We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable jungle casita”
other travellers have booked this property
casita side view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
casita side view
stairs at side of casita to gardens living area and partial deck view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
casita side view
stairs at side of casita to gardens
living area and partial deck view
kitchen area
another kitchen view
downstairs queen bed
downstairs deck from bedroom
upstairs balcony view
Garden below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Atenas, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PickyTrav...
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable jungle casita”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Atenas is a nice town with many amenities. The casita is located in a nice gated community a couple miles from downtown Atenas - because of some big hills it was a bit too much of a distance for me to walk, but it was definitely doable for those slightly more ambitious than me. The hosts were friendly and helpful, we appreciated their advice. We were using the casita as a home base for exploring the Central Valley, and it worked great for our needs. The home was comfortable, with all the amenities we wanted/needed and had some nice added touches - like beach chairs, cooler, nice decorations, etc. The well groomed, well behaved dogs and cat were an added bonus for us (Cheetah may be the friendliest cat I've ever met), but do be aware that they are around if pets aren't your thing.

The view of the jungle was a lot of fun and made a great ambiance and the weather, although cloudy and wet while we were there, truly lived up to the "best climate in the world" hype. This was not a fancy place, but exactly what we wanted and at a very fair price. We would stay here again. Thanks for sharing your cool casita.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Thank you Chris and Lori! We enjoyed having you..you were terrific guests and fun to talk with! I hope you are enjoying the rest of your time at the beach!
Hope to see you again!!
Diane and Cameron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blaster_d
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent property, magnificent vistas, "El mejor clima" @ 2400'.”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cam, Diane, and Jocelyn are excellent hosts. The casita is perfectly supplied, nothing has been overlooked. With a late evening arrival due to air travel complications, we were pleasantly surprised to find orange juice, cinnamon rolls and coffee already in the kitchen for the next morning. The kitchen is more than adequately supplied should you decide to prepare some of your own meals. You can literally just bring your clothes and prepare to enjoy Costa Rica. Excellent base point to explore many areas of Costa Rica's Western Central Valley as well as proximity to SJO and the Central Pacific beaches. Atenas is noted as one of the "best climates on earth". Neither heating nor air-conditioning is required. Beautiful vista of the valley below as well as being at the edge of the jungle. Wildlife at your doorstep, with a covered deck to observe the jungle below. The road to the property is paved right to the driveway entrance and is only minutes from Atenas Centro. Great place for a week-end, a week, or even month-long stays.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Overall quality of the accomodations and the hosts providing local information.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Thank you Don and Lenore...we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and a shout out goes to Dave Davis who suggested our casita! You and Lenore are great sports, enduring with a sense of humor the tropical downpours we experience this time of year..we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you both...you are welcome back at anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonDrewni...
Selbyville, Delaware
1 review
“The casita was beyond expectations”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The casita is in near perfect condition, well-furnished and includes everything necessary for a trouble-free stay. More importantly, the hosts, Diane and Cameron, were friendly and did not hesitate to answer any questions we had relative to our stay in the Atenas.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Don, thought I had responded to your review but it appears not so! Cameron and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you both...very respectful and quiet, yet fun to talk to...we look forward to seeing you again if it works out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda5552...
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best place to stay in Atenas”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We believe this is the best place to stay in Atenas! The casita is on two floors, each with a deck that overlooks a beautiful valley behind the house. The kitchen is large and well supplied, the bedroom downstairs is comfortable and well equipped and the living/dining area spans in and out of the house- eating our meals on the upper deck was a delight. The house is bright, cheerful and decorated artistically with pottery and paintings that reflect Costa Rica. We walked to town, about 3 miles, most days, enjoying the fabulous views to distant mountains in all directions- the walk is mostly downhill, through quiet areas, but keep in mind that the first 15 minutes is up four short, but steep hills—we even got to like those! And the little town of Atenas has everything you need, including some good restaurants, several supermarkets and free lending libraries . Atenas also makes an ideal base to explore other parts of Costa Rica. ( We used the bus system most of the time, which is amazingly inexpensive).
Our hosts could not have been kinder or more helpful. They made our stay even more enjoyable and helped us figure out numerous mysteries relating to using banks, lining up taxis etc.
Renting this casita was a wonderful experience for us- we give it our highest recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful house in a beautiful but convenient area
Liked least: the dry season can have some hot days - but the winds help alot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Linda and Trevor were delightful and thoughtful guests! Enthusiastic birders, we got to learn a lot about the many birds that visit our property, so thank you, Trevor and Linda: we hope to see you again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing