We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“To bathe under the stars or in the warmth of the...”
other traveller has booked this property
Serene master suite with aircon; TV/DVD; private tatami mat retreat & courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Serene master suite with aircon; TV/DVD; private tatami mat retreat & courtyard garden
New master bedroom with platform double bed and luxury futon matress Private tatami mat retreat in authentic Japanese style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Serene master suite with aircon; TV/DVD; private tatami mat retreat & courtyard garden
New master bedroom with platform double bed and luxury futon matress
Private tatami mat retreat in authentic Japanese style
Front verandah of Chalet Hotaru with seating & gas BBQ
Japanese 'koto' zither and 'tokonoma' alcove with 'kakajiku' hanging scroll
Stairs to loft bedroom
Upstairs loft bedroom with QS platform bed, tatami mat flooring * roof windows
Authentic Japanese 'yukata' and 'obi' to wear during your stay.
Japanese 'zaisu' ( legless chairs ) and 'zabuton' (pillows)
View to downstairs living space from loft bedroom
Time for tea! ( Japanese 'Genmaicha' - tea, provided for guests )
Japanese 'o-sake', available for purchase on-site!
'O-furo' ...Luxurious bathroom with floor to ceiling tiling and Japanese hinoki stool and basin.
Japanese 'noren' - dividing curtain
View of the kitchenette/dining area
Gorgeous, new outdoor bath with capacity to seat 2 adults comfortably
The Mily Way over the chalet. Photo courtesy of previous chalet guest.
Hamish and Wonkey Donkey
The ' Al-packer' family! Please enjoy feeding our furry menagerie.
Our friendly geese with attitude, 
 ' Frederik and Kirk'
Tweed Regional Gallery/Margaret Olley Art Centre, a 10 minute drive from the chalet.
View of Mt Warning from Terragon, just a few minutes from Uki village.
Cram's Farm Recreation Area...the Tweed's absolute ' hidden treasure'. A must-visit place and free!
Chalet Hotaru, Mt Warning....sor a little taste of Japan in the Northern Rivers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Uki, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TeeroyWal...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“To bathe under the stars or in the warmth of the Chalet?”
Reviewed 16 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautifully presented, very clean and comfortable place to stay for a few nights in the mountains. The toughest decisons we had over the 2 night stay was whether to sleep upstairs in the loft (which was warm during the cooler months) or downstairs and to bathe outside or inside... The weekend away just went too fast and wish we had some time to relax out in the courtyard to soak up the sun and read through some of the many Japanese books (in English) that Anita provides. Conveniently located close to Cafes of Uki & Mount Warning and restaurants of Murrwillumbah for those that don't wish to cook. Thank you to Anita and Andrew for being wonderful hosts who ensure your privacy but more than willing to answer any questions during the stay. Our little guy was excited each day to get up and look for the various animals in front of the Chalet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Dear Troy and Mika, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us and those lovely kind words. It is much appreciated. We are extremely happy that your family has enjoyed your stay at Chalet Hotaru, and we hope to see you back here again one day.
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca C
1 review
“Charming and peaceful mountain chalet”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Chalet Hotaru is a beautiful, peaceful mountain chalet, set near-by the quaint village of Uki. We stayed during winter, and despite the cool weather, the chalet was cosy and welcoming. The many beautiful spaces, such as the amazing loft bedroom and luxurious bathroom, made our time there inspiring and interesting. There are two sleeping spaces to choose from, several seating areas, both inside and outside- and all with tasteful Japanese style and personal touches from the wonderful host, Anita.
Anita provided amazing customer service right from the time of booking.
The local area is just beautiful as well. We, by chance, stayed the same weekend that the Uki Saturday farmers markets, and Sunday Uki Buttery Bazaar market were on- both days were fun and well-worth attending.
We plan to visit again and are already dreaming of our next stay at Chalet Hotaru!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2018
Dear Rebecca and family,
thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave a review and for such lovely feedback too. It is very much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed the space at Chalet Hotaru, and we are very much looking forward to your return one day in the future.
Warmest regards,
Anita and Andrew Williams :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessboy1
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We are already planning our next stay at Chalet Hotaru, we are absolutely addicted!”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Anita’s Chalet twice now and it certainly will not be our last. The time and effort that is put in to this tranquil Japanese styled chalet is just incredible. The chalet itself is clean and private equipped with everything you could imagine from karaoke, dvds, beautiful books to a rice cooker and Japanese loose leaf green tea. The linen and towels provided are all so fresh. There is an outdoor bath now at the chalet which is absolute bliss looking up into the country night sky or if the weather isn’t to flash there is just as blissful inside bath to make use of. Anita goes above and beyond for her guests, giving them countless options to feel comfortable and relaxed. She puts together a breakfast hamper with everything you could want for breakfast including many condiments. You can even help feed her array of farm animals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda S
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“A blissful B&B”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

48 hours in Dum Dum was absolute bliss. Chalet Hotaru is highly recommended - comfy bed, amazing bath, lovely hosts, generous provisions, a menagerie of farm animals and fireflies visible literally from the doorstep. Bring your camera and not much else ! Close to beautiful bushwalking tracks, Uki and pretty Cram's Farm reserve. Put it on your to-do list!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csooshy
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday experience”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Hi! I have just spent 10 blissful days over Christmas and New Year at the Hotaru Chalet. My initial brief was a desire to be immersed in nature and peace and quiet. I got much more value than that!

For starters, the chalet is a real hoot! Tastefully styled with original Japanese details such as tatami mats, beautiful ceramic bowls, lanterns and a selection of Japanese goodies, including teas, sake and glorious bath salts to soak in while looking onto the forest. As for me I especially loved my Japanese robe and slippers that are provided by Anita for the comfort of her guests.

I can easily say that value extends beyond having a nice place to stay. Anita and Andrew are attentive and very caring so be prepared to feel welcomed at the Chalet by everyone, including the farm animals! Anita will introduce you to an assorted collection of characters, such as Raymond the Rooster and Bruce the household ram!

Uki, where the "mountains meets the sky", promises to immerse you in the gentle magic of the native rain forest, staying at the Chalet introduces you to the exceptional welcome of very caring hosts. It's an experience you will remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Dear Shirley, we very much appreciate you taking the time to review our accommodation and thank you for your very kind words. It is wonderful that we have been able to meet all of your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay at Chalet Hotaru.

It was a real pleasure to host you, and we would love to welcome you back here another time.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Chalet Hotaru, Mt Warning.

Warm regards,

Anita & Andrew :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing