We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice for a walk

Gengenbach City Centre is always good for a walk and a great photo spot, too. During summer, you... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
cau11
via mobile
Such a pretty place

Gengabach is a beautiful place to visit - peaceful and picturesque, with very interesting... read more

Reviewed 5 July 2018
Jill3216_13
,
Geelong, Australia
Read all 95 reviews
  
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
60
31
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
31
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

If you are looking for a good example of cute German village just by the Black Forest have a go a Gengenbach. Once you have parked, cross the level crossing and that´s it. Then you´ve just entered this nice village, which is as you´ve probably expected: impeccable clean streets, beautiful local houses and a clear German taste, although the neoclassical Town Hall that presides it all, reminded me somehow of a certain French touch. One of the main attractives of Gengenbach is that the city is beautiful as a whole, not being one of those places where there is a concrete point of interest and the rest is tasteless. This is why Gengenbach is right for a leisurely visit, strolling around its streets, taking some photos and enjoying some local food.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank southerntraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

gengenback is a lovely typical black forest time...and fun to roam around and spend a day.The restaurants and blooms are pretty

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank mumbaiace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We spent 5 hours following a self guided tour we obtained from the information centre Our walk included a stop for cake and coffee and rewarding aperol at the end. Houses beautifully maintained dating back to the 1600's. This is wonderfully picturesque. The town town church of St Marien was amazing and a very different to other churches and cathedrals. This is a beautiful old town. Do go to the Niggletower ( after 2.00 pm) for a view over the whole town.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank geldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I have visited Gengenbach at least four times, but I never get enough of this gorgeous little town. It is a pleasure to walk around and visit different cafes and restaurants every time.
There seems to be a lot of foreign and German visitors to this town.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed wandering around the streets of this charming town. Upon our arrival we located the tourist information office to pick up a town map, which also included a self-guided walk. We really enjoyed the ambiance here and found the locals to be very friendly and helpful. The main square in Gengenbach is very beautiful and picturesque.
One of my most memorable things about this town were the lovely, colourfully painted life-sized cows scattered throughout the town - it is a great way to characterize the town and make it stand out from the many other small towns in this area.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank ChitchatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews