We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accommodation - short drive from Weymouth”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SalTTT
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation - short drive from Weymouth”
Reviewed 30 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in the Tidmoor Barn and found it to be clean, modern, and comfortable. As a family of 3 we had plenty of room and found the accommodation a good base to use for the week.

It's not really possible to walk to many places from the barn (except the charming walk down the lane to the Fleet Lagoon) but we were happy to jump in the car. The owner, Sarah, gave us some useful tips on where would be good to take our toddler.

The barn and stables sit behind what would normally be the farmhouse but when we visited the farmhouse was being built again from scratch and only the foundations were in place. Despite this we experienced no disruption to our holiday, no excessive construction noise and the only issue was identifying the turning off the main road when we first arrived as there was no farmhouse to look out for.

We would recommend the accommodation to disabled visitors and having holidayed on several occasions with a disabled (tetraplegic) relative we recognised that this accommodation offers a good level of accessibility which can sometimes be lacking in supposedly 'disabled-friendly' holiday lets.

As mentioned the accommodation was light and airy and this caused a slight problem with getting our toddler to stay in bed past sunrise. We had brought a blackout blind with us but it didn't quite cover the large windows in the upstairs lounge (from which there is a great view) and we also found a blind missing on one of the velux windows in the upstairs bedroom. Not a major issue, just something to be aware of if you are staying with young children.

Also the plot is next door to an army training base and we could hear live firing exercises through the day. We also saw a military helicopter fly very close to the property. Not a problem for us, but worth a mention.

All in all we'd have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation and wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrattyNY
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable accommodation and beautiful views”
Reviewed 5 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend. Booked very last minute and all was via email and based on trust without deposit. Also arrived very late and nothing was a problem - Sarah was very amenable.
Great facilities, all kitchen needs covered, lovely and warm for a cold weekend and only minutes from Chesil Beach. Amazing view of the beach - the upstairs lounge is a fantastic place to just take in the views.
However we were out for most of the weekend since you are so close to all that the beeautiful dorset countryside has to offer.
Close enough to Weymouth though to pick up a takeaway curry our last night having done the Lulworth Cove-Durdle Door walk!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFriml...
Frimley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best choice for rest and comfort”
Reviewed 21 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Our first visit to the Barn. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and the facilities. There are good views to Chesil Beach and the sea, the local pubs are good for meals and there is a convenient shop just down the road. We unfortunately chose a bad week for the weather, but the Barn was a haven in the rain. would we come again....yes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvia194...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IN EVERY WAY BARN COTTAGE IS A GEM OF A PLACE TO STAY.”
Reviewed 23 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Barn Cottage is a wonderful place to stay. We have just enjoyed our second visit and we find It excellent in every respect. The cottage is equipped to a really high standard and the layout makes it equally suitable for a family or two couples. We took our 90 year old disabled mother there and it met all her needs perfectly. The view from the upstairs lounge window particularly is absolutely lovely. What more could you ask for.

Sarah herself is always pleasant and helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpsewwhat
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“once again a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Back for a fifth visit. Very good wheelchair access and additional disability aids are available in the barn.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing