We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ritaSouthAfrica
south africa

Off the beaten track on the Chobe

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2021
This amazing lodge is absolutely stunning with all tents overlooking the Chobe River. Far from the busy Kasane area , you can enjoy exlusive boat trips along the Chobe NP with no other boats anywhere.
If you visit in April-August, the water is high, after the flood from Angola and just such a pleasure.
The staff were magnificent and the new pool right on the water's edge just super. Free WIFI available at the main area too !
Highly recommended !! Will not miss staying here. There are 4 new campsites adjacent to the lodge.

Date of stay: May 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this review
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Thank you for the review ritaSouthAfrica! We are glad you had a great time and hope to see you in the future!

Kind regards
Geena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
43.3 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
45.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
46.6 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
62.0 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
53.4 km from Chobe River Camp
Free parking
Chalet
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
62.9 km from Chobe River Camp
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
61.6 km from Chobe River Camp
    65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    65.0 km from Chobe River Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotel Exterior
    R 1 980
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    65.5 km from Chobe River Camp
    Pool
    View more hotels in Katima Mulilo
    Reviews (272)
    Filter reviews
    272 results
    Traveller rating
    116
    96
    41
    9
    10
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    116
    96
    41
    9
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews on stilts rainy season very nice stay animal sightings leave early chobe camp tents border zebra river lodge plains cows error sunset
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    23 - 28 of 272 reviews
    Reviewed 21 May 2021

    Campsite no 4 was a lovely camp . We wish we could see more of the river and may be they cancut the grass a bit then one can see the river. Our geyser did not work but the staff was quick to solve the problem and gave us a chalet to shower in. The staff is very friendly and helpful they washed the dishes and our braai grid. We enjoyed the stay

    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank b0skraai
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

    Thank you for rating your stay with us b0skraai. We are glad you had a great time and happy to know that the staff were able to cater to your needs as per usual.

    Please come back again when you get the chance!

    Kind regards
    Koney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 May 2021

    Did the sunset cruise and saw a lot of animals (elephants bathing, crocodile 3 meter from us, a group of at least 7 giraffes etc., with the most amazing sunset coloring the sky and river in most fascinating colors... highlight of our entire trip!

    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank AnitaBad
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

    Thank you for the awesome review AnitaBad! We are thrilled to hear that you made unforgettable memories and had enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed hosting you.

    We cannot wait to welcome you back with twice the love and hospitality.

    Kind regards
    Koney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

    We started our trip staying in Rundu the first night and then 3 nights at the chalets in Camp Chobe. The rooms overlook the Chobe river and is well layed out. Although not a great variety, the food at the lodge in the evenings were well prepared and good. The stand out feature of this lodge is the boat trip on the Chobe river. It really is an awesome experience – we saw a herd of buffalo of between 200-300, and the game is in abundance with everything from elephants, crocodiles, hippos, giraffes, Kudu, Impala and fish eagles to mention only a few. The highlight was an elephant crossing in the full moon when we turned back to the lodge.

    The disappointing aspect of this trip is seeing the river swamped with fishing nets – some of them literally over the span of the river. This will most definitely deplete the fishing resource in this area – with the follow on effect on other species such as fish eagles etc. We literally saw 10 nets in the 30 minutes on our way back to the lodge.

    The swimming pool is nicely situated overlooking the river with umbrellas and pool lounge chairs.

    To summarise the lodge is well maintained, staff is friendly and very helpful. The only criticism is the cleaning of rooms that needs improvement. Again as per review with Namushasha lodge the booking office in Windhoek needs improvement. To reserve, confirm and pay for a booking seems a mission as we had to make several follow-up calls and emails to get this done. Fellow tourists also expressed their concern in this regard.

    Date of stay: March 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank AntonandKarin
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a response about your stay with us.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 May 2021

    we arrived at the camp to stay there one night. it was fantastic. the camp sites are clean and the "huts" with bathrooms & kitchen were great! the main building is fantastic and looks directly onto the water. what makes this place special is of course the chobe & chobe park. we did a sundowner cruise and saw many animals. fantastic.

    Room tip: the camp sites are great
    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Michael F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

    Dear Michael F,

    Thank you so much for taking time to leave us this amazing review. We are really excited to know that we were able to offer you such a unique experience. Please come back again when you get the chance!

    Kind regards
    Koney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 May 2021

    Our recent stay at Chobe River Camp was fantastic! We love the adventurous location on the river & the tents were elegantly decorated. Simple, functional & comfortable.
    All the staff were friendly, greeting us each time, professional & well trained. Beauty at front desk was an angel to straighten out our booking. I was responsible for the error but she acted quickly & got it sorted.
    The guides for river trips were excellent as well. They were so interesting & have so much knowledge about the animals. Our stay of 3 nights was too short. But we'll be back! Great lodge!

    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank lgaranflo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

    Thank you for the 5-star feedback lgaranflo. It is awesome to hear that you will be returning again!

    Warm regards
    Koney

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews