We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grecotel Club Marine Palace
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Panormos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two weeks here for our family vacation (5 ppl) and had a really good time. The management team is excellent and took really good care of us (a special thanks to Andreas M.!). Two of our party had their wedding ceremony at the hotel also, it was really nice and well organized.

The grounds are spacious and clean, there are lots of trees and herbs (Rose-Marie, Thyme, etc) everywhere so it smells very nice. The pools are clean and so is the beach. They have signs asking people not to reserve their spots (THANK YOU!), something the Germans are famous for doing starting at 6am...; not here, so you can actually enjoy the pool or beach and not stare at empty spots with towels on them. The water park(s) is very good and clean (even for adults!), our child had a lovely time there. They have two kids clubs (a German one and an International one) where they have lots of activities for the children. They have kids discos every night and some sort of spectacle.

The food was good, I was really happy about this because lots of times you either get the same thing every day and/or the food is greasy or salty. not here. They even have bio food in the kids corner (from their Agreco Farm that you can visit, I highly recommend you do), salads, vegetables, meats, fish, etc. The breakfast is also good and you will find something to your liking. My only complaints about the food are the freshly made omelettes are a bit greasy and the fresh orange juice should be free for breakfast.

With the all inclusive card you get everything for free except cider and freshly pressed orange juice. As mentioned above I think this last one should at least be free for the breakfast, especially since they prepare other juices for free. Also, the price for the fresh orange juice is double what they charge in the village (5-10 min walk). I was a bit shocked about having to pay for the freshly pressed orange juice, especially in the morning...

The rooms are nice and clean, nothing to say here.

There is free wifi outside and in the lobby/restaurant. It doesn't work well in the rooms though.

There are several car rental places close by if you want to visit the island a bit, they also have several organized tours close by and a little train that drives around for sight seeing, it stops in front of the hotel regularly.

The employees are what really made a difference, they are all so kind and attentive; from the housekeeping staff to the management, they are really all great. Thank you to the whole team! We never had someone who was rude to us and everyone is ready to help.

This was my first time in a Grecotel and it will not be my last!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grossetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Trip Advisor member grossetti

We sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel, the GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites for your holidays, and for deciding to share your experience with other visitors.
We are very pleased to know your high expectations were exceeded in numerous aspects, from the quality of our culinary choices that are mostly made with local and pure products to the diversity in our pools. Regarding this matter, it is very nice of you to highlight our non-reservation policy for the beach chairs, as even in the period of high season; we always try to convenient and satisfy all visitors’ needs.

In addition, it is true that Club Marine Palace is built like a traditional Cretan village, with a lot of different plants and trees that make our guests feel they live by the nature. We are glad that you enjoyed this atmosphere as well as the unique architecture and facilities in our resort.
Furthermore, we are always more than happy to celebrate a special moment for you and loved ones and to organize a wonderful ceremony in a delightful scenery, that will leave you a remarkable memory of your family vacations.

Most of all, we are extremely proud hearing our guests emphasizing the professionalism and hospitality spirit of our colleagues, because this is what makes Club Marine Palace a place that feels like home. Please be sure that your nice words will be transferred to our entire team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we will have the chance to accommodate you as soon as possible in our hotel, in the near future.
Best regards
GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's hard to start this review while back home and far from the amazing 2 weeks we had at this hotel.

Let me start from the beginning in order of importance:

1) Kids club / Kids friendliness.
Its hard to have a good time on vacation when you have young kids if the child facilities are not good.

The good signs start by seeing that in the room bathroom there is even a little stool for kids to stand on. That shows forethought!

From there everything becomes better. The entertainment team (lead by Erika) was amazing. They manage part of the kids (as Tui also has a seperate team for German kids) and they do an amazing job. Our daughter was upset when we were coming to pick her up :). A lot of interesting activities, games and 'excursions' within the grounds. The mini disco and evening entertainment (for kids) was also great. Very pleased with all the team (hello to Stratos as well, the solo Greek entertainer :) )

My one complaint is that although I realise there are many German kids, the mini disco was strongly dominated by German songs... maybe 70-30 where 30 is ALL other languages (Russian, Italian songs). Almost no 'classic' kids songs at all.

2) Food
What can I say. Most all inclusive places struggle to deal with their budget vs quality. It seems Grecotal and the Chef have found a perfect balance. Amazing quality, great tastes and a perfect mix of international and Greek cuisine. Noone can complain about food and be taken seriously. I was going to complain that in 2 weeks there was no pastitsio (my favorite Greek dish) but on the last day even that happened! It was great to have so many options and not just the trite 'port/chicken' as there were loads of fish, beef and lamb dishes as well!

3) Room
The room while great (we had the one with the sliding door seperating the two parts) was essentially nothing special. Nice, big, clean but it felt a bit dated and slightly 'older' style rather than modern resort. Everything was there though... many electricity plugs, safe, mini fridge, tea & coffee making facilities as well as shower and bathtub (again useful when having kids).

4) Location / Beach / Facilities

The little town of Panormos is nice but in between enjoying the sea and doing tours we didnt really visit it much. Still located near Rethymno and equally close to Chania and Heraklio the location is good.

The hotel grounds are AMAZINGLY taken care of. Full of flowers, trees and greener than green grass which is a HARD FEAT given Greek weather and this visit being mid September. Every communal area was also clean which was a plus.

Multiple pools for all tastes and... sizes. My one issue was that the water was a bit... cold. Colder than the sea... and I understand this being the case for the water slides but in the main pools it was strange given the warm weather. It was a full 2.5 degrees colder than the sea.

As for the beach... amazing. Perfect sand, area taken care of and nice rocks acting as wave breaker full of life for snorkelers (a big group of barracuda even!!!).

And last but not least... the 'included' Water Park. Amazing for kids... so many slides for all levels, great crepes served for the parents just relaxing while waiting :).

5) Adult entertainment.
Here things were not as great... while for the kids the efforts were great for the adults it felt as an afterthought. In our 2 weeks there were basically 4 'acts'... a water dancing show, a juggler, a greek/cretan dances night and a balley night. The rest were nothing special or memorable at all.

Overall:

Amazing hotel, good food, good value for money (and it is an expensive place so thats important), great for kids. The staff is REALLY hard working and despite hard conditions are always there with a smile.

Special thanks to Zoi

Room Tip: If you are going for a family room, ask for the one with the sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have just got back from an 11 night stay from this lovely hotel.

The check in was very organised and slick. We were greeted as soon as we got off the coach and shown to some comfy seats in the reception area where we were given drinks and cold towels. The check in was carried out there. We were then told to wait with our cases and that someone would take us to our rooms and within minutes the golf buggy arrived and took us.

The rooms were spacious and we had a lovely sea view of the cove.

One great thing about this all inclusive was not having to wear a tag round your wrist! The food was of a good standard as were the drinks. At dinner time, wine in bottles was put on the table if you wanted wine, so you weren't having to constantly ask for a top up. There are three speciality restaurants. What I didn't realise was that you can only book one per week. The first one we tried was the oriental one. Unfortunately the waitress was very rude to my mum and daughter and later on she was having a full blown row with a colleague so that wasn't great. The food was a little over cooked and we were given a wine list with prices on it but not told that we could have the free all inclusive wine so we stuck to water because we didn't really want to pay for wine.

The sun beds were probably the thing that amazed me the most, there was absolutely no reserving and although the hotel states no reserving they didn't have to enforce the rule as no-one did it. There were empty beds well after 9 o'clock so there was none of the usual having to get up mega early to reserve a bed.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, everyone works really hard. The entertainment team were good, I loved their morning songs at 10am each morning. They are very good at telling you what is going on for the day and will walk round the pool to remind you that something is starting but they don't pressure you in to partaking which I liked. We saw a couple of shows and there is a children's disco on most nights, overall there are lots of activities for children.

There were a few downsides to the holiday but this is in no way a reflection of the hotel. Firstly, I have never seen so many children at a hotel, especially under 5's, even in the height of summer and our trip was September. This does mean that wherever you go you can pretty much guarantee that there is a child kicking off. We tried sitting by one of the other pools which we thought was quieter and it wasn't and we also started to eat a lot later but there were still a lot of children around. Don't get me wrong, I like children but it really was very noisy most of the time so I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway!

Secondly the transfer time from Chania airport is around two and a half hours, so be prepared for a longish, hot coach ride.

Internet is not available in the hotel rooms but it was accessible around the pools, in reception and in fact if we just stood outside our room we could pick up the wifi from there. The hotel don't charge for this nor do they charge for the safe which some hotels have started doing. It was my birthday while we were there and the hotel delivered a cake to the room which was a really nice touch.

We had a day trip to Knossos and also to Spinalonga. Knossos is not for the feint hearted and I wouldn't recommend it for those with mobility problem. Spinalonga was a good trip but it was a very long day, nearly 11 hours so was quite tiring.

I would heartedly recommend this for families, it really is a nice, family hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Everden99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Trip Advisor member Everden99
We would like to thank you very much for visiting our hotel, Grecotel Club Marine Palace & Suites, and for the time you spent writing this review on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to read that the facilities we provide truly met yo
u expectations and we feel very proud hearing you highlighting our non-reserving sunbeds hotel’s policy as well as our continuous efforts for spotless cleanliness. Make sure that your nice comments will be transferred to our whole team, who tries very hard to provide the best possible service, without forgetting their big smile.

Generally, it is true that Club Marine Palace is a family oriented hotel, which may excuse some noise coming from the children or our lively and active entertainment program, however we understand that this may not cater every guest’s preferences.

Despite that, we are very happy that you recommending our resort to other visitors, and we sincerely hope we will have the chance to accommodate you in sunny Crete again, for a new Grecotel experience.

Best regards
GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

As a couple we chosed this family hotel becuse we expected it's beach to be good for snorkeling and so it was. On a windy day there still was a corner in shelter of thembreakwater to snorkel safely. We rented a car from the hotel to see other snorkeling places, too, like Bali near by. We missed just one lunch when having a longer trip. In the afternoon we snorkeled again in the hotel beach water

Surprisinly, numerous small children did not disturb us. On the contrary, it was nice to see enthusiasted children having a propram directed to them.

The was a queue to breakfast and dinner but it was quite a fast one. Food was good with a wast variety and the all-inclusive was easy-going.

We enjoyed the evening program, especially the three tenors in the beach area in moon light and the performance of a high quality folk dance group.

The room fullfilled all our needs, like the ground floor with a nice sun shine in the evening, a rack for wet equipment outside, air conditioning, a good place for charging electronics, enough of room for peaces of bagage.

The only lack was wi-fi from rooms and pool area. You could use it just in the reseption area.

We really enjouye our journey and the hotel. The journey from Chania airport took less than I thougt.

Room Tip: We got a room on the ground floor near dining room to help restructed moving capavility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Trip Advisor member Irma S
Thank you for choosing our hotel, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites for your recent holiday and for taking some time to write such a wonderful review of your experience on Trip Advisor.
It is a delight to read that the facilities we provide met your expectations in so many levels, from the evening entertainment program and our fully equipped rooms to the variety and quality of our culinary offers.
Furthermore we are extremely happy that you and your husband had some amazing time snorkeling in our blue flag awarded beach as well as to some other Cretan beaches nearby.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope we will have the chance to accommodate you again in our resort in the near future.
Best regards
GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We loved our stay in this hotel because, although it's an all-in hotel with animation, aqua park and everything that comes with it, it's still a quite charming hotel and ditto experience. And this because of the beautiful setting, the architecture of the hotel domain, the quality of the all-in food and the extreme friendliness of the staff! This really is a hotel for all kind of tourist profiles.

We stayed in the 'cheapest' room because we think we do not need anything else in a warm climate but our room was excellent: very spacious, in a quiet area not too far from the main building which was handy in the mornings and the evening. The furniture is a little bit outdated but everything is very clean!

Take enough time to discover the whole hotel area with the different pools, sitting area's and the beach. Also do not hesitate to go for a walk outside the hotel: on the one side you'll discover small beautiful beaches and on the other side the small town of Panormos. But also, do not hesitate to discover the island with a rented car! There aren't many routes so it's hard to get lost and the nature and culture is great. We rented a car in front of the entrance of the aqua park and were very happy with the price we negotiated and the service.

And last but not least 3 small remarks but which we appreciated a lot: the security in the aqua park is top with save guards surveying the area and the people all the time. So after a couple of time our 13 year old daughter was allowed to go alone. The all-in buffets always give the possibility to eat healthy and with local products. The guests at the hotel come from all over Europe and not only from a few countries and mostly families with small or a little bit older children.

Room Tip: We had room 202: in the main building, side sea view, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club_Marine_Palace, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team at Grecotel Club Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Trip Advisor member Ayissa
We would like to thank you for the time and effort you spent reviewing our hotel, GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites on Trip Advisor.

As a team, we pride ourselves in exceeding our guest’s expectations, so we are all delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality, our accommodation and especially the unique architecture of Club Marine Palace, which is built like a traditional Cretan village.

Furthermore, the fact that you speak so highly about the security in our pools and the Aqua Park as well as the variety and quality of our cuizines is a great reward, as Grecotel chain is always aiming on personalized service that suites every preference and offers a unique holiday experience.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your kind words and we hope we will have the chance to accommodate you and your family once more in the near future.
Kind regards
GRECOTEL Club Marine Palace & Suites management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panormos
16.2 km away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
728 reviews
12.0 km away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
956 reviews
13.3 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
64.5 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3 190 reviews
75.0 km away
Grecotel Meli Palace
Grecotel Meli Palace
#5 of 17 in Sissi
256 reviews
3.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Club Marine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Club Marine Palace

Address: Panormo, Panormos, Crete 740 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Panormos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panormos
#1 Family Hotel in Panormos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panormos
Price Range: R2 364 - R6 286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecotel Club Marine Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Marine Palace an all-inclusive Luxury is built like a typical Cretan village. Lemon, mandarin and vanilla-coloured bungalows surround the large swimming pools. A winding path meanders between the main building, the cluster of bungalows on the upper level and the seafront bungalow village. Marine Palace Suites The beautiful Marine Palace Suites are the epitome of luxury and style. The setting is spectacular, a fine cocktail of captivating sea views, blissful serenity combined with the more active life at the Grecotel Club Marine Palace. The suites, built in a peaceful area above the main hotel, encircle a tranquil pool surrounded by free sun beds & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Club Marine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Club Marine Palace Hotel Rethymnon
Grecotel Hotel Marine Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing