We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nikki B

Chobe River Lodge

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Dec 2021via mobile
We stayed at the Lodge in early December. What a disappointment. Dinner is not worth the amount payed, very expensive (no alcohol included)
For NS363 you will get:
Dry fish
Dry rice
Vegetables.

Breakfast is served from 07:00-09:00, but by 07:45 they were not ready to serve breakfast. Very rude female staff at the restaurant.

Wanted to order lunch but the female staff was not very happy about us asking some questions since the wifi was back on and we were wasting their time since they wanted to be on their phones. Female staff was making rude comments about our questions in their language, gossiping about guests.

Male staff on the other hand was very friendly and helpful. A special thank you to Albius who was really friendly, kind, caring and always had a smile on his face (give that man a raise). Went for a game drive with Baxter and Samuel and this was the only thing worth spending money on at Chobe River Camp. If you do go on a game drive please ask for these two men.

Lunch menu is very expensive and is made with minimum ingredients or effort. Even more expensive than gourmet food but not nearly as well prepared.

It takes 1 hour for them to make one Margherita pizza with feta. NS 55 for a very very very small portion of chips. Can't complain about the restaurant service since there is no service.

Visited a few lodges and this is by far the worst one, Chobe River Camp will not see us again. Don't waste your money on this lodge it is not worth it.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review
Responded 21 Dec 2021
Good day

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us..
It is with regret that Chobe River Camp didn't meet your expectations. Please note that we take your review and comments seriously and have forwarded this to the relevant departments for review.

We will try our best to catch up to our usual good to very good reviews and hope to welcome you to one of our lodges sometime in the future.

kind regards
Gondwana Collection Namibia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
43.3 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
45.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
46.6 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
62.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
53.4 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Chalet
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
62.9 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
61.6 km from Chobe River Camp
  • Agoda.com
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
64.4 km from Chobe River Camp
View more hotels in Katima Mulilo
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
116
96
41
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
96
41
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts rainy season very nice stay animal sightings leave early chobe camp tents border zebra river lodge plains cows error sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2021

They are situated right against an overflow of the Chobe river and in flood, the area must be stunning: In summer however, the overflow is mostly dry and the Namibian side is a cattle grazing ground. On the other side is the Chobe National Park with an abundance of wildlife seeking water and grazing. The camp is thus well situated and the individual chalets privately spaced out, looking into nature. I found the staff not too eager to impress and the buffet dinner definitely not impressive. Both definitely not the normal Gondwana standard.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Dear Horst S

Thank you very much for taking the time for a review.
We will forward your message to our lodge management team for review and improvement.

Kind regards
Gondwana Collection Namibia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

We spent a night at Camp Chobe. Great scenery and we saw a few animals. The place was clean and the staff were friendly. The food was a bit of a let down, no buffet (some generic menu and not a lot of options) . We didn't enjoy dinner at all, cause there was a cat roaming around in the restaurant area. My daughter was crying and jumpy every time it came around our table, we actually had to leave earlier then we were planning to. We were not informed beforehand that there are cats roaming around, had we known that we would have gone elsewhere.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lovisa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Good day

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, we have communicated the presence of cats at our lodges with the team. Please note that the cats are part of the lodge ecosystem, and are well-behaved. We will, however, ensure that they stay away from the kitchen and dining area.

We look forward to welcoming you again, sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Elke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021

In February 2020, I booked a two-room stay at this hotel, which was obviously not possible due to the pandemic. In 2021, due to the variations of the covid and the closure of the borders, I have not been able to stay at the hotel either, since it is not possible to travel as a tourist. So I have lost the money from the reserve, they only offered me a one-year voucher, but the pandemic has lasted longer ...

Date of stay: September 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Dear Isabel G

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is unfortunate that you weren't able to travel and we regret that there was no possibility for you to experience Namibia in this time. We do hope to be able to welcome you soon.

Kind regards
The Gondwana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021

The staff were very friendly and helpful with our arrival as well as during our stay. We were camping but did eat dinner one night at the restaurant. I personally think the dinner was average compare to the price. We loved the little houses for the campers with the toilet shower and kitchen.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zonet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Thank you so much for the review Zonet R! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Geena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

Continuing with our 21 days odyssey through Namibia, we arrived at Chobe River Camp at midday ... and as usual during Covid time, very few guests were at the camp...
We, two ladies from California, loved the comfort, the elegant simplicity and solitude of the camp... it was truly a pleasure to sit back, raise our feet and look out, for a couple of hours, across the river toward Botswana 's. Chobe National Park ...and then later in the afternoon, we went on a river cruise which was truly exceptional ...
After staying at many premium lodges of the Gondwana collection ...experiencing this glam camp was a highlight on our self-drive tour through Namibia ....
We had the best sleep at the camp even though we were abruptly awaken by the growl of hyenas and grunt of hippos .... Dinner ... breakfast were all top ...
We just wish we had more than 1 night at the camp to truly enjoy the adventurous wondrous of this area of Namibia ...
In the morning , we were nicely surprise to find out that our rental 4x4 Toyota Fortuner were newly wash and ready for us for our next leg of our journey ...
Absolutely the best top service ... we received from Gondwana . Audrey Bock, our travel consultant, who graciously and timely, in a matter of 2 weeks time , put together for us , the most wonderful itinerary, premium transportation and premium accommodations... for our entire 3000 miles road trip in Namibia .... and furthermore, ...without breaking the bank 😉and jeopardizing our children inheritance 😄

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank evasilver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you very much for the beautiful words! We are truly happy that you are enjoying the 21 days through Namibia.

Warm regards
Geena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews