We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful cathedral

I’ve never heard of this cathedral before our visit today and was truly blown away by the beauty of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
TravellerTom99
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Prepare to be amazed

Another very interesting visit to an enormous church with the most amazing interior. Also the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
David F
Read all 716 reviews
  
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
524
162
24
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
162
24
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chapter house small town well worth a visit beautiful building stained glass norman architecture bishop's palace stone carvings green men lovely town lovely place to visit take photos lots of history cardinal wolsey two hours bramley apple warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We have been to Southwell Minster on several occasions over the years. The place has a great feeling of calm and quiet. Much enjoyed the area where all the Bishops would sit at meetings. A lovely monument to those builders who built wonderful buildings which are still in use centuries later.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank grahamjohnhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Very nice place to visit, some lovely shops on the high street. Very quaint town with a minster (yes it's classed as a town even though it has a minster ). The smallest place to have a minster.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Absolutely stunning massive Norman architecture - a glorious cathedral set in the middle of this lovely small town. What an amazing space inside - just puts you in awe of the medieval masons who built this huge structure. And the setting of the well-maintained churchyard with the Bishop's Palace and the education garden is wonderful. The bells sounded great too. They ring on Sundays of course and Tuesday is practice night. We've been before and will go again.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Our friends living locally suggested that we had a tour of the Minster. A really great experience. Equal to many Cathedrals. Helpful volunteers on hand to give additional guidance and information. £5 voluntary donations - which we were very happy to pay.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank BobandJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Guided tours are not always available here and a good friend and I wanted to have a really close look at this beautiful Minster. The tour is conducted in small groups by a team of gowned guides who each do a section of the Minster and hand you onto the next. Each one was full of interesting facts and figures and quirky stories about the many carvings, paintings, grafitti, stained glass and memorials. Especially Joanne who showed us the magnificent Chapter House. The tour lasted almost 2 hours and flew by. We had to stop as a wedding was due to start in 45 minutes. We refreshed ourselves at the nearby Minster café which had a varied choice of lunch dishes. It was delicious.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank jenni08_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews