We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
26
24
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
24
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews step back in time dining room dining hall victorian decor old world charm karoo town one night bygone era warm hospitality place to stay fish river century comfort history museum district priority
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

What a stunning place! Unfortunately we only stopped for a drink but did spent quite a bit of time looking around and having a couple of well deserved ice cold drinks. The barman was dressed in an impeccable white shirt and the bar décor is from another time. The décor in the hotel is just absolutely incredible. It's like going back into time. What a great find! Next time I'm going to that part of the world I'm definitely spending at least one night in this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lfrauenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Victoria Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

What a lovely review! Thank you. Next time do stay longer. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

The national roads from Colesberg to Cradock to PE have been resurfaced and widened.Take time to stop and rest.A nostalgic step back in time hotel.Victorian decor with a traditional Karoo dinner. Fresh Karoo farm breakfast.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Victoria Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for your kind comments Garth! We hope you have a wonderful holiday. Until soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Having always stayed in B and B's during the Fish River Canoe marathon we decided to try the Victoria Hotel. It was lovely, full of old fashioned charm. The rooms were clean and spacious and the restaurant is excellent - surely the buffet is the best value for traditional good food in Cradock. A real bonus is 'Zeani's hair, beauty and massage' which is conveniently situated in the hotel garden. Highly recommended - Anine was a godsend after a long day out on the river.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank queenvictoria2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Victoria Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We also have passed your generous comments on to Anine, she is delighted. Warmest regards and until next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This is the best home base, the Victoria Manor hotel (or its appendix, the Tuishuise) for home comfort and security in Cradock. The price is the same for either, all run by the Antrobus family. For families a cottage is a better bet, for lone travellers the hotel. Exquisite orange blossoms was wafting over the parking lot at the back of the hotel while i was there.I had an early morning run down to the Great Fish River, and along its bank (made ugly by all the rubbish dumped there, reflecting badly on the local municipality’s lack of a sense of priority), getting my bearings ("be sure to tell someone if you run this route for safety’s sake", i was told afterwards).

The Schreiner museum is very near the hotel, to the south. So is the Fish river, and the oldest street, Bree street, with beautiful old Victorian houses,where the South African poet Guy Butler and his family lived for centuries. There is also a beautiful old Anglican church, St Peters, with a fascinating graveyard, whose gravestones contain the history of the inhabitants back to the early 19th century…through the Boer War and World War II. Some gravestones have inscriptions that are philosophical poems and some are singularly humorous (such as the one for the 90 year old woman, who has a single word upon it: "SATISFIED".

A small book festival (with book launches) in honour of the celebrated Afrikaans writer Etienne van Heerden (born in the district) took me to this small Karoo village where i had last been in 1998, when the warm water baths and the Schreiner mausoleum on Buffelskop and Schreiner museum had been the reason for a break-away from city life in Port Elizabeth. at that time, and upon a successive visit in 2006, the museum had been closed, but i swam to my heart’s content in the warm water of the large pool outside town. Now i was told the bath had been closed down. But at least the museum was open - third time lucky, and sported an interesting bookshop with Schreineriana, and an excellent and informative museum, run by the brothers Van Wyk. Complete with a booklet (R120) for a self-guided tour of the historic Cradock.

A most enjoyable stay in a fast-fading Karoo town, its central beautiful church totally overtowered by bad architecture and shops, its market place built over by some maniacal planner.

Room tip: Room 11, second storey (quiet, overlooks the town to the south, near fire escape for easy access to parking)
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyaeNyae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Victoria Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review. We so appreciate it. We need to do all we can to restore and keep our little town as beautiful as we can. We cant wait to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Step back in time, and enjoy the warmth of days gone by. I've stayed here on a number of occasions, and I've yet to be disappointed. Quaint, cosy, old and new mixed. A beautiful mix that says "welcome home"! The rooms are stylish, spacious, and functional. The staff are awesome. The food (and service) is to die for. This place is exceptional value for money. I highly doubt you'll be disappointed. Step back from the rat race, and step back in time.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank StephenVivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Victoria Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your lovely review. We so appreciate it. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews