We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
143
33
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
33
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house game reserve before dinner game drives wonderful stories lovely colonial antique furniture uncle bills separate dining room small pub family history high tea real character knowledgeable ranger superb hospitality large bathroom old homestead
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We received a very warm welcome to this lovely colonial-style house. Our room was huge with sitting area and large bathroom. Overall was beautifully maintained. All the staff were friendly & helpful & our ranger was very knowledgeable, asking what we would like to go & look for. Food was nice but nothing very special & a little limited for vegetarians. Wildlife amazing - saw a female cheetah suffocate an impala & then call her 4 cubs to join her, plus saw lions, elephant, zebra, giraffe & masses more.Enjoyed the very relaxed atmosphere & homely feel - the owners came to say hello each evening & chatted to us, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleybearYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi there, thank you so much for the lovely review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and sounds like your game drives were very successful and exciting. Our Country House accommodation is situated in an historic family home which gives us the advantage of a very homely atmosphere. Thank you for choosing Leeuwenbosch for your safari experience and we hope you'll decided to visit again! All the very best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The property is in need of an upgrade and the evening meal was not as good as we would have like, however the safari was amazing and the staff were great. We saw a great deal of animals and the river cruise was unexpected but great.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N7704MJjulieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi there, thank you for the balanced. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your safari experience, the river cruise is a lovely way to see many birds and smaller animals on the reserve. Thank you for your feedback, it has shown us the areas in which we can still make improvements in order to hit top marks. We wish you all the best and hope you'll visit again! Warm wishes, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

So glad we did this, we cannot describe what a wonderful time we had on the safaris. Great photographic opportunities, and the whole experience was enhanced by our guide for the two days, Asher. The lodge itself is quaint ,and very peaceful. Breakfast and dinner are excellent , staff great, and all the alcohol one could drink. A tip, do not try and drink Bill, the owner, under the table!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hi Greg, thank you so much for the review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Asher and the rest of the team. The little pub is a wonderful place to get to know our guests, and Bill really is such a wonderful story-teller. It sounds like you made good use of it, we hope you'll join us for another drink and Leeuwenbosch safari soon! All the very best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Leeuwenbosch is a traditional country manor with beautiful architecture and furniture. The daily morning and evening safari rides were each fabulous and different animals were seen up close on each ride. The ranger was informative and friendly. We loved how they stopped to offer tea, coffee, wine, beer and even gin and tonics. Food at the house was delicious. Staff were great. Room price included all food, drinks, safari rides and a beautiful room for sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 882donaldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Public Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Hi Donald, thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you had some really great game drives during your stay as well. It makes all the difference hearing such positive feedback from our guests and we'll be sure to pass on the lovely compliments to our team. We hope to see you again! All the best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Our first game reserve experience and we loved it all. Excellent ranger; friendly warm staff at the house. Delicious food. Relaxed and informal; meal times with other guests pleasurable. Well organised & smooth running.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank karenbF96KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hi Karen, thank you very much for the lovely review. It is really wonderful to hear back from our guests and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Leeuwenbosch so much. We hope you visit us again soon! All the very best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews