We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accomodation in amazing surroundings”
Find the antique refectory table under the green oak gallery. A great space for family and friends
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Find the antique refectory table under the green oak gallery. A great space for family and friends
Enjoy the sunny kitchen with views onto the green and dovecot Great chill out area 'up among the beams'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Find the antique refectory table under the green oak gallery. A great space for family and friends
Enjoy the sunny kitchen with views onto the green and dovecot
Great chill out area 'up among the beams'
A very pretty first floor bedroom
Stunning Castle Howard home to 'Brideshead Revisited' One of the many local attractions we offer
Cycle on the Tour de Yorkshire route. Keep your bikes in our secure sheds or why not hire some!
Glorious North York Moors National Park
The antique refectory dining table seats 10 perfect for friends and family celebrations
Enclosed child friendly garden
Percy loved his holiday in The North York Moors National Park:-)
Beautiful 30ft sitting room perfect for a family gathering
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Danby, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Richard T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accomodation in amazing surroundings”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is our second stay in this wonderful barn conversion. The accomdoation is vast, high ceilings but unbelievably cosy for an autumn stay, but with vast outside space for when the weather is good.

The barn is beautifully renovated, the hosts are extremely hospitable with wine and home baked scones with jam and cream on arrival. Everything is so well stocked with everything you could ever need or want. The bedrooms are beautiful with comfortable beds. Lovey log fire for those colder days and nights.

The location is superb. Seconds from vast open countryside and a just a short drive to the beautiful coast villages of sandsend and runswick bay, and the bigger (but quaint) town of Whitby.

The local surrounding villages offer good pubs and shopping facilities.

The best thing about this barn without a doubt is the gorgeous setting. With 360 degree views of valleys, farmland and fields as far as the eye can see, this makes for an amazing stay all year round with outdoor BBQ facilities we have twice made use of in October under the covered area outside.

Book this place. We will time and time again. You will not be disappointed and we cannot imagine anyone not loving the place. Superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting. The quality of the sympathetic and tasteful renovation which is fascinating.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for those lovely words, we are fortunate to live in this most beautiful part of England. Danny and I enjoy welcoming you to North Yorkshire and our home. Liz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole P
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing - something for everyone”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here with our 2 young children (2 & 4) and my parents in-law. There was something that pleased everyone!

The kids loved the outside space (very safe) we could just let them run around while we sat and enjoyed the view in the tranquil setting of the old barn. The owners were extremely friendly and the children loved feeding the doves, meeting the horse and the novelty of sheep sitting in the middle of the road. As grown ups we loved the location, the feeling of seclusion yet being a short drive from local amenities, countryside and beaches. The sumptuous (yet practical) surroundings and lovely decor made it easy to relax and gave a real feeling of luxury.

I would definitely stay here again, it had just the right combination of everything, in a good British holiday: countryside, sea-side, atmosphere, luxury and practicality one of the best places we have stayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of everything and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful first visit to the Yorkshire Moors ..!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We took our whole family to the Moors for my godsons wedding ..Rather than stay in a hotel, we took the 'Father of the Bride's ' recommendation and stayed in Beacon View Barn - what a find ! The property has been brilliantly converted,with spacious bedrooms and roomy living and kitchen areas .There is NOTHING that was missing on our usual 'travel checklist ', even for the grandchildren . We arrived to find a full fridge and homemade scones, and an incredibly warm welcome from Liz and Danny, the property owners ..This combination, coupled with the most mesmeric views across the Moors ,started the 'Wedding Weekend ' off very nicely ..
At all times the owners were available for advice regarding the area,and were very proud in showing us their newly converted property,Dale Barn, which we will house our friends in the next time we visit ! Ten out of ten !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: No SKY TV ,although the Freeview Box was adequate ..
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased your visit to the North York Moors was such a success and now that Dale View Barn is up and running we can’t wait for you and your friends to come and stay at Crag House Farm and explore more of Yorkshire. Danny and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah_hig
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and peaceful location, friendly owners and fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We went to stay in the barn with our 2 children for a last minute booking and were amazed by the beautiful barn we arrived to. Modern accommodation in a fantastic old converted barn which makes the most of the picturesque views. It is in such a peaceful location but it is still easy to reach the seaside, towns and other attractions by car. The area is also lovely for walks, which you can start right from the barn.

The couple that own the barn were extremely friendly and helpful. They were fab with the kids too. The garden is enclosed, which also makes for a fun play area for a toddler, yet they can see the horses/sheep etc.. In the surrounding fields. We had a really lovely stay and hope to go back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirlsBUk
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greatly recommended”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This lovely barn conversion was a little further north than we originally planned, but we were attracted by the description and didn't regret the decision for one second. The barn is beautifully adapted and every detail is taken care of. There's a large, comfortable living room, with a big flat screen tv for those that want it, but so much more for those that don't! Beds are comfortable too and the kitchen is well equipped if you want to eat in. Best of all, for us, was the outdoor area, a large, stone flagged, covered area with a gas barbecue and plenty of space to eat, play or just sit and take in the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This was a hard choice, as all was good - but overall, the outside space.
Liked least: There was nothing we disliked
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing