We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
View to Slioch from back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to Slioch from back garden
View from lounge Lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View to Slioch from back garden
View from lounge
Lounge and dining area
View from lounge
Kitchen
Kingsize bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Back of the cottage
Reflection of a beautiful winter day
Back garden in winter
Pine Marten kit
Red Deer stag
View to Beinn Eighe from rear of property
Magnificent Torridon mountains
Local view
White-tailed eagle fishing
Mountain hare
Local view
Pine Marten
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alisonjef...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Wonderful cottage with everything you need, spotlessly clean in a stunning location, the pine Martin that visits is just an extra bonus. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your week at Cairn Shiel and look forward to seeing you again. Will and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Winter stay ”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Great place and lovely location.
This was a work stay and I wish we'd been here for the full three weeks, the stay was just a week.

Very neat and tidy with storage heating and panel heaters if it gets colder.
All kitchen utensils available and a big fridge.
Washer dryer utility for drying so the owners have thought of most things.
TV satellite, pay phone though check the number as I'm not sure it's correct in the details.
There is normally mobile phone signal though EE is great as wifi calling and messaging over the internet is always a bonus, which there is here, if you need to keep in touch.

Local facilities in the winter are sparse, so bring your own food, (I live in the north of Scotland though used to live on the west and still he caught out by opening times) so take care to get to any shops early.
We didn't find the hotel Open on our stay which was a shame.

The area is stunning and so much to do though bring waterproofs and warm cloths for outdoor activities.

The location and views are stunning and if your at all outdoorsy it's a great retreat, with a good feeling.



Overall very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2016
Hi Paul, thank you for your review. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you at short notice, and that you had such a good winter stay. Our phone and internet contract changed whilst you were there so there is now a new phone number. We will make sure it is updated in the information. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you are working in, or visiting the Torridon area again and need accomodation. Kind regards, Will and Sue Snow
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james f
2 reviews
“Perfect place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The holiday was just superb. Peaceful with stunning views lots of varied wildlife.Rental was spotless and fully equiped. We will return at some point. Maybe a winter break. Thankyou

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review James, it is lovely to receive such nice comments. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly through our website if you decide to visit again in the winter. Kind regards, Will and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and wildlife in a quiet setting”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cairn Shiel is the perfect place to stay if you enjoy wildlife, remoteness and spectacular views.
The cottage is set on the edge of Beinn Eighe nature reserve and is close to Loch Maree with the most spectacular views from any cottage I've stayed in. The wildlife around the cottage is wonderful with a walk from the cottage up towards the Beinn Eighe munro which is viewed from the sitting room and main bedroom.
The fenced garden is small and gravelled which may not suit families with small children but it can be completely fenced for safety of younger guests.
Inside is clean and spacious with a perfect view from the living room up into the mountains.
The new owners Will and Sue were very friendly and extremely helpful and have now included electricity and Wifi in the overall price of the cottage where the previous owners charged extra for these.
Overall a clean spacious cottage with everything you would require for a peaceful holiday set in beautiful countryside although not the cheapest we've stayed at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery and wildlife
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Dear Paul
Thank you for your glowing review. We are so glad that you had a great week and hope that you will return one day. We will review the directions to the property and see if we can make them better for future guests.
Enjoy the rest of your summer
Sue and Will Snow
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skirge T
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Cottage Superb Location”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My Wife and I stayed here on a short 3 night stay and we blown away with the lovely cottage and an incredible location.

As an avid TV watcher I was surprised I never switched the TV on, nothing should take away from time just gazing out of the window to that sublime view.
The cottage is a good size well equipped and furnished and is perfect for a short break or long stay.
Nicely secluded but only a short walk into the village for the shop, Cafe or garage.
The Pine Marten of course visited every night as soon as it got dark, such a cheeky little thing not shy at all even coming up and looking in the window.

Cannot recommend a stay here highly enough.
Book and see for yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Dear Kris
We are so pleased that you had a fabulous time at Cairn Shiel. As new owners it is great to get such positive feedback. The previous owners did a wonderful job of making Cairn Shiel a popular holiday let and we are delighted to be able to continue where they left off. We hope to be able to welcome you back again some time. Will and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing