We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome stay for young family, especially garden...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve R
Tonyrefail, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome stay for young family, especially garden and pool”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Wibdon Barn with our 2 boys aged 8 & 5 and they couldn't have been happier. The outdoor space is huge, I believe 7 acres, with most of the garden landscaped and mowed (well done Sue). There are many mature trees, including a pear tree with a swing attached which our 5 year spent hours enjoying. There's a climbing frame/swing/slide, as well as the numerous other toys such as bikes, scooters, balls, bats and basket ball ring that you have free access to. It is also secure all around the perimeter so that children can roam the garden but can't wonder out. Then there's the covered pool. The weather was warm (around 20+) when we stayed at the end of September and the covered pool (which can become uncovered in the summer) also has a multitude of toys available for use in the pool. It has a greenhouse warming affect and once in the pool (29 degrees water temp) any initial coolness is forgotten with the endless fun you will have. From the garden and the property you can see the River Severn in the distance and the barn is situated about 3 miles out of Chepstow on the A48. We live in South Wales and it only took us an hour to get there on a Friday teatime! The barn itself has a great open plan living/dining/kitchen area, with lots of natural light thanks to the huge windows. The downstairs bedroom had 2 single beds, which is where our boys slept and the master with ensuite toilet & shower is upstairs. The barn also has a downstairs bathroom with a bath and shower. The TV had all the channels you would need and the best picture reception we have ever had on a holiday stay in the UK, plus there's a DVD player and an XBOX which has the connect and a couple of games and 1 controller. There are some DVD's in the barn, some books and lots of info/literature on local attractions and walks. To sum it up Wibdon Barn is awesome and we would definately recommend a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Although we are quite close to your home it is good to know that we can offer some places that are so different for you to explore. It was lovely to meet you all and we would love to catch-up again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Well what can we say about Wibdon Barn.......... Relaxing, chilled, friendly, clean! Sue couldn't of been more helpful and friendly! There is everything you need in the barn, you literally just need food and clothes! We enjoyed ourselves that much we extended our stay at the barn, my parents even came to join us, this was also no trouble, very accommodating! There is all kinds to do near by. We went segwaying in the Forest of Dean, twice we enjoyed it that much! We also visited Bristol zoo! If it's relaxation you want, great! Take advantage of the swimming pool and lovely grounds at the barn! We spent many hours in the garden just relaxing in the peace an quiet! We definitely hope to visit wibdon barn again in the future!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Hi, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the lovely area. It was a pleasure meeting you both and your parents and having fellow mole watchers was a bonus! Of course it was no trouble! Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanner31...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real Gem”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

It's not often you find a real little gem, but I lucked out with Wibdon Barn. Luxurious, comfortable accommodation where everything has been thought of (all I really needed to pack where our clothes). Gorgeous grounds with fantastic views, a private swimming pool and hosts that were so wonderful that they made our stay perfect. I was blown away by Sue and Peter and their hospitality, and I want to thank them again for opening up their lovely home for myself and my family. I will have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Wibdon Barn and will definately be staying again when next visiting the area. Top Marks for a Top Couple :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm and friendliness of Sue and Peter
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Now stop it .... you're making us blush! So, so pleased you enjoyed your stay - we loved having you. Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coco14a
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This really is a very special place. We have a wonderful relaxing holiday. The house, pool and Sue were brilliant. It is so convenient to the Forest of Dean and all it has to offer. The barn really does have everything you will need. Our kids are already asking when they can return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday. It was a real pleasure to meet you all and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your time here. It's nice to know other people find the area as fun to explore as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzHolly
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Firstly, I fully endorse the previous 8 reviews. The key plus points for us include: only need your clothes and food (even milk and juice in the fridge as well as a bottle of wine); only the one guest accommodation on the property so nice and private; great pool; lovely grounds; great location for the Wye valley and south Wales; quality appliances; very nice bathrooms; bright and airy lounge, dining and kitchen area; and Sue and Peter are great hosts. Four of us plus baby stayed five nights and really enjoyed it. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing