We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little get away”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cabin at North Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub
Lounge area
The shower room
Daytime view from the hot tub
Sleeping area
Lounge area
Lounge area with dvd player and a selection of dvds
Kitchen area with 2 burner hob, microwave, toaster & fridge freezer
Sitting area to admire the view and watch the wildlife from the veranda
Panoramic photo of the view from the veranda in winter
Enjoying a quiet paddle on the pond below the cabin
The view across the fields from the veranda
A wildlife haven including deer, kingfishers and even the occasional otter!
A morning visitor
The view of the Deer visiting the pond from the Cabin
unexpected guests!
Fishing the Border Esk, famous for both salmon & sea trout
The Border Esk is only 5 minutes walk away & we can arrange permits for guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little get away ”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This cabin is the perfect sanctuary to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, it's a perfect base to unwind. It's location is great if you want to go out and about to explore but also perfect if you just want to stay in and relax. The cabin is spotlessly clean and has everything in it that you would need for a break away even down to a great supply of DVDs. The hot tub is in an amazing spot, very private, and the view makes it even more special, you can sit in it and relax and enjoy watching the birds, and the shooting stars on a clear night. I can not recommend this cabin enough and I will most certainly be back again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca M
1 review
“Most relaxing weekend of our lives so far!”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We cannot recommend this place enough. Set just over the Scottish border, this cabin is faultless. When we arrived, Stuart greeted us and spent a short time going over a few details about the cabin etc. Then we were left to our own devices for the whole weekend with no interruption (Stuart was only a text away had we needed anything).

With regards to the surrounding area, it has everything you could need. Carlisle is a short car journey away where you'll find an Asda and a retail park. However, we decided to explore the smaller villages this area has to offer.
We took a trip to Newcastleton which is like something out of a story book - just one shop, one police station, one fire station etc. We had a lovely walk and found a makeshift tree swing which we enjoyed like a couple of kids!
Gretna Green is also not far in the car, we took a trip there, got a few bits from the massive gift shop and then visited the Courtship Maze which was a lot of fun!
If you don't have a car, Stuart mentioned there are buses which run along the main road.

The cabin itself is so beautiful and well put together - the bed is very comfortable and the fire keeps you toasty all evening. The kitchen has everything you could need to cook anything from a full English or even a Spag Bol like we did! The little dining table for two looks out through a charming window onto a patio area (which Stuart has made so lovely) and it makes for a nice romantic meal - adding in the bottle of fizz which Stuart and his wife so kindly gifted to us upon arrival!

The view from the cabin is breathtaking - with a lake and trees beyond and sprinkled with various wildlife, as well as some small birds who even paid several visits to the front of the cabin to nip at the bird food.

Without the hot tub, this cabin would still be a perfect relaxing weekend away but the hot tub the main reason we are returning (just booked again for November). A couple of steps from your door, under the terrace and looking out onto the lake, the hot tub sits in the perfect position to look at the stars come nightfall. I've never seen stars so bright and plentiful. In the warmth of the hot tub, with the bubbles dancing around your shoulders, sipping bubbly and watching the sun go down - I can't think of a better way to spend a weekend. My boyfriend and I both agreed that we have never been more relaxed in our lives. Perfect weekend!


Thanks so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Can't think!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliwoo197...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazingly relaxing place!”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved our short break at north lodge. The owners are fantastic and so welcoming, happy to advise on the beat places to eat out and places to visit. Relaxing in the hot tub in an evening really does take some beating! Loved it so much we have already booked our return visit x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren G
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Comfortable.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The "Cabin" is a quiet getaway for a couple, clean and tidy and well appointed in a very picturesque location. It's location is great for exploring the lovely surrounding area. Stuart the owner is a really nice guy and has extensive local knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. The hot tub is great made even better by its location, wildlife is in abundance but get up early to see the deer. We enjoyed it immensely, Thanks Stuart.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing