We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cascades Island Lodge(Impalila Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kaza Safari Lodge(Impalila Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
231
85
11
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
85
11
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszambezi queenchobe rivergame viewinghouse boatsmall boattender boattrigger fishtiger fishingthe upper decktwo nightsbird lifebucket listother guestsdifferent perspectiveunique experiencebirds and animalsvictoria falls
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We lived in Africa for 40 years, & have visited many Game reserves. We are spoiled by our visits to Gorongoza, The Okavango, & Serengeti, as well as Kruger & The northern KZN reserves. Chobe is different, don't expect the wonders of the other reserves, just enjoy the peace & calm of a river based game experience.
We stayed at the Ichingo River lodge for 3x nights , then 3x nights on the oldest of the Princess river boats in the company of four very charming German companions, then one more night at the Lodge , before flying on to Durban.
The staff at the lodge were charming, helpful, indeed delightful, the food was exceptional, & the ambience was great. I have read the the reports on the "high end"
lodges & , if you are a "Game" lover... suggest you go to this lodge. They have a superb "photo" boat with swivel chairs & camera gimbles, & crew that really know the area/game/birds etc. The "Glamping" tent accommodation is very comfortable, if not a little chilly in the bathroom in the early morning of June.
The Princess boat experience is good, again great staff, fabulous food, & very relaxing, ....just don't expect to see all of the "Big Five"..... All in all a great relaxing holiday.... PS lots of great bird photo opportunities.

Room Tip: They are all the same
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZQCollection, Online Marketing Team at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge - Zambezi Queen Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Duncan,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with the Zambezi Queen Collection. Given how extensively you've travelled, we're honoured to receive such a favourable review.

We're so pleased to hear you were able to relax and enjoy a peaceful river based safari and experience all the magnificent beauty the area is world famous for.

We've passed on your kind words to our staff as well as to the chefs at both properties. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback regarding the bathroom at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge being a bit chilly in the early winter mornings to our operations team who will investigate an option to improve the heating.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback, we hope you will join us again in our beautiful part of Africa.

Kind regards
The Zambezi Queen Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 nights/3 days is ideal for this outstanding river journey. Includes twice daily river safaris in powered tender boats that get you up close to croc's, elephants and hippos as well as a wide variety of bird and other animal life along the river. Great food and service, very comfy beds and good sized double rooms.
Be prepared for the tedious immigration procedure through Botswana & Namibia - both coming & going. Abrupt and non helpful customs staff and difficult forms to complete.

Room Tip: It's a houseboat. All rooms are the same except for views & the "penthouse" on the top deck. .
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0pviewfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZQCollection, Online Marketing Team at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge - Zambezi Queen Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with the Zambezi Queen Collection.

We're so pleased to hear that you had enjoyable time during your stay with us and were able to view the wildlife the Chobe area is famous for up close from the tender boats.

The immigration procedure can be fairly time consuming which is why we advise guests that the process can take between 45 to 60 minutes to complete and needs to be considered in terms of timing and pre-planning when coming to stay with the Zambezi Queen Collection.

We hope you will join us again one day in our magical part of the world.

Kind regards
The Zambezi Queen Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hidden place. Very attentive staff. Natural rustic location. Had a wonderful stay. Tasty food. Got a chance to visit four country border in a boat. Went in to Botswana border and saw all of Big 5. Wish had stayed longer

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZQCollection, Online Marketing Team at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge - Zambezi Queen Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rajesh

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge.

We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and that you were able to experience the beauty of the area in all four countries! We've passed on your kind words to our staff who strive to ensure each of our guests has a unique and memorable experience.

We hope you'll join us again in our magical part of the world.

Kind regards
The Zambezi Queen Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

This was a great experience, loved the cruising, the wildlife, the scenery and the friendly and efficient staff. Food was quite good but a set menu for dinner was limiting. Lamb was really hogget by Australian standards and so on the tough side, should be dropped from the menu.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank theleas42018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZQCollection, Zambezi Queen Collection Team at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge - Zambezi Queen Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay on board the Chobe Princess.

We're pleased to hear you had a great experience and were able to enjoy the spectacular scenery the area is well known for. We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the lamb as well as the set menu. We have sent it on to our operations team for their review.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope you'll join us again one day in our beautiful part of Africa.

Kind regards
The Zambezi Queen Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We were lucky that our party took over the whole four cabins on Chobe Princess II as the boat is too small (I feel) to be happy sharing with complete strangers. The crew were very nice and the food good. Lots to see but not an overabundance but I think this would have been down to the fact that there was so much water around that maybe the animals didn't need to come to the river.
I felt that the maintenance on the boat wasn't that good - doors that didn't fit properly and various minor other problems. Horrific lighting in the main salon. They need someone to sort out the decor and lighting.
They desperately need an espresso machine on board as their coffee is not good.
The heating in the cabins was very welcome as it was cold at night and in the mornings.
But an enjoyable experience for two nights. More would have been too long a time on board.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wgubelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZQCollection, Online Marketing Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge - Zambezi Queen Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay on board the Chobe Princess II.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and have sent your comments regarding the maintenance, decor and lighting to our operations team on board.

We're glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable experience in our beautiful part of the world.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
The Zambezi Queen Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews