We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Visit!”
Review of True Living

True Living
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Cradock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Deli, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A quaint restaurant and coffee shop situated right on the main route through the beautiful town of Cradock. We pride ourselves on excellent coffee and homemade soul food. A bakery where fresh artisan bread is available as well as a delicatessen section. True Living is also stocked with loads of local produce like knitwear, jams and mohair products.
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Had a delicious breakfast and great coffee in a Karoo-home atmosphere, served by friendly and efficient staff. Thank you!

Thank JacquiP267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louzellombard, Public Relations Manager at True Living, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Jacqui! Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you felt the 'Karoo-love'! Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, The True Living team X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2018

You simply cannot pass through Cradock without stopping in at this restaurant/shop/deli. The delicious piece of crunchie served with our cappuccino was a treat in itself. There is a retail section with quality hand crafted goods, home baked goods and preserves. Karoo fare at its best.
The restaurant serves the most amazing food and thanks to the lovely warm weather, we got to enjoy it outdoors. Highly recommended.

Thank Kerryscholfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louzellombard, Public Relations Manager at True Living, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hi Kerry! Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit in our lovely courtyard. Our vision at True Living is for people from all over SA - and the world - to experience the Karoo hospitality and warmth we are so privileged to be a part of. We hope to see you again soon for cappuccino and crunchies in the Karoo. X The True Living Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped in to this restaurant as it was recommended on TripAdvisor.

It seemed quaint enough on arrival. What we had hoped would be a quick breakfast turned into an hour & 10mins for one mini breakfast, burnt krummelpap, moldy biltong with a roosterbrood & one forgotten slice of toast - which eventually left without - as after asking for it twice, it never arrived.

There is one unisex restroom with a single toilet to service the entire restaurant & smoking allowed in the enclosed courtyard, which is shared with non smokers & families with children.

However, this is sadly the best place in a town with few other choices. Rather don’t stop in Cradock & push through to your next waypoint.

Thank Francesco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louzellombard, Public Relations Manager at True Living, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Francesco. Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear that your experience in True Living was not up to standard. Although every dish on our menu is made from scratch to ensure the best possible Karoo product, hence taking a little more time than the average restaurant, we do not approve of lengthy waiting times of over an hour. We apologise for the wait. About the restrooms; True Living has three unisex bathrooms. One is situated in the courtyard, one in the upper building/bakery section and one in the main building next to the cashier. I understand that your experience in Cradock was disappointing, but we are very proud of our hometown where the restaurants and cafes are all of a very high standard, and all very much representative of the Karoo community. We hope to welcome you back here one day, either in True Living or in one of the many other wonderful eateries. Sincerely, The True Living team and owner, Lani Lombard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place where every detail obviously matters. The food did it justice, had an amazing sandwich, and the fries were just perfect. Would recommend and visit again. Thank you!

Thank Alex_andra137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louzellombard, Public Relations Manager at True Living, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Alex! Wow! Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to see you again (and again and again) in future :) Thank you again. The True Living Team X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast. The place had a fantastic atmosphere. Food and drinks were excellent.

Thank taarhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louzellombard, Public Relations Manager at True Living, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Wow, what a lovely compliment :) Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to see you again in the near future! Sincerely, the True Living Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed True Living also viewed

 
Cradock, Eastern Cape
 
Cradock, Eastern Cape
Cradock, Eastern Cape
 

Been to True Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing