We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanseria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue
Ranked #4 of 5 Lanseria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 December 2017

I attended a wedding here last weekend and it was absolutely lovely. We were in the smaller all white chapel and reception venue, but they both made for a crisp, country backdrop.

Service and food were great, possibly not the best ever but certainly not disappointing.
After all the rain we've had the gardens are lush and cool.

Sadly I did not spend the night but what I saw of the interiors was fitting for the setting.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tennille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHertfordHotel, Wedding Coordinator at The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you very very much for taking the time to write your review, your comments are much appreciated.

Wishing you, your family and friends a blessed and safe festive season!
Take care!

Best regards,
Trudi Schourie
For and on behalf of The Hertford Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Rooms are spacious but lack persona touches, and the TV how old is it? Still one of the old box TV's. Walked in to the reception had to search for someone to assist us. There was no real attention to detail. The property has a lot of potential but is really poorly run in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2Travelmore75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHertfordHotel, Manager at The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Good day,

Thank you for your review, we value any feedback, positive or negative. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Hertford and would really appreciate the opportunity to sort it out with you directly. Please be so kind as to email us at hotel@hertford.co.za and give us a bit more information as to the date of your stay as well as the room number in order for us to investigate the matter properly.

Thank you very much.
The Hertford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

A very BIG THANK YOU to The Hertford and the entire team for an unforgettable wedding. Not only did you surpass what I was expecting, but you went over and above of what I expected. The service, the food, the entire journey that we began with, was FLAWLESS and PERFECT, so thank you so very much and please pass this message onto our very professional Maitre'D on the evening.
All of my overseas guests were raving about the beautiful venue and delicious food. They all had a very comfortable overnight stay. I will definitely refer your venue and services to anyone looking for that 'little'special place!! THANK YOU HERTFORD!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trudi787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHertfordHotel, Manager at The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Trudi,
Thank you for the lovely review! We always strive to provide the best service and your kind words just motivate us even more to deliver the best!
Please come and visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
The Hertford Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

I went to my sisters wedding at this hotel. We had met there before to have lunch and review the venue. The food they served was average and when it came to desert, I ordered fruit salad, the fruit salad was off. I should have known what was to follow!! It was a sign of things to come!!. The wedding was similar, shocking service, service was so slow, the food was inadequate. When I went back to my room afterwards, it smelt of smoke and old socks, the beds were uncomfortable. When we complained to management they responded on the defensive, no apologies!! They ruined a super special day!! Overall a shocking experience! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Gabi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Booked in for a spur of the moment romantic evening and stay over. Very friendly staff. Stunning grounds although noisy due to adjoining businesses and road. The room was very dark with only two bedside lamps to light a +/-30m2 room. You need binoculars to see the small TV in the huge room. Linen was very crisp and comfortable. Furnishings nice. Bathroom desperately needs proper renovation and provision of a shower - decent layout would help.
Dinner was superb - cooked to perfection thus the 3 star review as the restaurant deserves 4+ and the room 2-. The setting is well worth a visit but next time it will definitely be for the food with no accommodation.

Room Tip: A room with decent lighting and a shower would probably be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank MikeGoodbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanseria
6,8 km away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
124 reviews
4,9 km away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
202 reviews
15,7 km away
aha Lesedi Cultural Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8,4 km away
Linquenda Guest Farm
Linquenda Guest Farm
#4 of 10 in Lanseria
34 reviews
7 km away
Stornoway Lodge
Stornoway Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lanseria
194 reviews
6,3 km away
Hills and Dales Accommodation cc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue

Address: Elandsdrift Road, Lanseria 1748, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Lanseria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lanseria
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in close proximity to Pretoria and Johannesburg and only 10 minutes from the Cradle of Humankind. The Hertford Country Hotel & Function Venue is one of Gauteng's best-loved function venues, offering beautiful overnight accommodation; hearty meals; conferencing facilities and breakaway amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing