We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
76
25
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
25
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews addo elephant park south africa great food couple of nights cheesecake secure parking whole experience cape dutch architecture restaurant area swimming pool sunday's river hidden gem home away from home guesthouse accommodation port style
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

I am a well travelled and fussy businessman travelling throughout South Africa with one of my favourite overnight stay overs being at the Kronenhoff Guest Lodge. Beautiful and comfortable rooms, excellent meals at their top class restaurant and extremely hospitable and friendly service. I never get tired of staying at these beautiful lodgings.

Room Tip: All rooms which I have stayed in are of the same high standard and tastefully furnished
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BrianKerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Kronenhoff Guesthouse is nestled in the beautiful Kirkwood in the Sunday's River valley and is situated about 80 km from the Indian Ocean. (Port Elizabeth)

Approximately 18 million cartons of oranges, lemons, grapefruit and other citrus fruit are exported from this region each year! To the north of Kirkwood are the Rietberg Mountains with the Uyepoort (Uye Gateway), which provides passage to the Zuurberg Mountains and the Addo Elephant National Park.

Ideal and very affordable place to stay for families or couples that want to do day trips to the great and world famous Addo Elephant National Park without costing you a fortune. Yet big enough to handle big groups of people too.

My suite (and all the others) has been meticulously refurbished to reflect its art-deco origins of this beautiful traditional old Cape Dutch architecture hotel style, with tasteful trimmings, cabinets, solid timber doors and wooden floor, pocket windows and trapezoid ceiling cornices and a big bathroom with stand alone shower and a big bathtub!

The food and dining was of outstanding quality though very affordable with big choices and varieties on the menus for every taste.
Very big dining areas and this place will also be Ideal for functions, family reunions, seminars and a conference facility is also available.

Wonderful, friendly and always helpful staff helped made my stay here a memory for life!

This guest house has its own licensed bar with every thing and more you would need in a bar, swimming pool and massive play area for kids and lots of safe parking inside the premises.

We will be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Ronsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I spent a couple of nights at Kronenhoff and wished I could stay longer. The rooms are smart, spacious and comfortable, the food delicious and the atmosphere warm and welcoming. Will definitely be back. Highly recommended for group functions and weddings as well. The "kuiers" under the veranda and at the restaurant area in front, definitely contributed to the whole experience of 'home away from home"!
Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I stayed at Kronenhof for three days, and it provided an excellent jumping off point for the Eastern Cape area while meeting up with family at the same time. My double bedroom was spacious and luxurious, with an ample bathroom - I loved the attention to detail. The facilities include a swimming pool, and lovely restaurant and outdoors area. It provides an excellent choice for large group get-togethers, with enough space for everyone and lots of things to do in the area to cater for everyone's needs. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and professional and the service was great. On recommendation of the host, I visited the local cheetah sanctuary which was a great trip out. Will certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouiseL3059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We recently stayed 3 nights at the beautiful Kronenhoff. The friendliness of the staff, the phenomenal food (best cheesecake!!), and beautiful rooms made our stay incredible. Every morning there was great coffee and a fantastic breakfast which got us ready for the day. The guesthouse is a short drive to the Addo Elephant park which makes it a perfect location to do the touristy thing, but have a nice, quiet and relaxing place to retreat to afterwards. Thanx to Kronenhoff for our wonderful stay

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristineR3815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews