We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet and all home comforts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandy W
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet and all home comforts”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Thebaida do Massapez in February and were very impressed by the location and the standard of the accommodation. The house was by far the most peaceful place we have ever stayed. To look out on the ocean every day was wonderful and to hear nothing but the birds was amazing.

The house is very well appointed with everything you need to make your stay comfortable and the fire in the evenings was very cosy.

We spent our time walking and found that there were two good walks that could be done without taking the car out and another five within a short drive of the house. This was our first trip to Madeira but we are planning to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: our rental car was under powered and the drive to the property was too steep for it. We will hire a more powerful car next time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our Villa and all it's amenities and that you felt very well.In fact Villa "Thebaida do Massapez" offers a wonderful environment for those seeking tranquillity, privacy and the opportunity to indulge on the surrounding panoramic views and memorable sunsets. Look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. I wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floris83
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible location and very spacious”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had an amazing time at Thebaida do Massapez. We stayed there for four nights in Sept. 14 and enjoyed every single bit of it. One of the best features of the house is its location: the house is located at the end of a road near the coast. So it's very quiet and because the hill is quite steep you have a full view on the Atlantic ocean (including stunning sunsets).
The pool is very nice and is located on a lower level next to house and next to the big garden full of fig trees. We picked this house also because of its outside kitchen: next to the house you'll find a nice small cooking shed with all the equipment you need to cook a good meal. We basically used it every day to cook fresh dorades from the market on the wood fire. The house itself is spacious, has 2 bedroom en suite (with bathrooms). It's decorated in a homey kind of way, in such sense that it has a lot of character but doesn't feel too much someone elses house, which is a good and rare to find quality. I would definitely recommend it others (although I wouldn't mind to keep this hidden gem for myself and friends).
Although unfortunately we didn't meet the owner in real life, he was very polite and helpful over both email and phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overwhelming view, what a location!
Liked least: Steep driveway. No deal for Class A rental cars.
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florlima
Funchal, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Staying in this house is guarantee of spending excellent holidays, especially when looking for good location, quitness, confort and total privacy.
All this is added to a unique view over the sea, which culminates, at the end of each day, with a breathless sunset.
I had the privilege of being there and will for sure come back whenever the need for restful and relaxing holidays occurs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic location
Liked least: The departure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Thank you for a great review, it is always a pleasure for us at the end of each stay to know that our guests have received the level of enjoyment, satisfaction and care that we always endeavour to deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I wish all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing