We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Looking for self catering accommodation in the...”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Davo552
Leongatha, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looking for self catering accommodation in the Weymouth area then don't go anywhere but Tidmoor Barn”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Visiting from Australia, we stayed at Tidmoor Barn with my in-laws, who although not strictly disabled, in their late 80s, do have some mobility problems and cannot easily use stairs. The accommodation was wonderful for them, with everything they needed - bedroom, lounge, kitchen, dining and thoughtfully organised wet room - all on one level.

My wife and I were able to delight in the views from our upstairs lounge. Our bedroom was airy and spacious and the ensuite with large bath was an added bonus for us.

It was an ideal base from which to re-explore some of the places we knew as children - Swanage, Lulworth Cove, Portland, Abbotsbury and Weymouth itself. Although on a busy road, the barn is approached from a quiet lane, making it well positioned and secure within electronic gates. Traffic noise was not a problem.

Good value, varied eating places were close by and easily used by the less able bodied - Marquis of Grantby being particularly good value with a wide menu but other local pubs were welcoming with good value meals and varied menus.

Sarah and Alan have put a great deal of thought into the layout of the renovated barn and it proved extremely comfortable for all of us. They, with Alfie, made us very welcome without being intrusive. Summing up - we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Tidmoor Barn and would not look anywhere else in the area for accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, cleanliness, comfort
Liked least: Nothing that could be altered by owners - cold winds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Disabled facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Josiah67
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent spacious accommodation; very helpful engaging proprietor.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in the second( recently on stream) gated cottages. The presentation was exceptional. Spacious open plan kitchen,diner and lounge; en suite bedrooms one downstairs suitable for wheelchair. And an enclosed small private garden. The amenities were excellent. Parking was no problem shared the space with the family and the other cottage. Coastal walk a short distance from the cottages. Weymouth town centre and beach a few minutes drive along the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and hospitality and friendliness
Liked least: Lack of wi- fi/Internet on site
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout & accessibility of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely property with plenty of space”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We actually stayed in the newly refurbished Tidmoor Stables with our 6-month old baby. There was lots of space to put up a travel cot in the bedroom, and there was one available although we brought our own. We didn't need to worry about any noise he made, as we were in a detached property. While in Chickerell rather than Weymouth, this was actually a useful place for us to explore the local area. We had a lovely time and would use the Stables again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space.
Liked least: It was difficult to get to the sea from the property itself, as the public footpath was quite overgrown.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing