We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful retreat for a gathering of friends...”
other travellers have booked this property
Middleholms with a large garden, set in farmland and open moorland.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Middleholms with a large garden, set in farmland and open moorland.
Middleholms from the gate to the property. The front of the house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Middleholms with a large garden, set in farmland and open moorland.
Middleholms from the gate to the property.
The front of the house.
Farmhouse kitchen with electric Aga and granite worktops.
Well equipped kitchen with plenty of storage and worktop space.
Four oven electric Aga - its not difficult if you haven't used one before.
Snug breakfast area with table and bench seating within the large kitchen.
Additional kitchen with Miele electric hob and oven, plus utility area.
Dining table for 10 in the conservatory next to the kitchen.
Conservatory with large oak dining table for 10 and a very comfy sofa.
Living room with enormous L-shaped sofa and original contemporary artworks.
Living room with wood burning stove, comfy seating and views.
The wood burning stove (there's one in the barn too) fuelled by a supply of wood in the wood byre.
Study with books, jigsaw puzzles and games, a desk and Wifi hub.
Sofa and desk in the study.
Spacious bedroom with zip and link bed.
Large bedroom with king size bed, French doors and walk-in wardrobe.
Double bedroom with comfy king size oak bed.
Plenty of space in the wardrobes, books and a desk for writing that novel.
Twin room with single beds and a view across the valley.
Single beds in twin room - a room with a view.
One of two spacious bathrooms with bath and shower cubicle.
Bathroom with bath and shower (and a lovely view).
The view from one of the single rooms.
Barn with table tennis and TV area with wood burning stove.
The white barn - games room.
The white barn in the large garden
Courtyard area with garden furniture - perfect for breakfast in the sun.
Lunch outside - a second large garden dining table has stunning views.
The house from the lawn.
View of the house from the terrace, with Whita Hill in the background.
The track through fields to Middleholms.
Part of the garden in May.
A view of the house and the Esk Valley from the top field.
Rainbow View from Middleholms garden.
View from Warbla, a short hike from Middleholms.
View of Langholm, the 'Muckle Toon' from the hill beyond Middleholms.
A view of the River Esk from Skippers Bridge, on the way into Langholm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie W
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful retreat for a gathering of friends or family”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We have ben returning to Middleholms for the last several years, it is a beautiful, warm and friendly place in a glorious setting with great walks nearby.Nearby Langholm is charming simplicity. We love it and it embraces us every time we visit.Dumfries and Galloway is a cracking part of Scotland too. The property is comfortable with very comfy beds and no worries for dogs running around the place ( providing they are well behaved and don't bother with sheep!). We will keep on going back ..............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quality of accommodation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a wonderful few days at Middleholms staying with a extended group of friends and family 7-60+ years. We all loved it. House spacious and well equipped but homely and very comfortable. A fantastically quiet spot with great views. A pretty garden for games and lounging- a 10 minute walk for river swimming. Nearby Langholm provided all our pub and food needs. Would recommend a trip to Pelosi's for great ice cream. One of our best trips to Scotland yet.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackTick...
Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome stay.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family of five had a wonderful week at Middleholms and we all hated to leave. Everything was first class and a real Scottish experience for a family from Canada. Secluded enough to be peacefull but close enough to Langholm/Carlisle to shop and enjoy those two towns.
We were greeted by a very helpful caretaker who couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. We highly recommend a stay at this great house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
l_cook400
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic country retreat”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed with family friends here for a few nights, they were staying for longer. The house is situated in a lovely country location with amazing views, yet only two miles from the local town of Langholm which has sufficient small shops and eateries to fulfil your needs for food whether you choose to eat in or out. The Douglas hotel is particularly good for an evening meal but advisable to book if eating at the weekend.
The house is large enough for ten people to stay in comfort with sufficient room that you don't feel as if you are living on top of each other. It is well equipped with everything you would need for cooking from the essential crockery to jelly moulds! The dishwasher made life easy, essential when staying with a large crowd. Cooking can be done on an AGA or an electric cooker. When I stayed the weather was fantastic and we spent most of the time outside,eating alfresco using the patio table and chairs. For winter stays there is a log burning stove.
There is however plenty to do if the weather is not so great with a large flat screen TV, table tennis table in the outside barn and an array of board games and jigsaws.
The bedrooms are adequately equipped with bed linen, towels etc and the beds are very comfortable.
If you want a peaceful break in comfort with friends or family I would recommend this as an ideal place to stay.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
13alex123
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home in Middleholms”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our extended family had a very happy week in this lovely spot. We were lucky with the weather so spent most of the time in the garden, eating al fresco, reading, watching wild-life (butterflies, red squirrels, pheasants and barn owls to name a few) and on long rambles in the surrounding area. Some of us even swam in the river! The house was very welcoming to come home to with lots of space to relax. We enjoyed cooking in the well equipped kitchen and were pleased to have an electric hob & oven as an alternative to the Aga. The table tennis tournaments were also a highlight. David the caretaker met us when we arrived and showed us around, and couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We didn't have long enough there.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing