We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Great Stay at Lobbs!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lobbs cottage

2 storey 'upside down' house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2 storey 'upside down' house
Lobbs Cottage rear view Gabled ceiling Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
2 storey 'upside down' house
Lobbs Cottage rear view
Gabled ceiling Lounge
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Double bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Double bedroom
Mawgan Porth  Bay 5 minutes drive
Mawgan Porth Beach
Padstow 15 minutes drive
View from lane
The lane outside Lobbs
St Mawgan church
St Mawgan tea room
St Mawgan Village store
St Mawgan tea room
Lobbs rear view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St. Mawgan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martin P
1 review
“Another Great Stay at Lobbs!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from our second break at Lobbs Cottage and am glad to say that it once again exceeded our expectations.

Lobbs is a lovely cottage nestled away in St Mawgan and has everything you could require. It's spacious, modern, clean and made for a really comfortable 4 day break.

While St Magwan is relatively small it has a nice village shop for any essentials and a good country pub (The Phoenix) which we would recommend to anyone. There is a handy bus stop directly outside the pub with good links to Newquay & Padstow should you want to venture further afield.

Looking forward to returning again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your second stay, hopefully next time the parents will be well enough to come. By the way the local is called The Falcon Inn
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxg36
Alcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our stay at Lobbs Cottage proved to be idyllic. Everything was beautifully furnished and equipped and we thought the rates were very good. The beds were extremely comfortable and plenty was provided for the rainy days we sometimes get in this country (!). We loved St. Mawgan and found it well placed for beautiful beaches and places to visit. The village itself is extremely pretty and unspoilt and we thought that the Bonsai Garden was magical.
Our hosts were very accessable and helpful - a delightful couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and the position of the cottage in a pretty village
Liked least: The drive proved a little tricky on a couple of occasions.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review, much appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your stay
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola W
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just as wonderful as I remembered it...”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was my second stay at Lobbs Cottage...I had been waiting to come back for 2 years and finally fitted it in!! You always worry about whether a place will live up to your memories / expectations - and it completely did :-) All the little extra touches were still there. It really is a wonderful home from home but with the added bonus of not having to do the cleaning or washing :-) Love having the BBQ and fire chimney in the garden - and we almost (!) wanted cooler weather to try the log burner in the lounge out.

We walked down the lane to The Falcon Inn on the first night - lovely food (mussels followed by crab for me, jambalaya for him) and we will gloss over just how badly we did in the pub quiz that night!

Wonderful walks from the beach to Watergate Bay, Bedruthan Steps, Porthconan and then further afield to Trevose Head, Harlyn Bay and Sennan Cove to Land's End. The views are to die for and the walking well justifies the Cornish pasties :-) Can definitely recommend a trip to Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm and St Ives.

We had wonderful weather - and almost the entire beach to ourselves except for the passing walkers and dogs.

Highlight of the holiday had to be dinner at Jamie Oliver's "Fifteen" overlooking Watergate Bay. Sat in the evening sun watching the sun go down as the tide came in - magical!! The food was pretty special too :-) Expensive - but worth it for the experience and the memories.

Thank you Cameron and Julie for another wonderful stay - I've no doubt we will be back again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Nice to have you back. Glad you enjoyed your stay as much as before and hope to see you again
Cam and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurslemDa...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect base for a holiday in north Cornwall”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lobbs Cottage is beautifully appointed, with simple, high quality decor and furniture throughout, plus a great kitchen and a log burner, making it a comfortable place to return to at the end of a day out. St Mawgan is a lovely village with a great pub {good food too), friendly village stores/post office, a craft gift shop selling souvenirs and even a Japanese garden/bonsai nursery. There's a warm and friendly welcome from Cameron and Julie, and the locals in the village. We took a pleasant 45 minute stroll along the lanes to Mawgan Porth beach (beautiful and bracing on the day we visited) returning through some of the most lovely woodland, carpeted with plenty of fragrant wild garlic in Spring - ideal if you want to make a delicious garlic mash! There are more beautiful coastal gems around every turn, Crantock and Porth Joke being well worth a visit. Lobbs and St Mawgan are the perfect combination for anyone heading to this corner of Cornwall.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and Lobbs/St Mawgan, hope to see you again.
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant (But don't tell everyone!)”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've just returned home after spending 3 nights at Lobbs Cottage. What a brilliant location and super cottage. Cameron was so welcoming, and the cottage exceeded every expectation. Quiet and secluded yet close enough to Cornwall's many attractions to be the perfect mix. First day we walked to St Mawgan Porth beach, which is about 20 - 30 minutes flat, picturesque walk. The walk was a delight. We enjoyed the flight museum at the Airport, staffed by some extremely friendly and welcoming volunteers. Beaches - what can you say - plentiful and great for mum, dad and two teenagers pretending to be children! The cottage itself was clean and well appointed. It had everything we needed. It's only a shame we didn't have longer to sit outside and have a bar-b-que in the enclosed garden. With the local pub serving good food (if a little slowly) only a couple of hundred yards away it is hard to find anything not to love about Lobbs Cottage. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you for your review and hopefully we will see you again.....slightly longer next time
Cameron and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing