

The villa has all facilities needed to make your stay comfortable. If I'm picky, then the beds are pretty hard but after a days walking on the Levadas or strolling the Botanic gardens, you will care little about this. There is TV and DVD for a stormy night (we had a few in December) or plenty of chairs and recliners for book reading on sunny days.

IMPORTANT- and I cant stress this enough, get a decent sized car, as our first hire car, An Opel Adam (the, 'or similar' we were given instead of the preferred) would not get up the incredibly steep driveway even after I kicked the bags out and my other half, all 6ft4 of him! Four attempts and lots of burnt rubber, it wasn't going to happen. We got a Renault Clio, at more expense but this went up the driveway perfectly. I would suggest a Diesel, as does Emmanuel. Note to self, must listen to advice when given more often!
For good food and quiet drinks we would suggest the MAKTUB in Paul do Mar, its the next village/small town along the coast. Excellent Food and Drinks from the most unassuming little surf style bar. They sell more Havana Club than anywhere else in Portugal and the food is fantastic. Tiny little place, no bigger than a beach hut but oozing with character. Or, try Prazeres for another amazing meal but with the locals this time and a few lost looking tourists. Funchal is lovely, but find the old fishing port end, its full of character, old buildings, churches, ports and exquisite restaurants.

All I can say is... We will be back and for longer next time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning Views
Liked least: Hard Mattress
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Dear Vict�ria, thank you for the great review, it is always a pleasure for us at the end of each stay to know que our guests have received the level of enjoyment, satisfaction and care That We always endeavor to deliver. In fact Villa "Thebaide the Massapez" offers a wonderful environment for Those seeking tranquility, privacy and the opportunity to indulge on the surrounding panoramic views and memorable sunsets. Many thanks also for the compliments made to the owner, but I must add that everything we do is aimed at always the interests of customers in order to make them have a memorable holiday.
I am glad you loved Madeira and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis of serenity and charm”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the first moment we walked drove up the pathway and were met by the owner, we could feel that we made an excellent choice. The villa is set amidst mature fruit gardens and palm trees and one can enjoy fruits in season. There is also total privacy. The view from the terraces and pool area, as well as from all the windows of the house are stunning, especially the sunsets. It is like having a different tapestry every evening.
The owner has certainly made sure that the finishes and furnishings of the villa are of the highest standard. There is everything you need to enjoy a comfortable stay. Also delightful to cook meals and enjoy these outdoors on the terrace - with fresh ingredients from the markets in the surrounding villages it is impossible not to be tempted to use the fully stocked kitchen and BBQ shed! We always looked forward to returning to the comfort and serenity of the villa after a day out. When our holiday was over, we found it difficult to leave and want to return as soon as possible. Tebaida do Massapez exceeded our expectations and it was so enjoyable to be inside this oasis of serenity and charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the villa surpassed the expectations we had from the photos.
Liked least: Everything was good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Dear Mr John Saliba, Thank you for such a wonderful review!. Thank you for expressing your satisfaction with the Villa high standards and all it's surrounding amenities and friendly neighbours. We are very happy that you were able to relax instantly on arrival as we strive to offer all our guests a stress free holiday. Madeira has an amazingly captivating scenery with fantastic exploring opportunities. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing