We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprize......,loved it!”
Review of Cathy's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cathy's Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 14 Cradock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Knowing we would be able to rest after more than 600 km , leaving Port Edward, KZN that morning,we just needed a bed....!
We got so much more,a friendly welcome,showing us our ‘room’,one of the outside rooms,named KLIP (Soone/Rock) A interesting mix of Rustic’ and ‘Venitian Romantic’
The bed was very comfortable,there were a kettle and microwave.
A first for us,a large!beautiful tiled shower cubicle with rain coming from the ceiling when you open the taps....well,if you get vocal,you will be “singing in the rain”.
The 150 year old house is so beautiful and inviting inside,with furniture handed down from generation to generation.
The garden is one surprize after the other, a splash-pool and most interesting things,put there by the owner,Annie,an artistic,classy woman, soft spoken and very interesting to have a conversation with.
Go with a open mind,and just enjoy a very special place.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms. Two in the main house,with their doors on the ‘stoep’ and one outside!very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Izelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny B, Owner at Cathy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comment and compliment.
I appreciate it extremely much.
Thank you for your visit.
God bless
Love
Anny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Cradock before going to Mountain Zebra National Park. This guesthouse was perfect for an overnight stay. Comfortable bed and cozy bedroom. The family is welcoming and friendly. Location near grocery stores.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimberley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny B, Owner at Cathy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your possitive comment.
I appreciate it so much.
God bless
Anny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

When we arrived and rang the doorbell some surfer-like dude opened the door a little bit to see who was bothering him. It felt like we arrived at a CIA safehouse rather than a guesthouse. Once inside, the setting was actually quite nice, a bit victorian and artsy. We were then sort-of checked in and shown to our rooms. One of the rooms that was in our confirmation was already occupied by someone else (?) and thus we got one very big room with 2 beds and one room half that size with one small double bed instead. Why the difference? And why not give us what was promised in the first place? A bit later when we were settled and wanted to use the pool (which is microscopically small by the way) there were 2 guys in it smoking cigarettes. No one seemed to care. We did and were very dissapointed in the lack of interest from whoever was in charge. I tried to sit on the single bed in our room but when I did it felt like it was about to collapse so I quickly got up again. The main bed was V-shaped so bad that, when my wife and I tried to sleep in it, we would roll towards eachother continuously. Later on that night my father-in-law spotted a cockroach in his room. (the smaller one) We are experienced travelllers and not easily spooked but the entire experience made us want to leave as soon as possible; we were back in the car by 7am and left without breakfast. The worst thing is that when we posted a shorter version of our experiences on the website that we used to make the reservation, the owner/manager, represented by someone named Annie, simply denies the whole thing in a sarcastic tone of voice. Well Anny, we will NEVER visit you again. And you should always learn from feedback,not be ignorant and deny it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anny B, Owner at Cathy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

I apologize for the unpleasant experience you had.
I will replace the beds and the reception.
Thank you for telling me about it.
God bless
Anny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Cathy's guesthouse has a family management, rooms are big, with dated furniture and no wifi inside the room. But the worst thing about this guest house is that beds are very uncomfortable, and should really to be replaced. They'll turn your sleep into a nightmare.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank guduains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Was cozy and relaxing. Attention to fine details like presentation of the room and simple supplies like 2 ply was a blessing. I recommend it to all travelling people out there. Close to all the attractions of the town and a real feel for old shool property influences on design and structure.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradock hotels
0,4 km away
Albert House B&B
Albert House B&B
#6 of 14 in Cradock
31 reviews
0,3 km away
Annie's Guest House
Annie's Guest House
#10 of 14 in Cradock
15 reviews
0,6 km away
Die Tuishuise
Die Tuishuise
#1 of 14 in Cradock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,6 km away
Mountain View Country Guest House
1,6 km away
Chives Cottage
Chives Cottage
#8 of 12 in Cradock
1 reviews
9,4 km away
Sanctuary Guest & Adventure Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathy's Guesthouse

Address: 106 Cawood Street, Cradock 5880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cradock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cradock
Price Range: R 550 - R 597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathy's guesthouse is a small, cozy family run guesthouse for the traveler who wants to enjoy a home away from home. The owners, Anny and Willem live on site. Anny is an established artist and many of her works decorate the house. The house is approximately 150 years old and decorated accordingly with a feel of the Victorian era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cathy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing