We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgent breakfast @ The Victoria Manor”

Albert Room at The Manor House
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Cradock
Cuisines: African
Description: Traditional South African dinner by candlelight
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional South African dinner by candlelight
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The Victoria Manor Hotel was built in 1848, and this grand old hotel also serves as the reception for Die Tuishuise – a road of restored Karoo tuishuise (cottages). We arrived around 08h30 on a Sunday morning in December, en-route to our holiday destination. A breakfast buffet awaited us, and friendly staff to serve us fresh filter coffee. We savoured the platters filled with pastries, cheeses & cold meats, soaked dried fruit, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals. The hot buffet consisted of a delicious spinach quiche with a golden crust, bacon, eggs, beef and pork sausages, toast, mushrooms and tomatoes. What a feast! We loved the perky pink guest toilet, the regal dining halls, the quirky Karoo décor and the friendly, professional staff.

Ideal for those who love service and food from bygone times.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Albert Room at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hello
Thank you for the wonderful detailled comments. So glad you enjoy it. We put alot of effort and love into it.
Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful experience to dine in such an excellent restaurant. The best service, superbly prepared food in a buffet... impossible to improve on!

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank PaulHWessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Albert Room at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hello
Thank you so much for the lovely review Motorbike Family! Please come and eat soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

After an early start, we stopped at The Victoria Manor House to an amazingly friendly welcome. The size of the Manor House is deceptively large. The buffet breakfast was outstanding, with everything being freshly made and delicious. We will be back, probably even to stay. The accommodation also looked amazing.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank KeithBatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Albert Room at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hello
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We hope that you will be back to stay soon! Have a wonderful 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This dining room is the closest thing to stepping into a time machine, and being winged back to 1870, or there abouts. Cosiness and atmosphere makes it a very warm and special place...

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank NyaeNyae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Albert Room at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments! Thats what we are trying to achieve.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The Victoria Manor doesn't only offer dinner in the Albert Room, but a full buffet breakfast in the dining area alongside. We weren't relishing the thought of having a Wimpy breakfast so my husband inquired at reception if it was possible for us to have breakfast here and we were in luck!
What a good experience it was - the ambience was amazing, eating in a graciously proportioned room with high ceilings and beautiful wooden furniture and elegant touches from the last century.
There was a surprisingly wide choice of food on offer - certainly by Cradock standards.
The coffee was the only let- down, but still better than a lot on offer.
Service was attentive and it was blissful not having piped music playing in a continuous loop!
All in all, a pleasurable experience. The restrooms though, were fit for a queen!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jilldutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
348lisa, Owner at Albert Room at The Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi
Thank you so much for all your great and generous comments. We so appreciate it.
Noted re coffee!
Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albert Room at The Manor House also viewed

Cradock, Eastern Cape
Cradock, Eastern Cape
 
Cradock, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Albert Room at The Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing