We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
R 1 424
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Gene R J
Silver Spring, Maryland
Upscale hotel/restaurant near the Lesotho border.
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2023
My wife and I stayed 2 nights, arriving at 3PM with a rental car and parking in the interior lot. At the restaurant reception, a pleasant lady copied my passport and checked the prepaid voucher, as I signed a waiver sheet, before presenting a large key. The friendly manager escorted us across the grass to the stone entry house with a nice lounge. Room “Legends” was carpeted and spacious with a comfortable king, nice closet, antique desk and chair, 2 large sitting chairs, then a sliding barn door into a fully outfitted bathroom with tub and stall shower.
The nicely decorated room was quiet, had nice hot water, satellite TV(SABC, 2 movies, 3 sports and 5 more channels) and good open WIFI at the restaurant, since our building's router wasn’t working.
Their restaurant opens at 6AM for a la carte breakfast selections in their dining room. Later in their bar, we sampled their excellent menu for lunch that extends to dinner.
Pleasant personalities extend throughout this well managed hotel, established in 1892.
Date of stay: February 2023
Nearby Hotels
Church at Oranje
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
8.4 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Chalet 9 main bedroom
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
8.5 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free parking
Pool
The communal swimming pool and Lapa
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
8.7 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free parking
The Honey Apartment  looking out onto its private patio with stunning views of the Maluti Mountains
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
1.3 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free parking
Spa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 649
  • Hotels.com
5.9 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Hartbeeshuisie
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.1 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free parking
Twin Towers and the Appaloosa Horses
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
11.0 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
24.8 km from Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel
View more hotels in Fouriesburg
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
76
58
16
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
76
58
16
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middle of town old school beautiful place to stay cold winter nights lesotho border clarens passport fireplace ficksburg break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2022

This review is relatively objective, being my 15th road trip, this time visiting 7 properties over a 21 day period.

I stayed for one night solo in September.

Lovely old stone building in the centre of town, with plenty of parking space which was guarded at night.

Welcoming and efficient staff.

My room (5?) had no direct access to the hotel, needing to walk along the pavement or through the garden. Room was large, clean, comfortable and well equipped, as was the bathroom. The downside was that it faced onto the roadside pavement, and as such the blinds/curtains had to be permanently closed. The pavement/road created noise in the evening and early morning. Best to avoid this room.

WiFi was decent.

The public areas were nicely old school, but seemed to be missing that small something which creates atmosphere.

Dinner (curry) was pretty average, but breakfast was acceptable.

Not sure that I’d stay again

p.s. Beware/allow plenty of time for the badly potholed road from Ficksburg.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2022

Lovely comfortable old Inn. Extremely friendly and keen to do anything to please. Cold winter nights with frost, but room very warm. Clarens close by for a pleasant wander around galleries, restaurants and shops. Jackal's Hill cheese shop is close and made a lovely peaceful day. We would certainly recommend it for a stay in this beautiful area. Bit difficult to follow signs. It is immediately behind the church in the middle of town.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank agast350
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2022

Beautiful place to stay with the friendliest staff and great service! Breakfasts are AMAZING and worth including in your stay - they were different each day! Dinners were also really tasty! Fireplaces were very welcome to sit next to at the end of the day in the chilly weather

Room tip: Single rooms are available without a single supplement if you are travelling alone - it is a single bed though!
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventuresofLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eluan Rabe, General Manager at Fouriesburg Country Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2022

Dear adventuresofLa

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Fouriesburg Country Inn.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and experienced our great service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
The FCI team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2022

Beautiful place to stay. We stayed in Vusi rooms, well kept, clean and Spacious Rooms. Restaurant offers great food. Room service is also there. We were 3 families along with kids, had a comfortable stay. Place is so close to clarens, just 25 mins away, hidden in beautiful location.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sputre639686
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Excellent hotel with excellent location located at the heart of the town,extremely clean & comfortable . Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the friendly reception staff ,they made our trip more interesting with there advices & tips about the town and its history ,places to see ,shops and restaurants. Bars are within walking distance. Would definetely recommend this hotel to everybody! It's a true sample of excellent hospitality. Hardus the manager, and His wife were the most of beautiful people. We felt like family. They made sure all our needs were met. There was never a time we were left wanting. Food was excellent. All the staff, kitchen, cleaning and reception did an excellent job to make sure we enjoyed our holiday. Out of all the hotels aroud the world we visited, this was surly the best service we received.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jacocoetzee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews