We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lovisa
Swakopmund, Namibia

Great scenery but food let down

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2021via mobile
We spent a night at Camp Chobe. Great scenery and we saw a few animals. The place was clean and the staff were friendly. The food was a bit of a let down, no buffet (some generic menu and not a lot of options) . We didn't enjoy dinner at all, cause there was a cat roaming around in the restaurant area. My daughter was crying and jumpy every time it came around our table, we actually had to leave earlier then we were planning to. We were not informed beforehand that there are cats roaming around, had we known that we would have gone elsewhere.
Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review
Responded 12 Nov 2021
Good day

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, we have communicated the presence of cats at our lodges with the team. Please note that the cats are part of the lodge ecosystem, and are well-behaved. We will, however, ensure that they stay away from the kitchen and dining area.

We look forward to welcoming you again, sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Elke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 704
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 590
  • Booking.com
    R 590
  • Trip.com
43.3 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 1 522
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 522
  • eDreams
    R 1 522
45.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
R 2 688
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 986
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 613
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 976
46.6 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 679
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 679
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 450
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 450
62.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Chalet
R 2 880
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 880
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 880
62.9 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 872
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
64.4 km from Chobe River Camp
R 816
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 816
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 796
    65.4 km from Chobe River Camp
    Hotel Exterior
    R 1 982
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
    • Booking.com
      R 1 982
    • Vio.com
      R 1 953
    • Priceline
      R 1 982
    65.5 km from Chobe River Camp
    Pool
    R 815
      61.9 km from Chobe River Camp
      View more hotels in Katima Mulilo
      Reviews (272)
      Filter reviews
      272 results
      Traveller rating
      116
      96
      41
      9
      10
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      116
      96
      41
      9
      10
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews on stilts rainy season very nice stay animal sightings leave early chobe camp tents border zebra river lodge plains cows error sunset
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      14 - 19 of 272 reviews
      Reviewed 7 September 2021

      In February 2020, I booked a two-room stay at this hotel, which was obviously not possible due to the pandemic. In 2021, due to the variations of the covid and the closure of the borders, I have not been able to stay at the hotel either, since it is not possible to travel as a tourist. So I have lost the money from the reserve, they only offered me a one-year voucher, but the pandemic has lasted longer ...

      Date of stay: September 2021
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Isabel G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

      Dear Isabel G

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

      It is unfortunate that you weren't able to travel and we regret that there was no possibility for you to experience Namibia in this time. We do hope to be able to welcome you soon.

      Kind regards
      The Gondwana Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 September 2021

      The staff were very friendly and helpful with our arrival as well as during our stay. We were camping but did eat dinner one night at the restaurant. I personally think the dinner was average compare to the price. We loved the little houses for the campers with the toilet shower and kitchen.

      Date of stay: August 2021
        • Value
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Zonet R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

      Thank you so much for the review Zonet R! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

      Warm regards
      Geena

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

      Continuing with our 21 days odyssey through Namibia, we arrived at Chobe River Camp at midday ... and as usual during Covid time, very few guests were at the camp...
      We, two ladies from California, loved the comfort, the elegant simplicity and solitude of the camp... it was truly a pleasure to sit back, raise our feet and look out, for a couple of hours, across the river toward Botswana 's. Chobe National Park ...and then later in the afternoon, we went on a river cruise which was truly exceptional ...
      After staying at many premium lodges of the Gondwana collection ...experiencing this glam camp was a highlight on our self-drive tour through Namibia ....
      We had the best sleep at the camp even though we were abruptly awaken by the growl of hyenas and grunt of hippos .... Dinner ... breakfast were all top ...
      We just wish we had more than 1 night at the camp to truly enjoy the adventurous wondrous of this area of Namibia ...
      In the morning , we were nicely surprise to find out that our rental 4x4 Toyota Fortuner were newly wash and ready for us for our next leg of our journey ...
      Absolutely the best top service ... we received from Gondwana . Audrey Bock, our travel consultant, who graciously and timely, in a matter of 2 weeks time , put together for us , the most wonderful itinerary, premium transportation and premium accommodations... for our entire 3000 miles road trip in Namibia .... and furthermore, ...without breaking the bank 😉and jeopardizing our children inheritance 😄

      Date of stay: July 2021
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      1  Thank evasilver53
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

      Thank you very much for the beautiful words! We are truly happy that you are enjoying the 21 days through Namibia.

      Warm regards
      Geena

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 July 2021

      Fantastic stay at Chobe River Camp with friends this July. The staff was friendly and extremely patient with a horde of kids! Many thanks Nelson and the team for accommodating us and making our camping stay so pleasant!

      Date of stay: July 2021
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Carin B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

      Thank you very much for the great review Carin B! We are so glad that you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

      Warm regards
      Geena

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 24 July 2021

      We absolutely loved our stat at Chobe River Camp. The chalets are very clean and comfortable, raised above the river, with great views. Ideal for bird watching. The staff were friendly and professional. There was a nice selection for breakfast (no buffet due to covid) and the dinner was tasty and enormous. I can highly recommend the sundowner cruise, as most of the game is on the Botswana side of the river. The Chobe river must be the best river for game viewing from the boat. It was very quiet, as very few people can travel during lockdown. We were very privileged to be there. Loved it and hope to be back.

      Date of stay: June 2021
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Angela C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

      Thank you so much for the great review Angela C! We are pleased to learn about your fantastic stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

      Warm regards
      Geena

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews