We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exciting stay in beautiful part of country”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Freshwater East, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
815tomj
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exciting stay in beautiful part of country”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had read many excellent reviews of the property and especially the 'adventure garden' and were certainly not disappointed by what we found. Andrew made us very welcome and has created a wonderful place to stay. The accommodation is very comfortable and spacious, but almost has to take second place to the marvels of the zip wires and other activities in the large garden. Our group contained three generations of family and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thanks for your superb review! Future guests please note that the zip wires are no longer available. However, we've now supplied lots of new fun activities!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
435Louise...
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow wow wow! Even better than it looks on Trip Advisor!

Booked this a while ago as we were working at Ironman Wales in Tenby.

We fell in love with the place instantly! The house is superb.

We didn't want for anything and although a little off the beaten track we even managed to get takeaways delivered most evenings.

Not sure were to start with the house inside or outside as both are worth reviewing!

OK outside first as I don't feel this is given enough justice when booking! There is the biggest most amazing garden in the world, it has three ginormous zip wires!! Not just for children and we had an absolute blast on them!!

The garden is filled with amazing swings and even a piarate ship too, brilliant for children and adults alike.

Onto the house, there isn't a room I didn't like or use. Think my favorite would have to be the lounge as it is just so cosy and light but closely followed by the stunning bathroom which has a beautiful big bath in.

Beds are super comfy and rooms are all big and spacious.

The people who manage to cottage live next door and are the nicest people you would wish to meet.

We will be back next year as this was a fabulous find!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thanks for your superb review! Future guests please note that the zip wires are no longer available. However, we've now supplied lots of new fun activities!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhianbob
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning cottage, great location!”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and our party consisted of myself, my husband, our two year old little boy and my husbands parents.

We were greeted by the previous owner and neighbour, Andrew, who welcomed us and showed us the property. It was a pleasant surprise upon arrival that the property really did live up to the photos of it - unlike many others I've found where camera angles and a trick of the light can be deceiving! The rooms are wonderfully light and airy and the property has a lovely modern and clean feel to it.

The garden area is fantastic - especially for anyone with children - and my little one thoroughly enjoyed the trampoline. What a great way to tire him out! Obviously he was too young to make the most of the swings, rope swings and zip wire, but it's little extra's like this that make us want to return when he's older.

The location of the cottage is very rural and it was wonderful to experience the peace and quiet of the countryside. With most larger areas/towns such as Tenby, Pembroke and Saundersfoot only a short drive away, this is a great place to base yourself.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend and would highly recommend this property to others - it really does just tick all the boxes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall decor of the property and the garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thanks for your superb review! Future guests please note that the zip wires are no longer available. However, we've now supplied lots of new fun activities!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartwheel...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home but better!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Barns was a wonderful holiday experience. The cottage itself is very well equipped with everything we could want for (at one point we were catering for 9 and there was no panic for cooking pots or crockery). The washing machine and dryer was a lifesaver and meant we could return home with much less washing than ever before. Room was ample so that we could be together but have enough space for ourselves if required as well. Andrew and his family were wonderfully welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed, lending us wetsuits, boogie boards, bikes, wind break and anything else we could have desired. Of course they also gave full permission for us to use the amazing garden which kept everyone busy included grandad in his 70s who decided to try out the zip wire much to the amusement of the grandchildren.

The cottage is positioned perfectly to explore Pembrokeshire and with Freshwater East beach only 15 minutes walk away you wouldn't have to go far to experience the beauty and tranquility or fun and frolics in the sea if you didn't want too go far away.

A great time had by all, thank you Deborah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thanks for your superb review! Future guests please note that the zip wires are no longer available. However, we've now supplied lots of new fun activities!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Brilliant family holiday. My ten year old son and forty year old husband loved the garden with all the activities available. The beach and coastal path are just a ten minute walk away and the local pub has a beautiful view looking out over the coast. Will definitely be returning to The Barns again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing