We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to go back to Old Phil's Barn!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Phil's Barn

Old phils barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old phils barn
View from barn Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Old phils barn
View from barn
Living area
kitchen of open plan kitchen sitting area
bedroom 1
bedroom 1 with en suite
bedroom 2 with en suite
kitchen
1st floor kitchen and living area with patio attachwd
Local view
Ballyliffin golf club
phils barn
view from barn
Nick Faldo playing at ballyliffin
Interior from patio
Front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clonmany, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
appledump...
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back to Old Phil's Barn!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just returned from a week at Old Phil's Barn, and we had the most relaxing time ever. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, as are the views. Cottage amenities are second to none and the rental price was very reasonable. We felt at home immediately and Ann the owner was so lovely and friendly; we really appreciated the welcome pack of food too; a really thoughtful touch. We had our Boxer dog with us for his first holiday, and he loved it too. I'm usually a 'have to do stuff' holiday person, but I finally got the point of total relaxation! Already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of accommodation, pet friendly
Liked least: WiFi would be good to check out things to do in local area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72RachelG
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I really couldn't recommend highly Old Phil's Barn highly enough and I'm actually worried about too many people finding out about it! The most beautiful, peaceful spot, we walked to Tullagh Bay every day and sat on the decking most evenings too. I really can't do justice to the scenery and the barn itself is perfectly equipped, Ann and Gerard really have thought of everything. Spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated we felt so at home here and are dying to get back soon. I'd really recommend Tullagh Bay Equestrian Centre too if that's your thing, we had a gorgeous ride along the beach. Thanks for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathyW195...
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful in Every Way”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a wonderful week in this lovely cottage, it was everything and more than we expected. Brilliant accommodation in a lovely remote and beautiful setting. The cottage is furnished with everything you need to make your stay superb and the views are stupendous.
We took our dog with us and she loved her holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeeGee43
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“If U like luxury but in an area unspoiled by commercialism - this is the place for U!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My Partner and I shared a week at Old Phil's Barn with another couple. The place was exactly as the pics in the advert - even better, as pics cannot capture the wild beauty of the area around Dunaff Head. Two en-suite bedrooms downstairs, kitchen and sitting area upstairs with double doors leading to a balcony. Kitchen is v well equipped, even has a separate freezer while sitting area has views across Lough Swilly to the Knockalla Mounains. Very comfortable, thanks to both OFCH and a wood pellet fired stove. There is a small shop within one km and villages of Clonmany, Ballyliffin are nearby while the small town of Carndonagh is only abt 12km away. We enjoyed meals prepared from local produce - great meat from a butcher in Malin and fresh fish and crustaceans from a local fish merchant. We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Old Phil's Barn lived up to our expectations.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea-au...
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing