We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
The Sculllery B

Spare yourself the grief

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Feb 2024
Firstly, we were abandoned at the airport, having paid for our airport transfer. After 2 hours, we had to pay taxi drivers to take us to the lodge. Our arrival was pleasant, the receptionist Beauty apologised and all seemed well. Other than her and Enoch, our canoe guide, everyone else’s attitude towards service was poor.
Drinks orders were wrong, and I got eye rolls when I tried to correct them. Table mats and glasses were often dirty and food was served cold.
On our second last day, I enquired about our airport transfer to ensure no issues would arise and Beaven not only lied on the phone about the initial mistake, but became incredibly hostile and patronising with me. Only when my finance got involved did he change his tone.
Sufficed to say, we has to arrange our own airport transfer despite having prepaid for it.

If you can, avoid this lodge all together. They leave a LOT to be desired.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Rather stay on the Botswana side of the river. Better animal sightings
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 704
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 812
  • Trip.com
    R 4 076
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 180
43.3 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
R 2 986
R 2 363
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 986
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 353
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 353
46.6 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 450
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 679
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 089
  • Priceline
    R 1 679
62.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Chalet
R 2 880
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 880
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 880
62.9 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 872
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
64.4 km from Chobe River Camp
R 580
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 580
  • Agoda.com
    R 580
  • Expedia.com
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 816
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 816
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
R 1 982
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 1 982
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 982
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 982
65.5 km from Chobe River Camp
Pool
R 816
    61.9 km from Chobe River Camp
    R 580
    Fully refundable
      View more hotels in Katima Mulilo
      Reviews (271)
      Filter reviews
      271 results
      Traveller rating
      115
      96
      41
      9
      10
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      115
      96
      41
      9
      10
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews on stilts rainy season very nice stay animal sightings leave early chobe camp tents border zebra river lodge plains cows error sunset
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 271 reviews
      Reviewed 7 January 2024

      The rooms smell like rats, the deals are not clear and we spent almost an hour at the reception because the staff were unclear, the service was mediocre and the some of the staff was rude. They ran out of food for breakfast.

      Date of stay: January 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Travel12596788148
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Gondwana Collection Namibia, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

      Dear Mr Johnstone,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.
      I have shared your feedback with our operations team to take action.
      We will do our utmost best to catch up to our previously good and very good reviews. We look forward to being your host again at one of our lodges in the future.

      Sincerely,
      Angelique
      Your Gondwana Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

      A beautiful setting on the banks of the Chobe river, overlooking the Chobe floodplains! The lodge needs some TLC, it is still quite barren in terms of plants, trees but there are efforts made!
      Gondwana is in the process of upgrading so I think once that is done, definitely a place to visit!

      Date of stay: September 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Adriane J
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 27 July 2023

      We've stayed at a few of the Gondwana lodges and this one was definitely the most friendly. Campsites were brilliant with really good facilities. Private raised area to sit with sink to wash up, table and ablutions. Staff facilities were right next to the campsite, with the space they have it could be a bit more spread out.

      Date of stay: July 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Alextrainseverywhere
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 July 2023

      Chobe River Camp in Namibia was a pleasant surprise for us. Although the advertisements say the campsites are not along the river, our campsite, number 1, overlooked the river. We could see herds of buffalo across the river in Botswana.
      The ablution is outstanding. Amenities are very good, as most campsites of Gondwana, and there is hot water.
      The locals' cattle sometimes graze on the grass, but there was a security guard who looked out for us at night. The campsites are far from the Lodge's reception, but it was very private.

      Date of stay: June 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank bylevelddries
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 12 June 2023

      We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover before crossing into Botswana and found this hidden gem was perfectly located.

      Check in/out - easy check in/out although be aware that if you are not staying the camped area it is a bit of a walk from the parking to the rooms. We checked out in the evening so that we could leave early and this was done very efficiently.

      Rooms - nice tents on stilts with a great view over the river, spotted several animals and birds whilst sat outside. The fan also doubles up as a sort of ac/cooling unit which was very handy.

      Location - located off the main road a short fun drive and then it opens up to a stunning view over the river. Evening sundowner was a nice boat trip along the river, many interesting birds, crocodiles and elephants spotted along the way. Stunning sunsets with the river in the foreground.

      Service - service was good throughout, dinner was buffet style and the bar service was okay could do with a little bit of extra ooomph.

      All in all i would recommend as a short stop 1/2 nights max. nicely located at the end of the caprivi strip and next to the border for Botswana.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank REG_7516
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Gondwana Collection Namibia, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

      Dear Guest

      Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team.

      Kind regards

      The Gondwana Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews