We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment, fantastic setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean Vista

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cabanas, Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mariehann...
paignton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, fantastic setting”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had a lovely 12 days in Cabanas. The apartment is beautiful and is equipped with everything you will need and much more. Loved having breakfast on the terrace enjoying the lovely views. Can not think of one single thing that could be improved! Cabanas is a lovely resort with a good choice of restaurants and bars. We will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briguy61
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Condo with an Ocean Vista at a Great Price”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My family stayed here over New Year's and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The condo is very modern with great views out over the river, island and ocean. Loved the spacious balcony and smaller but secluded roof terrace. The kitchen has granite counters, a gas cooktop and is very well stocked for cooking. We went to both nearby supermarkets and the butcher and bought foods for breakfast and lunches and went out each dinner. The unit has great air conditioning units which also supply heat (and we needed it some nights) in every room. The washrooms are very stylish and comfortable. The bedrooms are a bit on the small side but have great blackout blinds and small balconies overlooking the street. On the downside, I was surprised by the twin beds in the master bedroom. There should at the least be a king mattress topper to go over these. Loved the big bright south facing living room and 200 channels of english TV. The pool is small but would be great for kids. It is in the courtyard downstairs shared by about 20 units. We certainly did not have the weather to make use of it. It was generally 14 - 18 degrees each day with some sun but also drizzle. A couple of caveats: I was really counting on using the BBQ to cook fish and meat from the butcher but it is missing. If you look in the comments book you can see that it has been missing for months. Also, the elevator does not work and hasn't worked for years. This was not a problem for us but could be for some given that the unit is on the 3rd floor. These deficits should be made more clear. Also the Wifi did not work during our stay. We communicated with the owner but he was unable to resolve this from England, We used the excellent Vitaminas cafe down the street for cappucinos and free wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris F
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury retreat”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Wow. Seldom have I found the reality of a property to be better than the photos. Ocean Vista is superb. Beautifully furnished,clean and very comfortable. The owners have thought about almost every eventuality. Games, DVDs, music to pass away bad weather days. Comprehensive guest info pack for the adventurous and loungers for those who just want to soak up the rays! Cabanas was a little gem, we loved the town with its boardwalk overlooking the ria Formosa nature reserve. One minor niggle was the lack of BBQ advertised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Lift not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry that the BBQ was not available for you during your short stay - unfortunately it 'died' very recently and we are just in the process of replacing it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Apartment and Location”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in Cabanas at the beginning of June and everything about our holiday in Cabanas was fantastic. The apartment is the best that we have stayed in - the furnishings are top quality and apartment is spacious with everything that you could possible need ,whilst the roof terace was great if you wanted a bit of privacy. The complex itself is quiet yet the bars and restaurants are only a ten minute walk. The whole process from the first email sent to enquire about the accomodation through to dealing with Pauline and Ken over the transfers to and from the airport was incredibly smooth, which added to the holiday and we would definitely look to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsunseek...
SOUTHAMPTON
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for a week on 21st June. The apartment is looked after for the owners, by Ken and Pauline. They provided a good English speaking taxi company collecting us outside the arrival hall at Faro Airport , within 45 minutes we were greeted by Ken at the apartment, he helped us with our bags to the top floor apartment. Walking into the apartment it looked like a show room , absolutely immaculate throughout and very spacious . He explained all the info required to open blinds , locking doors etc. Making sure before he left that we were happy that any questions had answered.
The apartment has two large bedrooms , one with an en suite facility, the other with the main shower/ toilet next door. The living area was very spacious, with ate, DVD and iPod docking station , the kitchen had all the homely requirements and a breakfast bar seating area separated the living area and kitchen. Outside of the living area was a table/ chairs that we used after a hard day relaxing on the beach. The roof terrace was also a great feature , I would sit up there watching the sunrise in the warm early mornings, so peaceful after a daily visit to the beach we would relax for another hour or so !
Although we never used the BBQ on the roof terrace it is another facility available for use.
The apartment has use of a pool within the complex if required. We are beach lovers so headed to the sand daily !
We ate at the local restaurants, our favourite being A Grelha in town . Most of the restaurants are very good and the prices are reasonable .
The beach is via a water taxi 75€ one way, this is located via a 10 minute walk through the town along the wooden walkway, on arrival to the beach it's stunning, and huge ! If your prepared to walk along for a few minutes you find total seclusion and your own peace and quiet , along with the daring task of tackling the large waves ( depending on tides and the time of year ).
This is our 3rd time staying in Cabanas but the first in the apartment, it is credit to the owners, and home from home place along with dawn to dusk sunshine ! These are only our views, try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing