We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queens Casino”

Queens Casino & Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queens Casino & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Queens Casino”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

My hubby and myself live in Queenstown and we were on leave for 3week's . We have a 3yr old and a 1yr old, There's really not much to do with the kiddies in Queenstown, so we thought we'd take them to the games centre and park. The children had a blast and so did my husband,teaching my son how all the games work (car's and bikes). We had a lovely walk around and staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be taking the kiddies back and as soon as we can organise a babysitter we will be having date night at the Queens Casino.

Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelTheron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We went to go watch the SA-New Zealand rugby game at the bar. Decent bar with enough TVs to enjoy sport on over the weekend.

The Casino itself is okay regarding gambling facilities. Does not match up to other casino's in bigger cities but should be sufficient for the average gambler.

We did not stay at the hotel itself so can't rate that.

  • Stayed October 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2014 via mobile

Having read previous reviews, I almost didn't fillow through with booking......a very pleasant, spanking new, beautifully decorated and comfortable hotel. Rooms clean, spacious, big beds and modern. the parking is safe, rooms quiet and removed from casino. yes....no room service but bar at casino does take-outs and breakfast is good and the staff very friendly......This is a great addition to the N6 route......and.....we found a golf course about 3 km away and had a good round.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My fiancé and I spent a weekend at this hotel thinking it would probably be the best option to stay at in a small town. We couldn't have been more wrong.

To begin with there is no telephone or internet available in the rooms. There is no mini-bar. The weekend we stayed there we were told there would be no room service despite the room service menu that was in our rooms. The manager promptly told us that if she does take the order for room service she couldn't guarantee that it would be delivered. The only dinner available was at the casino restaurant- a buffet that ran out and they refused to replenish it as it was close to the end of the staffs shift. The bar menu was the only other option and this took 1hr through non-existent service to be ordered and brought to us. We ended up eating at 22:00 when we had started our in room dining escapade at 19:00. The manager on-duty even went so far as to ask why we would even want in room dining and asked if we didn't rather want to drive out and buy takeaways from the nearby fast-food establishments.

The experience though was not altogether terrible since we had a decent sized room and it was clean. But that was about all.

Breakfast was a joke. We were told they do not prepare omelettes over the weekend - ??? Their fruit looked abused. And they had a limited selection in terms of hot vs cold breakfast options. At some point they ran out coffee mugs and we had to wait whilst new ones were taken out of boxes and washed to be used. The excuse being they were fully booked and they did not expect that number of guests with two conferences over that weekend. To be honest they did seem a bit understaffed but I must commend one waitress who did her best to make us comfortable despite the odds, by the name of Akhona. She seemed the only one properly trained in hospitality and guest relations.

Then there was the fiasco of having some of the rooms not attached to the hotel and situated across the road from the main hotel and casino buildings. This necessitated buzzing the very cold and unfriendly security staff to open the security gates every time we needed to access our rooms. So a yes for security but a definite no for convenience, location or customer service.

To say I was disappointed by the overall service and experience I had at the hotel would be a gross understatement. I promptly told all my family and friends upon my return about my experience at this hotel and urged them to choose any other alternative they can find should they ever find themselves in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Choose a different place to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelKat247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here for one night whilst in Queenstown on business. The hotel is a no frills place with spacious rooms - unfortunately internet not available in the rooms - , a decent breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel is right next to the casino where one is directed for dinner. This was not very impressive, though the sports bar, also in the casino had a good vibe going. The breakfast was nice with a good variety and quality. The hotel reminded me a bit of the City Lodge hotels I stay in frequently when travelling; always OK, but never blows your socks off. OK for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Cozi Corner Self-Catering Accommodation
0.0 km away
Tranquil House Bed & Breakfast
1.9 km away
Maiden Head Country Lodge
Maiden Head Country Lodge
#3 of 8 in Queenstown
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Roydon Private Nature Reserve
Roydon Private Nature Reserve
#22 of 44 in Queenstown
1 reviews
1.0 km away
26 On Chamberlain Guest House
26 On Chamberlain Guest House
#8 of 44 in Queenstown
18 reviews
0.7 km away
The Gallery Guesthouse
The Gallery Guesthouse
#4 of 44 in Queenstown
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Casino & Hotel

Property: Queens Casino & Hotel
Address: 63 Ebden Street | Eastern Cape, Queenstown 5319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Queenstown
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Casino & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queens Casino & Hotel, located on the N6 in the friendly city of Queenstown, offers an escape to a world where glamour, extravagance, fun, and relaxation combine - to make everyone feel like royalty. The magnificence and grandeur of the Victorian Architecture and chic interiors are reminiscent of a bygone era, and make you long for the romance and lavishness those times. Whether you prefer the shuffle of cards, the cheerful chime of slot machines, upscale dining or just relaxation, Queens Casino & Hotel will draw you in and steal your heart - make you feel like you have royalty. From 10:00 in the morning to 4:00 the following morning on weekdays and to 5:00 over weekends, dance with lady luck on our casino floor. Queens Casino boasts 180 slots in a variety of denominations from just 1c, and 6 tables, including Roulette, Black Jack and Poker. Dine with us At our fabulous Junction Restaurant, a sumptuous spread fit for a king awaits you. Tantalize your taste buds with an extensive array of mouth-watering starters, indulgent dishes, and decadent desserts, infused with flavours from around the world. Our restaurant caters for the whole family, with an a la carte menu for lunch and an evening buffet. Junction Restaurant is available for group bookings and private functions. The friendly and laid-back atmosphere at Hadley's Sports Bar invites friends and colleagues to come together. Whether it is to watch the big game on the screen or for after-work sundowners, you'll feel at home at Hadley's Sports Bar. Fully-licensed, Hadley's Sports Bar serves all your favourite drinks and cocktails, and offers a menu featuring snacks and light meals. The bar is open daily from 09:00 'til late. Play like a royal Queens Casino & Hotel offers entertainment for the whole family. Children are welcome to come and play in our Games Room where we have 22 games to choose from. We also offer a fully-supervised Creche where up to 20 children at a time will be looked after by our capable care-givers. Our complex also features a brand new, challenging 18-hole miniature golf course. Located under the trees in the beautiful surrounds of the Walter Everett Gardens at the Queens Casino & Hotel Complex, the Queens Mini Golf Course is open from Wednesday to Sunday between 12:00 and 21:00. Boasting a state-of-the-art course, shaded seating and a kiosk selling food and refreshments, the Queens Mini Golf Course is an ideal venue for friends and families to meet for some good, clean fun in the fresh air. Take a walk in our exquisite gardens For those seeking a glimpse of paradise there is the beautifully-restored Walter Everett Gardens, where you can stroll amongst the ducks, peacocks and swans or simply sit on a bench daydreaming as the serenity of the panoramic garden washes over you. Stay-over with us The lavish four-star Queens Hotel indulges its guests with world-class, friendly service. The hotel has 50, superbly-appointed deluxe rooms with all the modern amenities. After a soothing night's sleep, guests are treated to a scrumptious buffet style breakfast in the hotel's comfortable breakfast room. Seating 150 people and including catering and conference equipment, the Hotel's conference facility equals and exceeds all of its size in the area. Let us entertain you The Queens Hotel regularly hosts special events such as themed dinner evenings, comedy shows, dinner dances, and live music concerts. Well-known entertainers and artists that have performed on the stage in the hotel's extensive conference facility include Parlotones, Michael Naicker, David Newton, Southern Gypsy Queen, Tumi Morake, Loyiso Gola, Riaad Moosa, Joey Rasdien, Barry Hilton, LCNVL, Shadowclub, etc. Share your special day with us The opulent interiors, with the exquisite Walter Everett Gardens as a backdrop, make the Queens Casino & Hotel a fairytale venue for weddings, and an ideal place to host other special events such as birthdays, gala dinners and corporate functions. Almost every vista is a photo opportunity - from the immaculate gardens to the old-style charm of the Victorian foyer. While the wedding party is off taking photos, the crystal-clear pool area is very inviting for guests to enjoy a welcome drink while taking in their beautiful surrounds. Queen's Hotel's highly-experienced food and beverage team will help you put together a mouth-watering menu and perfect event for up to 150 people. A dance floor can also be provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing