We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Explorer25450400028
Bucketlist Family Holiday
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2024
My family and I spent three adventorous days at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge and made memories that will last a lifetime!

We were touched by how kind the staff were to our children, aged 7 and 12. Nothing was too much trouble for Cassius, our host and Robert, our personal guide.
The food was abundant and delicious, the tents were well-equipped and there were lots of activities to choose from.

My youngest son caught two tiger fish, thanks to Robert who expertly guided us to the best fishing spots. My eldest child enjoyed visiting the local village, learning about the islanders culture and visiting an ancient Boabab tree. They especially loved watching a Hammerkop bird make it’s nest from the deck of our tent.

My wife and I enjoyed spending time with our children, whilst being surrounded by breathtaking scenery on the Chobe river. We combined our stay with a few nights on a Chobe Princess houseboat. It is a holiday we will never forget and can highly recommend for families.
Date of stay: January 2024
Nearby Hotels
sanctuary for birds
Tripadvisor
R 2 336
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 336
0.7 km from Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Free parking
Pool
This is our Company Shuttle,  its a 12 Seater shuttle with air condition and having  a professional and experienced driver / hostess .Very cheap and affordable
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 477
  • Lol.travel
5.3 km from Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 682
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.4 km from Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.4 km from Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
65.5 km from Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Impalila Island
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
299
104
12
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
104
12
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game viewing chobe river trigger fish vic falls kennedy fishing boat safari guide namibia lodge patrick tents transfer banks stories
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2024

It is a nice place, but old, bad maintained.
The furnitures are also old, no decoration
Bath room are not better at our football club.
So what to say, the people and food is nice.
Even the location. But the company is selling this as a lodge for a very high price, but it is just an old tent camp… a bit better than my officer tent at the army. The money is really not worth it!
Even the mini pool was as dirty as the river…

Room tip: Don’t go, it is not the money worth
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roving14070907727
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheree Thomson, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Dear Michael,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously.

We are actively working to address these issues that you have raised, and enhance the overall ambiance and comfort of our lodge.
On a positive note, we are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed the quality of our food. We also appreciate your recognition of our beautiful location.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
The Ichingo Chobe River Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Located on Impalila Island, it is a short boat ride from Immigration. Away from busy Chobe channel, it feels intimate and secluded.

Main lodge houses lounge area overlooking the river as well as bar and dining area. Very bright and welcoming. WiFi is available in this area.

Accommodation is in simple tents with attached bathrooms. Also has a front deck.

Most of our time was spent fishing or in the main lodge. Meals were fantastic. Chefs Edgar and Elliot produced meal after amazing meal. Gluten free options were delicious!

We had a great stay at this lodge, even though it was off-season fishing, we caught large tiger fish and nembwe. Felix, our guide, was lovely and knew all the good fishing spots. Game viewing from the water was first rate.

Great staff.

Will definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TaniaH871
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheree Thomson, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Dear Tania,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at our lodge! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our accommodations and amenities to your liking.

We're also glad to hear that you had a memorable fishing experience with Felix, and that you were able to catch some impressive Tiger fish and Nembwe!

Our staff will truly appreciate your kind words and we will be sure to pass along your compliments to them.
We can't wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay!

Warm regards,
The Ichingo Chobe River Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2023 via mobile

Loved our time at this lodge. Beautiful simple setting, comfortable accommodation, delicious food and the staff were just amazing! Kennedy was awesome, made our stay there! All the staff were great, with our fishing trips being the highlight! Thank you for a great few days!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CindsJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheree Thomson, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2023

Dear CindsJane,

We're glad to hear that you loved your time at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge.
Thank you for your kind words, and for a wonderful 5-star review.
We look forward to welcoming you back for more great days in the future.

Kind regards,
The Zambezi Queen Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2023 via mobile

From the boat ride with Patrick to the lodge, to Kennedy’s greeting us with his huge smile and laughter at the dock, we had an amazing time! The river safaris were off the charts, the food was great (they also accommodated my gluten free diet easily and without a blink. I even caught a tiger fish!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Powell, General Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2023

Dear Mark,

Well done on catching a Tiger Fish! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review.

We're delighted to hear you had an amazing time at our lodge. We will share your feedback with Kennedy and the rest of the team - I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear they added to your experience.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
The Zambezi Queen Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2022

Kennedy runs a slick and professional experience. Out of the ordinary with tented rooms, Ichingo is an experience you should not miss. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The chefs serve food that would not be out of place in a top London restaurant. Game viewing is by boat, and the banks of the Chobe River are teeming with game. We went fishing for Tiger fish each morning and caught every time. The guides are knowledgeable and skilled. Would definitely return

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 308stuarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Powell, General Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and the activities on offer at the lodge. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to Kennedy and the rest of the staff - I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear they added to your experience.

Hope to welcome you back soon!
The Ichingo Chobe River Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews