We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leeuwenbosch Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This was our first safari, so we had an idea what to expect but were not prepared for the level of amazement we had during our stay. The house is cosy, welcoming and clean. The staff are superb, very accommodating and keen to make your stay an enjoyable one. The room was spacious and attended to three times a day. Nice touches such as lamps switched on and bottle of water left by the bedside each evening made it feel homely. The gardens are pleasant and interesting to explore. The plunge pool is clean and pleasant to use on a warm day. The food is freshly made and is tasty. Example of dinner was a starter of freshly prepared fruit salad such as guava, melon and strawberries, main course was roast chicken, butternut squash and other seasonal vegetables and dessert was a freshly made custard. Tea and coffee was available. Before dinner, you are invited by the hosts to join them in the pub bar attached to the dining room, for complimentary drinks such as local wines, spirits, beers etc. It's quaint and quirky, with plenty of stories to be heard and enjoyed about the history of the house. The safari experience with the rangers were much better than expected. Our ranger, Oubert, was knowledgeable and very happy to oblige if we wanted photo stops etc. He was happy to answer any questions we had, which were many. He knew his way around the game reserve like the back of his hand, as well as tracking animal behaviour and tracks to ensure we had the best wildlife experience. Overall, our stay was a comfortable one and one full of memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Nicky, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We loved reading your experience of Leeuwenbosch and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Ouboet and and the staff. Ouboet is one of the oldest rangers in the reserve and guests find themselves very fortunate to have gone on a game drive with him, as he shares is wealth of knowledge and passion for the area. We hope to welcome you again to Leeuwenbosch! Wishing you all the best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We received a very warm welcome to this lovely colonial-style house. Our room was huge with sitting area and large bathroom. Overall was beautifully maintained. All the staff were friendly & helpful & our ranger was very knowledgeable, asking what we would like to go & look for. Food was nice but nothing very special & a little limited for vegetarians. Wildlife amazing - saw a female cheetah suffocate an impala & then call her 4 cubs to join her, plus saw lions, elephant, zebra, giraffe & masses more.Enjoyed the very relaxed atmosphere & homely feel - the owners came to say hello each evening & chatted to us, which was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleybearYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi there, thank you so much for the lovely review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and sounds like your game drives were very successful and exciting. Our Country House accommodation is situated in an historic family home which gives us the advantage of a very homely atmosphere. Thank you for choosing Leeuwenbosch for your safari experience and we hope you'll decided to visit again! All the very best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The property is in need of an upgrade and the evening meal was not as good as we would have like, however the safari was amazing and the staff were great. We saw a great deal of animals and the river cruise was unexpected but great.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N7704MJjulieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi there, thank you for the balanced. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your safari experience, the river cruise is a lovely way to see many birds and smaller animals on the reserve. Thank you for your feedback, it has shown us the areas in which we can still make improvements in order to hit top marks. We wish you all the best and hope you'll visit again! Warm wishes, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

So glad we did this, we cannot describe what a wonderful time we had on the safaris. Great photographic opportunities, and the whole experience was enhanced by our guide for the two days, Asher. The lodge itself is quaint ,and very peaceful. Breakfast and dinner are excellent , staff great, and all the alcohol one could drink. A tip, do not try and drink Bill, the owner, under the table!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hi Greg, thank you so much for the review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Asher and the rest of the team. The little pub is a wonderful place to get to know our guests, and Bill really is such a wonderful story-teller. It sounds like you made good use of it, we hope you'll join us for another drink and Leeuwenbosch safari soon! All the very best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Leeuwenbosch is a traditional country manor with beautiful architecture and furniture. The daily morning and evening safari rides were each fabulous and different animals were seen up close on each ride. The ranger was informative and friendly. We loved how they stopped to offer tea, coffee, wine, beer and even gin and tonics. Food at the house was delicious. Staff were great. Room price included all food, drinks, safari rides and a beautiful room for sleeping.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 882donaldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100roaringlions, Public Relations Manager at Leeuwenbosch Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Hi Donald, thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you had some really great game drives during your stay as well. It makes all the difference hearing such positive feedback from our guests and we'll be sure to pass on the lovely compliments to our team. We hope to see you again! All the best, the Leeuwenbosch team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
23,2 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
374 reviews
3,7 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#3 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
401 reviews
8,5 km away
Woodbury Lodge
Woodbury Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31,7 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
483 reviews
6,5 km away
Bukela Game Lodge
Bukela Game Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
258 reviews
9,1 km away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenbosch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenbosch Country House

Address: R342 Karel Landman | Follow the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown - on right hand side, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: R 2 668 - R 8 520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenbosch Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star safari experience in an historic country house on the 7,500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Leeuwenbosch Country House is a gracious country house located in the malaria free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. Our beautiful country home is set amidst beautiful indigenous gardens, offering luxurious safari accommodation and a family safari experience steeped in settler history. The Country House, built in 1908, offers four spacious en-suite bedrooms, and is layered with a collection of historical images, documents, and furniture dating back to the 1800s. Set back from the Country House in the luscious gardens is a tranquil swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Leeuwenbosch Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenbosch Country House Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing