We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely barn in the country”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Patio Area with Garden Furniture
Pets welcome, great country walks on the door step
Perfect place to come and sit back and relax in the English Countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorna F
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely barn in the country”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a lovely place to stay, the owners made us very welcome when we arrived. The barn was very comfortable, clean and tidy. It is an ideal size for a big party of people. The surrounding areas was lovely and quiet. The location is ideal for relaxing and spending time unwinding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the barn
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Hello Lorna,

Thank You for your review. Was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Great guests, left the place in great condition. Thank You Very Much Lodge Barns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyweb...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Myself and two of my sisters travel down every year to visit another of our sisters who lives in Nottingham. We love staying together at the Dovecote, it has everything we need and is a quiet and peaceful location. Lodge Barns are well equipped and very comfortable, always clean and well kept. We have lots of favourite places to visit but always seem to find somewhere new as well. The leaving time of 11 am is brilliant, it's great not having to dash to get ready and it gives us time to relax with a coffee before starting our journey. Once again Amanda thank you for having us and we look forward to next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank You for your feed back. Great guests. See you again next year!
Lodge Barns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V6234MYda...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

5 of us met up for a long weekend and stayed here in the Dovecote. Fully kitted out with beds all made up, towels supplied, heating on and spacious kitchen and living room with dining area.
Perfect location for visiting Nottingham which we did on the Saturday, ate out in Southwell Saturday evening and walked to Fiskerton on Sunday morning where we sat and enjoyed a drink at The Bromley before walking back to the Dovecote.
A very enjoyable stay and will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole ambience of the Dovecote was just so homely and comfortable
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank You for you visit to Lodge Barns. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you all again.

Thank You Val
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDext...
1 review
“Fantastic weekend, enjoyed by all”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The barn is clean, well decorated and very well managed. All our party had a great weekend. The moon pub is literally 5 min walk and serves good ale and fine food. We will book for the summer without a doubt

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank You for your visit to Lodge Barns. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you all again.

Thank You Val
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryanni
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed for just one night at The Dovecote Lodge Barn, near Fiskerton. We were visiting a friend in Newark for a day in January, and were really pleased to find self catering accommodation for just the one night - just what we wanted this time.

Key collection was straightforward, and the house easy to find. When we arrived what a pleasant surprise it was - a tastefully decorated and furnished barn conversion, to which we will hopefully return for a longer stay before long. We particularly enjoyed the open countryside views, and hope to return in warmer weather when we can enjoy breakfast on the patio. It's a really good place to come back to at the end of a busy day, and our Newark based friend was extremely impressed.

There are obviously good pubs nearby, which we hope to investigate. This time we had a good meal at Farndon Boathouse, not far from Newark. Also worth a mention is that several of the local pubs that we investigated cater for coeliacs - with gluten free options a-plenty.

We'll be back soon, to explore the local area and visit our friend again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The farm location and open countryside. Also bookable for one night only.
Liked least: Can't think of any negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank You for your review and glad you had a lovely stay with us. Thank You Amanda Lodge Barns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing