We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$44
View deal
PricelineUS$44
Agoda.comUS$44
eDreamsUS$44
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
7
14
5
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
14
5
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2019

Fix roads to venue, filter bow water before going into taps or consumption, Repair TV, Radio and shower - major maintenance required. Breakfast was up to standard and hospitality from owner was great.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BennievR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2019

Had a lovely stay here with Vivien and the dogs over New Year. We were given an upgrade to a very spacious thatched room owing to the heat - most welcome. A very comfy bed. A tranquil place but only 10 mins from town. The access road was a little bumpy for our small car but fine when taken slowly.Vivien provided breakfast and evening meal for us which worked out just fine over the holiday period. Lovely to chat and get to know our host.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TokozileVivienB, Manager at Maiden Head Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thank Pamela, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays in our Lovely country

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

The beds were comfortable and the bed clothes were crisp and clean. The room was very basic, but quite clean... however the TV did not work. It was very noisy throughout the night. No view of any kind. There was a rather bad smell outside when we arrived for the one night.

Vivian (the owner) was very pleasant though and it appears wants her venture to succeed.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Rating agency should have a re-assessment of this establishment!

Unprofessional reception.
No DSTV(not working)
Only boiling hot water in shower - no cold water
Dirty crockery in room(lipstick impression on water drinking glass)
Poor maintenance to room and shaded car ports.

Photographs and description of establishment misleading.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

There was no water - owner said plumber was fixing it. However an hour later it was still off. It was 6pm,FREEZING and dark. Found open condoms in the room cupboard - surely if there was a house keeper they would find and clean this!? Linen was old and stained. Cob webs in the corner of the room. Mouldy shower grouting. Broken chair outside. DEFINITELY not a 4* in my eyes! Wonder if the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa gave this rating and when it was graded? Had to frantically find other accommodation in the evening which was cheaper and 4* +. When i called the owner to explain my concerns, i got a very rude 'ill cancel your booking' and the phone put down in my ear. Just a tip - if you want to attract the right clientele - business ethics go a long way! Will definitely not be back nor recommend this establishment unless you are ok with a 2*.

Room tip: Would not recommend any rooms
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaurenB4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews