We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
91
76
82
46
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
76
82
46
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summer school small double bed wedding venue single occupancy lovely venue nice grounds dance floor an update birthday party walled garden wedding reception beautiful abbey ironing board checking out cross keys full english cedar
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Brilliant event. Kids had a wonderful time on the bouncy castle, Sunshine and good beer. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. Not enough people know what a gem this place is . Looking forward to the next one.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank raucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed our beer festival especially as this was the first one of its kind that we had put on. Please follow us on Facebook/ Twitter for the latest offers and events. We would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Arrived for a wedding party on a Saturday evening. Parking good, the main building very impressive, the gardens/trees wonderful and the wedding party fun. Bar staff did well. Room small and tired, but clean less the nuts under the bed. Shower would not work and had to go to the party un-showered! Reported it and was told it was fixed - well water came out of the head but the finest needles of water I have ever experienced - pointless. To get a decent amount of water had to take the shower head off. Called at 9am to confirm breakfast was included to find it finished at 9.15am .,...... but nobody told us! The excuse is it is a conference centre ........ yes and ..... it cannot be beyond the wit of man to provide full breakfast until 9am and then perhaps elsewhere even in the accommodation block the ability to have toast and cereal - something at least. The price was adjusted to account for the lack of breakfast by £20 but the hotel would not have had the complaint, nor the loss of cash if it had provided coffee and toast - Cost £4 max. The hotel management are obviously not thinking.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairF125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guest ,Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your stay with us for a recent wedding. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. As mentioned in many reviews previously we do are not blessed with a great water pressure here at the abbey, but have made steps to make sure this is the best possible it could be. Regular descale of shower heads and new shower heads to increase the pressure. In relation to the breakfast time, we have a 7 - 9.15 serving for a reason with check out being 10am. This time should of been verbally passed to you on check in, its on the registration card that you signed when checking in and also its advertised in the guest information pack which was in your room. Our Business demands are very different to a hotel which is why we have these times in place. I am glad that the Front desk were kind enough to give you a refund for the breakfast that was missed. Thanks again for you feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Arrived for a wedding on Friday rooms very disappointing, single size only but with couples in.Arrived with other relatives and we were in the coach house all 5 rooms together.Saturday morning went out to buy flash and bleach,they certainly need new cleaning staff!! We were due to have sandwiches in the bar at 12.15 but sandwiches didn't turn up until 12.45 when we were all due to get ready and no bar open until 1pm.
The wedding was beautiful the grounds are fabulous and expertly kept,the food was very good but would never stop here again and certainly would not recommend!

Room Tip: Have a room in the main building!!!
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Bigsis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your stay with us in relation to the wedding you were attending. We investigated this comment internally as a High Priority and its such a shame that while you were on site for two nights, you didn't mention your concerns about your bedrooms to members of staff on check in, during or on check out where we would have been able to assist you, re clean your bedrooms or move you if needed. Thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night whilst on a course for work. The grounds and exterior were beautiful but the rooms were a massive let down. Tired, dated, small bedrooms. The bed was uncomfortable and sank into the middle, the shower was more like a drizzle of rain and the breakfast was nothing to write home about. As for the staff they looked miserable and were not particularly friendly or helpful. This place may be great to look at and is probably lovely for conferences and weddings but I wouldn't recommend staying there.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Rah2203UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience regarding your stay here at the abbey. We always appreciate comments from our guests so we can improve our service. I'm sorry to hear that you felt that accommodation was not as sufficient as it should of been. I have asked out head Housekeeper to check all beds and also we are in the process of actually ordering new Pillows for all bedrooms. Here at the abbey we do have poor water pressure, so we have been fighting an uphill battle and have invested into some shower heads that is supposed to increase the pressure. the early indication is that these are working which is great. We will investigate your comments on the staff and remind them of the image that is required of them being customer facing and of course working for Missenden Abbey. We make it a high priority to deliver high standards of service and product and If we disappoint someone, we want it to be the last time. Thank you again for your helpful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

As a conference centre with accommodation I can't rate it as I would a hotel. Staff were all very friendly & helpful. All areas seemed clean & tidy despite having suffered floods from storms. Grounds were beautiful & good weather on the day allowed us full use of the gardens. Some commented that the rooms were a little small but they were more than adequate for an overnight stay and were very well appointed. Tea, coffee & chilled water available at all times, Food was nicely cooked & well presented. The main rooms were full of charm & character. In all, I enjoyed my stay & would be happy to return, in fact I would rather stay here than in some hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and realising what business model we actually are. You are correct that we are not a hotel and its refreshing to see a review sees this. It means so much to all of us at Missenden Abbey. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews