We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albert House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Die Tuishuise(Cradock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Die Hoekhuis(Cradock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Oude Pastorie(Cradock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
11
12
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
12
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable bedsfish rivermountain zebradining roomcharlescutoffheatercanoemarathonhousehistory
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We spent two nights with Charles and Rika. The B and B was very nice. Built during the 1850's, the rooms are comfortable and have all the amenities you need (AC included which was huge when we were there). The garden area is beautiful, and was a wonderful place to spend a couple of hours reading on a warm afternoon. Breakfast was wonderful and prepared fresh by Charles himself. The Albert House itself is a historic treasure. It was a wonderful place to stay outside of the usual SanParks accomodations in Mountain Zebra. Additionally, Mountain Zebra is only about a 10 minute drive from the B and B. The best part about this stay were Charles and Rika themselves. Both kind and inviting, we spent an hour with Charles learning about South African history, and then we spent the next morning during breakfast chatting with both about history, politics, social activism and the world at large. It was lovely and they are wonderfully kind and welcoming people. I am not sure why the earlier reviewer found them so off-putting because we found them to be so wonderful that we plan to look them up the next time we are in SA. You should be aware that most B and B's and Self Catering Cabins in SA had a check in cutoff somewhere between 5-7pm (which is reasonable considering the areas some operate in) but in our experience all were flexible with that as long as you let them know in advance. We arrived around an hour early unannounced because my wife was feeling ill so we had to cancel our plans for the day and Charles was perfectly reasonable and considerate about it.

Room Tip: Close to the access highway to mountain zebra
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caryexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Good overnight stop with Charles and his wife making our stay a pleasurable one . Centrally positioned on a quiet back street .Nice room with direct access to garden which had an abundance of fruit trees. Hearty breakfast .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Supa7WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

First question I was asked 'Aren't we late?' That says a lot about the attitude of the owner. There's no need to talk down to a client. I found that question very condescending. He should make it very clear that there's a cutoff arrival time OR ask for an tentetive arrival time.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbulelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 February 2017

Our office hours are from 07:00am till 20:00pm and the check in time for guest are from 14:00pm until 20:00pm as stated on all of our websites.
Please note that you arrived at 21:30pm without arranging that you will be late.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

When booking we were taken by the pictures and setting, but when checking in we were roomed in a out building some distance from the beautiful house and dining room, a disappointment. it rained heavily so whilst this was a blessing for the town it limited the outdoor garden experience (potential braai). So, for dinner it was fast food, or nothing else and very limited at that! however, breakfast in the house was pleasant and the setting lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shaunw120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We were welcomed by Charles after a very long trip. I have never in all my travels met such a helpful host who was willing to go the extra mile for his guests. We were both tired and hungry, Charles made a booking for dinner at one of the local establishments and in the morning organised an appointment for my daughter to see the doctor as she was ill. We were shown to our rooms which were comfortable, clean, warm and cosy. After a good nights sleep we had a delicious breakfast which sustained us till lunch time. Once again a huge thank you to Charles and I highly recommend this establishment to all travellers for a short stop over.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulapD2862YP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews