We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1.30pm 28th June 2018”

The Bromley at Fiskerton
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$46
Cuisines: Pizza, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Bromley is located next to the River Trent in the beautiful village of Fiskerton near Southwell, Nottinghamshire. The major refurbishment in February 2014 brought a more modern feel to this traditional country pub with a fabulous double sided log fire situated in the heart of the pub surrounded by luxurious dining tables and booths. The addition of luxurious soft seating areas as well as the traditional lounge bar area with its open fire provides plenty of room to relax with a glass of wine, a cup of freshly ground coffee or a beer or two before or after your meal! Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, The Bromley at Fiskerton provides a stylish ambience for couples and small or large groups of people with an extensive a-la-carte menu including a Gluten Free range, a mouth watering dessert menu, a lunchtime specials and snack menu, a coffee, tea and cakes menu and traditional Sunday roasts. With its beautiful riverside views The Bromley is a must for people who want to enjoy the whole dining experience in a relaxed, friendly and informal atmosphere.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Let's start with the positives..excellent staff both polite and informative. Our party of five ordered from the lunchtime menu..two choosing home made steak pies whch although noticeably burnt on the outside crust, proved full of tasty meat. The pasta dish was mediocre, swimming in olive oil or similar in the bottom of the dish. The major let down was the 'haddock' which was dry, wafer thin with an enormous crust of overcooked batter..two of the party ordered this and it was inedible. Alternative dishes were offered in replacement but by now the enthusiasm of our first visit had diminished and none were chosen. Our complaining was done discreetly as the restaurant was full and in fairness the two fish meals were not charged for and without asking, a round of drinks was taken from the final bill.The journey to the pub for our party was quite a long one, attracted by the reputation and previous reports but will not be returning, despite the fair play in the reduced bill. The chef or cooking staff spoiled a day out...the front of house staff could not be faulted.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank heeleygreen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

A very enjoyable meal - the food was delicious and the service attentive, the whole family enjoyed themselves and we will certainly be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank taylor396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirlsmith, Owner at The Bromley at Fiskerton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you and all your family enjoyed your dining experience at The Bromley and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes

Shirley and Peter Smith
Owners The Bromley at Fiskerton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This a fantastic place by the Trent. Really relaxing and scenic especially in Summer. Food is OK, not much choice if your a vegetarian though.
Staff are polite and friendly.
There's plenty of seating in and outside

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RomanKnight224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirlsmith, Owner at The Bromley at Fiskerton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your review. The view from The Bromley is rather spectacular isn’t it! We were surprised to read your comments about the variety of choice for vegetarians. Perhaps you didn’t notice all the vegetarian options throughout our menus? We offer about 6 vegetarian starters, 4 main meals plus other various options throughout our other menus including vegetarian pizzas. We do hope you will return in the future to enjoy everything that The Bromley has to offer.

Best wishes

Shirley and Peter Smith
Owners The Bromley at Fiskerton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Location : lovely, right by the river. Food: very nice, huge portion of fish on the fish and chips platter. Staff: friendly, welcoming, however the guy that waited at our table seemed a bit ‘elsewhere’! To us, he spoke a bit too fast and didn’t quite grasp what we were asking for. We got there in the end though!
An enjoyable meal, great company and a few good laughs! Sorry, can’t rate ‘cos the app ain’t workin’ right!

2  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This is an enjoyable dining experience. It is possible to have a table on the river bank - River Trent - and watch the boats passing by.
The food is excellent and the service good. I have been several times and will be going again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RJA961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bromley at Fiskerton also viewed

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Oxton, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Bromley at Fiskerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing