We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to update ”
Review of Albert House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albert House B&B
Ranked #6 of 14 Cradock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent 1 night in Albert House. We may have been unlucky regarding all the other comments but our room was very cold (no heater or electric blanket) and the bathroom was not convenient at all (we could only run a bath as there was only a tap in the bath). Both were a little old-fashioned and would deserve some renovation.
However, Albert is a very kind host and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cécile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2017

Dear Cécile,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay! However we do have air-conditioning in all of our rooms that you could have used to warm up the room

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

We spent two nights with Charles and Rika. The B and B was very nice. Built during the 1850's, the rooms are comfortable and have all the amenities you need (AC included which was huge when we were there). The garden area is beautiful, and was a wonderful place to spend a couple of hours reading on a warm afternoon. Breakfast was wonderful and prepared fresh by Charles himself. The Albert House itself is a historic treasure. It was a wonderful place to stay outside of the usual SanParks accomodations in Mountain Zebra. Additionally, Mountain Zebra is only about a 10 minute drive from the B and B. The best part about this stay were Charles and Rika themselves. Both kind and inviting, we spent an hour with Charles learning about South African history, and then we spent the next morning during breakfast chatting with both about history, politics, social activism and the world at large. It was lovely and they are wonderfully kind and welcoming people. I am not sure why the earlier reviewer found them so off-putting because we found them to be so wonderful that we plan to look them up the next time we are in SA. You should be aware that most B and B's and Self Catering Cabins in SA had a check in cutoff somewhere between 5-7pm (which is reasonable considering the areas some operate in) but in our experience all were flexible with that as long as you let them know in advance. We arrived around an hour early unannounced because my wife was feeling ill so we had to cancel our plans for the day and Charles was perfectly reasonable and considerate about it.

Room Tip: Close to the access highway to mountain zebra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caryexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Good overnight stop with Charles and his wife making our stay a pleasurable one . Centrally positioned on a quiet back street .Nice room with direct access to garden which had an abundance of fruit trees. Hearty breakfast .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Supa7WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

First question I was asked 'Aren't we late?' That says a lot about the attitude of the owner. There's no need to talk down to a client. I found that question very condescending. He should make it very clear that there's a cutoff arrival time OR ask for an tentetive arrival time.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbulelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 February 2017

Our office hours are from 07:00am till 20:00pm and the check in time for guest are from 14:00pm until 20:00pm as stated on all of our websites.
Please note that you arrived at 21:30pm without arranging that you will be late.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

When booking we were taken by the pictures and setting, but when checking in we were roomed in a out building some distance from the beautiful house and dining room, a disappointment. it rained heavily so whilst this was a blessing for the town it limited the outdoor garden experience (potential braai). So, for dinner it was fast food, or nothing else and very limited at that! however, breakfast in the house was pleasant and the setting lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shaunw120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradock hotels
0,7 km away
Die Tuishuise
Die Tuishuise
#1 of 14 in Cradock
188 reviews
0,4 km away
Cathy's Guesthouse
Cathy's Guesthouse
#8 of 14 in Cradock
5 reviews
0,3 km away
Annie's Guest House
Annie's Guest House
#10 of 14 in Cradock
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12,4 km away
Mountain View Country Guest House
1,8 km away
Chives Cottage
Chives Cottage
#8 of 12 in Cradock
1 reviews
9,4 km away
Sanctuary Guest & Adventure Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert House B&B

Address: 40 Dundas Street, Cradock 5880, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Cradock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cradock
Price Range: R 710 - R 928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert House B&B is an Early-Victorian manor house (ca 1843) set in a large shaded garden. We offer three-star accommodation with private garden entrances and safe off-street parking. The en-suite rooms are equipped with satellite TV, tea and coffee trays, bar fridges, fans (summer), electric blankets and heaters (winter), towels and toiletries. Dinner served by prior arrangement.Overnight Rooms also available at economical rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Albert House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing