We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fiona992
Durban, South Africa

Fabulous, chilled Chobe

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Jul 2021
A group of us spent 2 nights at Chobe River Camp .The location is spectacular for game on the river, and we loved the tented chalets for our accommodation .It was clean, the staff very polite and camp grounds kept very nicely. Our stay was during lockdown so therefore not many people, but nevertheless a most enjoyable stay. food a little slow in service, but very good menu.
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Thank you very much for the review Fiona992! We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Geena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 704
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 812
  • Trip.com
    R 4 076
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 180
43.3 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
R 2 986
R 2 363
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 353
  • Priceline
    R 2 986
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 353
46.6 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 450
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 450
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 089
  • Priceline
    R 1 679
62.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Chalet
R 2 880
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 2 880
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 880
62.9 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 580
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 580
  • Agoda.com
    R 580
  • eDreams
    R 580
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 816
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 816
65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
R 1 982
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
    R 1 982
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 982
65.5 km from Chobe River Camp
Pool
R 816
    61.9 km from Chobe River Camp
    R 580
    Fully refundable
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
        R 872
      • Agoda.com
      64.4 km from Chobe River Camp
      View more hotels in Katima Mulilo
      Reviews (271)
      Filter reviews
      271 results
      Traveller rating
      115
      96
      41
      9
      10
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      115
      96
      41
      9
      10
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews on stilts rainy season very nice stay animal sightings leave early chobe camp tents border zebra river lodge plains cows error sunset
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      21 - 26 of 271 reviews
      Reviewed 29 May 2021

      My second visit to Chobe River Camp and first to the new camp site. What a pleasure!! Vast improvement - your own ablution , shaded kitchen area with stoop, lawn to pitch up your tent.
      Staff at the Camp very friendly and helpful, good food.
      I can only recommend to visit Chobe especially when the river has water. Seldom seen so much wildlife during a boat trip.

      Date of stay: May 2021
      Thank ingolft
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

      Thank you for the feedback ingolft! we hope that your second visit won't be your last!

      Kind regards
      Geena Visagie

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 27 May 2021

      This amazing lodge is absolutely stunning with all tents overlooking the Chobe River. Far from the busy Kasane area , you can enjoy exlusive boat trips along the Chobe NP with no other boats anywhere.
      If you visit in April-August, the water is high, after the flood from Angola and just such a pleasure.
      The staff were magnificent and the new pool right on the water's edge just super. Free WIFI available at the main area too !
      Highly recommended !! Will not miss staying here. There are 4 new campsites adjacent to the lodge.

      Date of stay: May 2021
      Thank ritaSouthAfrica
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

      Thank you for the review ritaSouthAfrica! We are glad you had a great time and hope to see you in the future!

      Kind regards
      Geena

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 May 2021

      Campsite no 4 was a lovely camp . We wish we could see more of the river and may be they cancut the grass a bit then one can see the river. Our geyser did not work but the staff was quick to solve the problem and gave us a chalet to shower in. The staff is very friendly and helpful they washed the dishes and our braai grid. We enjoyed the stay

      Date of stay: May 2021
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank b0skraai
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

      Thank you for rating your stay with us b0skraai. We are glad you had a great time and happy to know that the staff were able to cater to your needs as per usual.

      Please come back again when you get the chance!

      Kind regards
      Koney

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 13 May 2021

      Did the sunset cruise and saw a lot of animals (elephants bathing, crocodile 3 meter from us, a group of at least 7 giraffes etc., with the most amazing sunset coloring the sky and river in most fascinating colors... highlight of our entire trip!

      Date of stay: May 2021
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank AnitaBad
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

      Thank you for the awesome review AnitaBad! We are thrilled to hear that you made unforgettable memories and had enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed hosting you.

      We cannot wait to welcome you back with twice the love and hospitality.

      Kind regards
      Koney

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

      We started our trip staying in Rundu the first night and then 3 nights at the chalets in Camp Chobe. The rooms overlook the Chobe river and is well layed out. Although not a great variety, the food at the lodge in the evenings were well prepared and good. The stand out feature of this lodge is the boat trip on the Chobe river. It really is an awesome experience – we saw a herd of buffalo of between 200-300, and the game is in abundance with everything from elephants, crocodiles, hippos, giraffes, Kudu, Impala and fish eagles to mention only a few. The highlight was an elephant crossing in the full moon when we turned back to the lodge.

      The disappointing aspect of this trip is seeing the river swamped with fishing nets – some of them literally over the span of the river. This will most definitely deplete the fishing resource in this area – with the follow on effect on other species such as fish eagles etc. We literally saw 10 nets in the 30 minutes on our way back to the lodge.

      The swimming pool is nicely situated overlooking the river with umbrellas and pool lounge chairs.

      To summarise the lodge is well maintained, staff is friendly and very helpful. The only criticism is the cleaning of rooms that needs improvement. Again as per review with Namushasha lodge the booking office in Windhoek needs improvement. To reserve, confirm and pay for a booking seems a mission as we had to make several follow-up calls and emails to get this done. Fellow tourists also expressed their concern in this regard.

      Date of stay: March 2021
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank AntonandKarin
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

      Thank you very much for taking the time to write a response about your stay with us.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews