We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hlosi Game Lodge(Amakhala Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$650
US$501
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quatermains 1920s Safari Camp(Amakhala Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Woodbury Lodge(Amakhala Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bukela Game Lodge(Amakhala Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amakhala Safari Lodge(Amakhala Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carnarvon Dale(Amakhala Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Woodbury Tented Camp(Amakhala Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
139
33
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
33
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegame reservebefore dinnergame driveswonderful storiesold homesteadlovely colonialantique furnitureuncle billsseparate dining roomsmall pubfamily historyhigh teareal characterknowledgeable rangersuperb hospitalitylarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We had to fly in for a meeting at Shamwari and on short notice decided to go the evening before and avoid the airport rush the next day.

The only place which could accommodate us at short notice was Leeuwenbosch so off we went.

We arrived and I was really not impressed. Derelict and worn down but you do find yourself thinking this is close to being old world farmhouse and quaint.

We were informed that drinks were in the pub at 19:00 and dinner strictly at 20:00. We arrived to a small basement pub which is really authentic. Met by the owner Bill who introduces himself and all the other guest you are promptly served with your drink of choice and pulled into lively animated conversation.

In short it turned out to be one of the most pleasant relaxed evenings I have had in a long time. What a jol. We met such interesting travelers from all over the world and we really enjoyed our evening. The kicker though is if you remove the enormously animated Bill and the guests the evening would have been below average and not nearly as enjoyable. So what is the value proposition:
A. The fact that you get dinner, bed and breakfast with all drinks included as well as a game drive makes this great value for money.
B. Rooms are neat and decent but if you are not there for the game drive you will be disappointed with the price.

I would do it again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcosteyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi there, thank you for the balanced. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience, the little pub is a wonderful place to get to know our guests, and Bill really is such a wonderful story-teller. . Thank you for your feedback, it has shown us the areas in which we can still make improvements in order to hit top marks. We wish you all the best and hope you'll visit again! Warm wishes, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Our stay at Leeuwenbosch Country House was excellent. Beautiful rooms, very nice people and amazing drives through the game reserve. Our ranger told us a lot about the animals and their environment and it was quite impressive and touching to see the wild animals so close, in their own surroundings. The bar was also a rather special experience: we'd love to meet the other guests and hear the stories about the rhino and the game reserve from Bill. The food was excellent and the garden and veranda a lovely place to relax. Thanks for your great hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 96ariane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write such a great review!

We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you had a really great game drive during your stay as well. It makes all the difference hearing such positive feedback from our guests and we'll be sure to pass on the lovely compliments to the team. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
The Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We booked one night at Leeuwenbosch but as soon as we arrived we wish we booked much MUCH longer!

From when we arrived the staff were all incredibly welcoming and made us feel completely at home and relaxed. The rooms and decor are extremely classy and offer a different option to the normal
Safari lodges/camps. We felt like we had been transported back in time and we absolutely loved it.

We were greeted with flowers on our bed and a personal welcome note which adds a very special personal touch that not all managers would think of doing!

Steve and Kerry run a smooth operation and we can only compliment the good work they're doing at Leeuwenbosch. We were lucky enough to have a quick chat with them and some of the Fowlds family, this really made us feel at home and welcomed.

Our guide was always on time, had good knowledge and was always eager to please, he went above and beyond and managed to find us a mother cheetah and her cubs on our early morning game drive.

Overall I'd highly recommend Leeuwenbosch Country House if you're ever passing or in the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LewisBuckner89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hi Lewis, what a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time here and were made to feel so welcome. It's been such a pleasure and honour to open our family home to visitors from all over the world. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful team here at Leeuwenbosch and will certainly pass on the compliments to them. We hope to see you again in the future. All the best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Had an amazing time with Steve.The safari drive and sundowners where too perfect.

Amazing dinner and attentive service.

The room was nice and warm.The game was abundant in the reserve, saw cheetahs, elephants etc

Room Tip: All rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write such a great review!

We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you had really great sightings during your stay as well. It makes all the difference hearing such positive feedback from our guests and we'll be sure to pass on the lovely compliments to Steve and our team. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
The Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This was our first experience of South African hospitality and what a start! Four of us arrived here on day one of our 3 week trip to South Africa, stayed for 2 nights, and wished it was longer. A lovely welcome, beautiful rooms, excellent food and superb hospitality from Rose and Bill (love the pub!), Kerry and Steve, Grant, in fact all the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The package we booked included everything - breakfast, beautiful afternoon tea, dinner, drinks - lots of them!! And the game drives were excellent - early starts but so worth it as we were lucky enough to see rhinos, elephants, cheetahs, zebras, wildebeest, in fact everything apart from lions. Oubuet our ranger suggested an even earlier start on our last morning in the hope that we could catch the lions before the sun came up - and we did! Absolutely amazing! I cannot recommend this place highly enough, thank you so much to everyone at Leeuwenbosch for a wonderful start to our South African adventure x

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi Carole, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We loved reading your experience of Leeuwenbosch and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team. Ouboet is one of the oldest rangers in the reserve and guests find themselves very fortunate to have gone on a game drive with him, as he shares is wealth of knowledge and passion for the area. We hope to welcome you again to Leeuwenbosch! Wishing you all the best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews