We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Adriane J
Windhoek, Namibia

Beautiful setting but needs an upgrade

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Sept 2023via mobile
A beautiful setting on the banks of the Chobe river, overlooking the Chobe floodplains! The lodge needs some TLC, it is still quite barren in terms of plants, trees but there are efforts made!
Gondwana is in the process of upgrading so I think once that is done, definitely a place to visit!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 433
  • Hotels.com
43.3 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
45.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
46.6 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 306
  • Booking.com
62.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
53.4 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Chalet
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
62.9 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
61.6 km from Chobe River Camp
  • Agoda.com
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 686
  • Booking.com
65.5 km from Chobe River Camp
Pool
View more hotels in Katima Mulilo
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
116
96
41
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
96
41
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts rainy season very nice stay animal sightings leave early chobe camp tents border zebra river lodge plains cows error sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2023

We've stayed at a few of the Gondwana lodges and this one was definitely the most friendly. Campsites were brilliant with really good facilities. Private raised area to sit with sink to wash up, table and ablutions. Staff facilities were right next to the campsite, with the space they have it could be a bit more spread out.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alextrainseverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023

Chobe River Camp in Namibia was a pleasant surprise for us. Although the advertisements say the campsites are not along the river, our campsite, number 1, overlooked the river. We could see herds of buffalo across the river in Botswana.
The ablution is outstanding. Amenities are very good, as most campsites of Gondwana, and there is hot water.
The locals' cattle sometimes graze on the grass, but there was a security guard who looked out for us at night. The campsites are far from the Lodge's reception, but it was very private.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bylevelddries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2023

We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover before crossing into Botswana and found this hidden gem was perfectly located.

Check in/out - easy check in/out although be aware that if you are not staying the camped area it is a bit of a walk from the parking to the rooms. We checked out in the evening so that we could leave early and this was done very efficiently.

Rooms - nice tents on stilts with a great view over the river, spotted several animals and birds whilst sat outside. The fan also doubles up as a sort of ac/cooling unit which was very handy.

Location - located off the main road a short fun drive and then it opens up to a stunning view over the river. Evening sundowner was a nice boat trip along the river, many interesting birds, crocodiles and elephants spotted along the way. Stunning sunsets with the river in the foreground.

Service - service was good throughout, dinner was buffet style and the bar service was okay could do with a little bit of extra ooomph.

All in all i would recommend as a short stop 1/2 nights max. nicely located at the end of the caprivi strip and next to the border for Botswana.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank REG_7516
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gondwana Collection Namibia, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team.

Kind regards

The Gondwana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Nice location, with large independent tent-rooms looking onto the Chobe lagoon, with full equipment. However dining is basic, and activities are restricted to river cruises. We had poor experience when having reservation through the lodge personnel for cross-border Chobe National Park visit, as there were omissions and errors which compelled us to change plans and to pay cash directly to the company.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank G381TDmarcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gondwana Collection Namibia, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take your feedback seriously and will look into the matter to resolve it as soon as possible. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,
Your Gondwana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

The campsite unfortunately doesn't overlook the Chobe River but was still nicely appointed. Each campsite has it's own tent with table and chairs, a washing up area and a bathroom.
Everything is well kept and clean.
I was a little concerned with security coming around quite often to check that everything was okay as there are villages nearby. Also the cows are grazing on the plains so you are seeing Zebras and Impalas and then cows - you don't come all this way to see cows!
Not much to do here so we only stayed 1 night instead of the intended 3

Room tip: If you are wanting a place to just relax and not do much, it's worth a visit
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 234beatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gondwana Collection Namibia, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team.

Kind regards

The Gondwana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews