We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage near the beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax and unwind on the large, cool patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Relax and unwind on the large, cool patio
Large room with air conditioning
large cupboard with a safe for your valuables
The view from the queen size bed
Bright bathroom with walk in shower
large bathroom with lots of driftwood surprises!
Fully equipped kitchen with gas hob and mini oven
Looking towards the beach
Lie on your own sunbed in the tranquil garden
View from the verandah
Laborie Beach
Spectacular sunsets
Another sunset
The beach in front of the house
Laborie Beach, just a few steps from the cottage
Mama Tilly. Strong rum punch and great food!
Looking towards Laborie village
Looking out to sea early in the morning
Laborie village...a hidden gem!
The famous Pitons!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laborie, Laborie Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kathy S
Camano Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage near the beach”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

One of our criteria in booking this place was that it be close to the beach. We were truly just steps away from a beautiful beach, with warm water and a sandy bottom, great for wading or swimming.
The cottage itself is a work of art. Owners Tony and Jan have created a little jewel of a place. Fun features made from actual driftwood were charming touches, and the decor was colorful and fun. A nice little kitchen, great shower in the bathroom, and very comfortable bed made for a pleasant stay. We had everything we needed to do our own cooking, if we wanted to. The covered porch was a great place to sit and watch the local world go by. We were just a few blocks from the center of Laborie, and after our week there, really felt we had experienced all that the village had to offer. Tony and Jan live on the property and had great recommendations for meals in town. They were wonderful hosts, and truly wanted to be sure we were enjoying our stay. A local fisherman delivered a lobster dinner to our door one night, which was delicious, and a unique experience. I can't say enough about this cozy cottage. It was a great place to stay. I agree with the comments made by other reviewers. We loved the owners' dogs, and enjoyed the chickens roaming around. The efficient air-conditioning made for good sleeping at night, and with the windows closed we weren't bothered by the early morning crowing of the roosters.
The local people were friendly, and happy to chat with us. We were lucky to be in town for the rare White Sea Urchin harvest, and observed the whole process right down on the beach near our place. The Jounen Kweyol festival happened in town while we were there too, and it was a fun event.
We'd love to go back, and we wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else but at Tony and Jan's Driftwood by the Sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Near the Village by the Sea”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This carefully crafted beach house is the work of owners Tony & Jan, who live just across the drive in their own beautiful home which also houses Mango Splash (where I also stayed). From back to front, the cottage is a rectangle with the spacious bathroom across the entire width of the back, moving forward is the sleeping area with the large poster bed a bit precariously situated on a raised platform (the bed is grand but a little oversized for the space, just watch your step), next is a comfortable seating and dressing area with a curtain, a regular work of art which cozies up the space when pulled shut and when pushed aside leads though the French doors to the patio/porch. The premier feature for me was this wrap around covered porch with dining table and hammock chair swing. As you are likely well aware, this is a tropical climate, temperatures rarely leaving the 80"s, perfect weather for outdoor dining day or night. An unusual feature was the fact that the small kitchen was attached to the outside of the building at the end of the porch and was accessible only by going outside (remember however it is always warm!). There is a small pass-thru window which works fine if you are traveling in pairs. I however was not. It all worked out fine however, and I liked the idea that all cooking aromas were left outside. The beach house is well appointed with plenty of towels, hot water, kitchen ware, soft seating and air conditioning.

The Driftwood and Mango Splash are located right on the sandy beach of the Caribbean's warm beautiful waters. It is a public area with people walking by regularly to and from Rudy Johns Beach and/or to and from work. A few people and kids swim in the same area but it was never crowded. The location is also near the football field (which is soccer to those of us who have misnamed football!) and right beside a grove of coconut palms. This grove frequently fills up with locals either fishing, watching a game or just hanging out...which also includes music. I never noticed it lasting much beyond sunset. The 6 am & 6 pm sunrise and sunset is one of the determining factors in the daily lives of St. Lucians. They are up before dawn and retire early.

The center of the village was a short walk, which I made daily, through the grove, across the football field and down a narrow paved street (which was also well lit in the evenings and I felt entirely safe walking alone). Laborie is not an upscale or touristy destination. It is a fishing village. There are several restaurants with delicious fish, salads and ice cold Piton beer; a couple of small groceries and a bakery; places to purchase food stuffs, alcohol and top off your cell phone; a Saturday Market in the Square and bus service to all points beyond. It is a very comfortable and low key place for a lovely vacation. Tony and Jan were excellent hosts, introducing me to several of their friends, inviting me, in fact taking me, to Soufriere to Zappa's and a chance Sunday Brunch at Fond Doux Plantation.

The only thing which caught me off guard here were the number of dogs. I stayed in the village atop Marigot Bay last March and the dogs there were totally disinterested in passers-by. Here they are generally friendly and clamoring for attention, due to the extreme love and care given by Tony and Jan to their own dogs plus any others which live nearby. Since I am not a 'dog person', I was not thrilled with them running up to me wanted to be petted. I don't like to touch animals that I don't know, it's a fact. I asked Tony to mention the dogs in his description of his places and he has added a little more info. He also asked me if I had known about the dogs would I have opted not to stay there. It worries me that I might have...and would have missed a most perfect place to stay, the warm sea only steps away and the porch a very lovely and private place to eat, and write and drink wine and enjoy myself with them and several other local friends. So my advice is...do not be wary of the dogs, just know they are there, and book this place ...if in fact you can get a reservation. It looks to me like I'll have to book a year in advance!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to the sea
Liked least: friendliness of dogs
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZBrack
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Exceptional charm, beauty and hospitality in Laborie”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

After our two nights at the Driftwood cottage, we can see why our hosts decided to pick up and move to Laborie! The view and beach access from their property is absolutely incredible, the people of Laborie so friendly, and the weather is fantastic. Their guesthouse is lovely, and very well appointed. The large windows and frosted French doors afford an opportunity to let light and air into the room, and a good strong fan is great for keeping air flowing. There is a lovely covered patio, my favorite place to crash with a cup of coffee and a great book. As with most of the islands there are roosters about, and you will certainly hear them; we stopped noticing after about an hour, no big deal. The owners (Jan and Tony) are active in animal rescue (a family after my own heart!), and their sweet dogs will happily keep you company on the patio or beach when they aren't following their parents around the property. Tony was extremely helpful, ever willing to give us a lift to Vieux Fort, provide insight on Saint Lucia, or point us to the best spot for a drink or bite to eat. Driftwood had all the comforts of home (if home were in paradise, that is). We were treated not as guests, but as friends. Coming home was such a sad parting.

Laborie is a very working class town; don't expect the resort treatment here. The streets are packed in the evenings, but we never felt unsafe (except for the possibility of tripping into a drainage ditch). Bring EC; USD is accepted everywhere, but you will almost certainly be charged more. Additionally, if you're staying over a weekend it may be necessary to go to Vieux Fort for an ATM. Plan ahead: taxis are the only truly expensive thing in Saint Lucia, to be avoided where possible. Not that most things are desperately expensive; prices generally trend a little cheaper than you'd likely pay at home. For food, you must go to Mama Tilly and let her set you up. She is very much a mama; she'll feed you as though you look like you're starving, then sit down to have a yarn about whatever's on her mind. We loved her, and ate at her table for every meal.

We so loved our stay in Laborie, and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were seconds from the beach.
Liked least: We have absolutely no complaints.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“The best part of our trip to St Lucia”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our stay in Driftwood was wonderful. Though we went on to stay in Rodney Bay and Marigot Beach, Laborie ended up being the best part of our trip to St Lucia, thanks in no small part to Jan and Tony's hospitality. The effusive praise that can be found in these reviews is well deserved. They were very welcoming and generous with their time and attention, not to mention accommodating our change of plans. We showed up in St-Lucia with a vague "To Do" list, and Tony and Jan graciously took care of us. We had a lovely time. Laborie is a fishing village 15-20 minutes away from Vieux Fort. The locals are friendly, the food is inexpensive. It's on the South coast, so the waters aren't quite as calm as on the West coast, but the water is warm and there are only a handful of tourists on the beach. Many times we walked to the beach and found it deserted. The beach gets a bit dirty when you walk east towards the town center, but it's perfect when you walk west. Tony arranged dinner for us at Mama Tilly's twice. Both times, the full meal for 2 people (with grilled meat/fish, many salads and side dishes, and desert) including 3-4 beers and 2-3 rums came out to 90$EC (33$ US) excluding tip. You might find similar prices in public markets and small food stalls elsewhere on the island, but restaurants in Rodney Bay and Marigot Bay are 3 or 4 times the price. Don't forget to try the bakes - they cost 30 cents US and they're delicious. When we stayed in Driftwood, it was basically new. It's a wonderful small cottage with a raised bed, small desk, AC and a separate kitchen. It's clean and well equipped. It's not directly on the beach, but this ended up being a non-issue, as the beach is barely 20 meters away. There's a porch where we ate breakfast in the morning. It's perfect for a couple. You must love (or at least tolerate) dogs. Jan and Tony's friendly dogs lounge on the cottage porch.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickFrank...
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laid Back Caribbean Village”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 2 weeks, actually stayed at the Driftwood, the cute little house that is adjoining Mango Splash. Very pleasant quiet stay and felt that we were in a Caribbean village, not a tourist resort. Nice quiet beach and friendly relations with the locals. Got to watch the local soccer and cricket matches while we were there and enjoy the local cuisine.Jan made a car available for us to get out and see the sights and see them we did. Lovely way to enjoy the island. Looking forward to a return visit sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach, ease of getting around, food, laid back setting, the fact that it was not a resort or hotel
Liked least: As always when there are economic disarities with the local population, there are those who are looking to take advantage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing