We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely relaxing family weekend.”
other travellers have booked this property
Study Farm Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Bunk beds - entrance on ground floor
Family bathroom - entrance on ground floor
View from bottom of stairs through to dining room
Lounge - first floor
Double bedroom with ensuite - first floor
Ensuite shower room - first floor
Twin room - first floor
Twin room - first floor - beds can be put together to act as a double
Dining room - first floor
Dining room  and part of kitchen- first floor
Part of Kitchen - first floor
Twin room - ground floor - below dining room
Double bedroom- ground floor - below dining room
Family Bathroom - below dining room
View from kitchen to outside area
Bottom of Study Drive, opposite Fountain Tea Rooms
View of car park from Study Drive
Private outdoor seating area with furniture and bbq
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
View from kitchen to outdoor area
Outdoor seating area
Outdoor seating area
Christmas at Study Farm
Christmas at Study Farm
The original Study Manor House
Study Farm
View over Bonsall in Winter
The Cross & Kings Head Pub
Well Dressing - Carnival starts last Saturday of July
Fireworks that end Bonsall Carnival week - first Friday in August
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tifosidav...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing family weekend.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from Study Barn and could not have had a better time in a lovely spacious well appointed accommodation.
We were welcomed on Thursday evening by Jayne who took us round and showed us where everything was, including the hot tub which see had arranged for us.

First impression was of a well looked after and very spacious place which had enough space for our group of 6 adults and 4 kids, the separated bedrooms were ideal as each family unit had their own space and bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped and it was nice to be able to sit down for dinner together either in the dining area or in the garden if the weather was suitable. The kids loved being able to explore the house and enjoyed their time together and liked the park/field at the end of the road.
The location is fantastic as it gives you the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere yet you are close enough to main roads so can easily get to lots of places to go and visit.
I would highly recommend this rental to anyone wanting a spacious quiet getaway while still being able to do things out and about. It was just what we were hoping for. Thanks Jayne for a lovely few days.
Dave, Danielle and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for your review. It was great to meet you and your lovely family. I'm so glad you all had a good time and I'm sure the nice weather and the hot tub added to your experience. The park at the bottom of the drive is also very handy for keeping the kids amused. Thanks again.
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B
1 review
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We went last weekend16thjune for a famly 65th party weekend , had a great time in the barn ,bonus for us was great weather, a lovely homely place to stay in, could have done with a bigger fridge for the food and the beer, , Jayne you are a nice host nothing is to much trouble for you to answer any question I asked you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thanks for staying with us for your family celebration Judith. I'm so glad you could all enjoy the outdoor space and even managed to do some sunbathing in the glorious weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing weekend at study farm barn”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We visited study farm barn for my Mums 70th and had an amazing time, such beautiful yet incredibly comfortable surroundings. A huge table for 12 in the kitchen diner was brilliant for celebrations and we were lucky enough to have good weather to sit out in the lovely garden too. A nearby football pitch on the village green meant all 3 generations had loads of fun with family footy! We visited Hartington and walked to Matlock bath and both were great days out. I would definitely recommend for a group of around 12. The owner Jayne was very helpful and met us and showed us around. We'll definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thanks for your great review. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your weekend. I know your mum enjoyed the cows watching her open her birthday pressies!! We would love to welcome you back to Study Farm. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic family weekend”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great place for a family reunion, centrally located for us to travel from different parts of the country and suitable all three generations .
We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the facilities from the sparkling glasswear in the kitchen to the facilities in the bathrooms .
The barn has great layout giving each of our three family groups their own sleeping / bathroom area .
The communal dining and living-room areas are a great size , large enough for our entire group to sit comfortably.
We were lucky to have great weather and took advantage , sitting in the garden enjoying the sun . Bonsell is a great villiage with two good pubs and a tea room , as well as a small deli for supplies . Something for all generations , the boys had a kick around on the village football pitch , while a couple of us visited the Cascade garden nursery .
Janyne is very helpful , and provides a file with lots of local information and walking options . My fit 77 year old mum enjoyed the walk into Matlock Bath with the rest of the family . Only wish we could have stayed longer , with lots to explore in the area we hope to return next year .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thanks for your great review Debbie. I'm so glad the whole family enjoyed their stay and that you had great weather to enable you to use the garden area. The village and surrounding area are well equipped to keep the whole family busy and we look forward to welcoming you all back so you can fit in the things you missed this time around. Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review Lynn. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you all back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing