We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery”

Mountain Zebra National Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Cradock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We discovered this NP because we changed our plans in Addo and were happy to have done so, this is a great discovery. The campsite has large spots and because there were less people it felt very private. Clean ablutions too..

The NP itself has beautiful scenery, certainly the drive up into the hills is rewarding.

Anyway this was a great find for us and we gladly will make a detour if necessary again to visit it !

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    61
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway ”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

This was our third visit to this Park.
Although there are a limited number of trails it has never been very crowded and there is always a large number of animals and birds to be seen.
The lodges are aging but are clean and well appointed for a smaller Park facility.
There is construction taking place so some lodges are fairly noisy during the day....also some of their workers used the swimming pool. Also their trucks did not adhere to the speed limits.
The dining room , front desk and room staff were very helpful,
But the same could not be said of the field staff.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an absolute delight, we will be back”
Reviewed 27 January 2017

we arrived in the afternoon in fine rain which made the visit very special and cool for year end. the staff from the gate to reception were quite simply the best SA Park experience in South Africa! the whole park is spotless and well kept and the drive are simply breathtaking. the animals are a bonus, please visit the park you will love it.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank shaunw120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A fantastic return visit”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Having visited for 2 days a few years ago we were determined to return to enjoy this wonderful place at a more leisurely pace. We were not disappointed!

This may not be the biggest National Park but it has to be one of the friendliest. It has a much more intimate feel in the main camp and even with building work for new lodges underway it still is quite small.

There is a good variety of landscapes to explore with well maintained roads across most parts of the Park.

Abundant wildlife to be seen and although there are no giraffe or elephants there are plenty of other things to admire.

We repeated our Cheetah tracking experience and this time after some strenuous walking we were rewarded with being just a few feet away from a female and three cubs. A remarkable privilege to be outside the vehicle walking right amongst such wildlife in the capable hands of our expert ranger guide.

If you like the idea of a more relaxed park with fantastic scenery, great wildlife and decent accommodation in a lovely location then do visit this park.

We are already talking of this as a 'must do' experience in future trips to South Africa.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Instep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Game”
Reviewed 19 January 2017

On the drive in to the campsite we spotted buffalo and kudo and knew we were at the right place. The game viewing is amazing, so many animals in such a small space. We saw everything from ground squirrels to snakes to birds to lion. And walking with the cheetahs is a must. Wouldn't recommend the campsite though.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank GfamilyDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Zebra National Park also viewed

 
Tsitsikamma National Park, Eastern Cape
Waterberg, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Mountain Zebra National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing