We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$91
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stornoway Lodge(Lanseria)
US$87
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dalen's(Lanseria)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanseria Country Estate(Lanseria)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linquenda Guest Farm(Lanseria)(Great Value!)
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lethabo Estate(Lanseria)
US$83
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Touch of Africa Lodge(Lanseria)(Great Value!)
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
18
11
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
11
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchcooked to perfectionlovely lunchnext morningthank you so muchherefordweddingvenuefurnishingssettingteam
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Rooms are spacious but lack persona touches, and the TV how old is it? Still one of the old box TV's. Walked in to the reception had to search for someone to assist us. There was no real attention to detail. The property has a lot of potential but is really poorly run in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2Travelmore75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHertfordHotel, Manager at The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review, we value any feedback, positive or negative. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Hertford and would really appreciate the opportunity to sort it out with you directly. Please be so kind as to email us at hotel@hertford.co.za and give us a bit more information as to the date of your stay as well as the room number in order for us to investigate the matter properly.

Thank you very much.
The Hertford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

A very BIG THANK YOU to The Hertford and the entire team for an unforgettable wedding. Not only did you surpass what I was expecting, but you went over and above of what I expected. The service, the food, the entire journey that we began with, was FLAWLESS and PERFECT, so thank you so very much and please pass this message onto our very professional Maitre'D on the evening.
All of my overseas guests were raving about the beautiful venue and delicious food. They all had a very comfortable overnight stay. I will definitely refer your venue and services to anyone looking for that 'little'special place!! THANK YOU HERTFORD!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trudi787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHertfordHotel, Manager at The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Trudi,
Thank you for the lovely review! We always strive to provide the best service and your kind words just motivate us even more to deliver the best!
Please come and visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
The Hertford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I went to my sisters wedding at this hotel. We had met there before to have lunch and review the venue. The food they served was average and when it came to desert, I ordered fruit salad, the fruit salad was off. I should have known what was to follow!! It was a sign of things to come!!. The wedding was similar, shocking service, service was so slow, the food was inadequate. When I went back to my room afterwards, it smelt of smoke and old socks, the beds were uncomfortable. When we complained to management they responded on the defensive, no apologies!! They ruined a super special day!! Overall a shocking experience! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Gabi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Booked in for a spur of the moment romantic evening and stay over. Very friendly staff. Stunning grounds although noisy due to adjoining businesses and road. The room was very dark with only two bedside lamps to light a +/-30m2 room. You need binoculars to see the small TV in the huge room. Linen was very crisp and comfortable. Furnishings nice. Bathroom desperately needs proper renovation and provision of a shower - decent layout would help.
Dinner was superb - cooked to perfection thus the 3 star review as the restaurant deserves 4+ and the room 2-. The setting is well worth a visit but next time it will definitely be for the food with no accommodation.

Room Tip: A room with decent lighting and a shower would probably be nice.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank MikeGoodbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We attended my mother in law's 60th birthday here. We had the Sunday lunch. So they can cater for 25+ people per party.

It's a set menu at a very reasonable price. There is a lovely selection of starters and mains. These are plated. The dessert is a buffet. I can recommend the salmon as a starter and the fillet as a main dish is wonderful. Also- make sure that you don't skip their lemon meringue.

We have gone back to the Hertford many times. Their service and food has been excellent.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Malis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHertfordHotel, Manager at The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our delicious Sunday Lunch Menu! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
The Hertford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews