We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great if vegan”
Review of Malaya

Malaya
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Benfleet
Price range: US$19 - US$117
Description: Malaysian restaurant Malaya Restaurant specialises in the traditional “Malay” unique style of cooking, what is a fusion of Malay, Indian, Chinese, Nyonya, Eurasians. You will find many eclectic dishes on the menu that are found in the diversity of Malaysian cuisine. This all helps create a special dining experience for all our guests and allows them to taste the exotic delights of one of Asia’s most enchanting countries.
Restaurant details
Description: Malaysian restaurant Malaya Restaurant specialises in the traditional “Malay” unique style of cooking, what is a fusion of Malay, Indian, Chinese, Nyonya, Eurasians. You will find many eclectic dishes on the menu that are found in the diversity of Malaysian cuisine. This all helps create a special dining experience for all our guests and allows them to taste the exotic delights of one of Asia’s most enchanting countries.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here. The food was very nice. We are vegan and there was a good choice. The staff were lovely as well. Not much choice for kids as we had our 10 month old with us but she eats anything so was happy with the food we gave her. Will definitely be back.

Thank Pipertriple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malayabenfleet, Manager at Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear customer, thank you for your Positive review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us .
Looking forward to seeing you soon
Kind regards
Malaya team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

Having eaten in a few Malay-Thai restaurants and recently returned from a trip to Indonesia my husband and I were excited to hear of a new local Malaysian restaurant.

Yes parking is not fantastic but there are side streets where you can find spaces. We were torn on arrival from choosing from the excellent value set menu or going for more varied options from the main menu. Went for the wonderful roti canai and kam heong prawn for starter with some shared dim sum - fantastic flavours and excellent presentation

Beef rendang and nasi lemak were our mains of choice which both had plenty of flavour and extra spice as requested in the rendang. Highly recommend the side dish of sambal green beans.

Yes the prices weren't cheap eats but the food is excellent quality and certainly similar to those of excellent meals we have experienced in Indonesia and high quality Malaysian restaurants in London.

Will be coming back again (and bringing my vegan friend as spotted plenty of options for her too)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nats_B82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malayabenfleet, Manager at Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Dear customer, thank you for visiting Malaya. We are very glad to hear you throughly enjoyed our food and the various plates it was served on. We hope to see you again very soon .
Kind regards
Malaya team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Staff and food lovely. Even do Gluten Free food for my son which was just perfect. Definately will be returning.

1  Thank EssexWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malayabenfleet, Manager at Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear customer , thank you for your Positive review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. We would like to reassure you in our restaurant selection of dishes will have gluten free options ( GFO ) at all the time .
Looking forward to seeing you soon
Kind regards
Malaya team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

First time at the Malaya, we wasn’t disappointed. The food was very good and extremely tasty. Service and staff was good and friendly. Great little restaurant that we will definitely be going to again.

1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malayabenfleet, Manager at Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you Terry for reviewing us , it is very important for all of us at Malaya.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit in our restaurant.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Malaya team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

3 of us for Sunday lunch. Absolutely brilliant ! Nice decor and the food was marvellous. Beautifully cooked and whilst we ordered from the set Sunday lunch menu, there was plenty of choice to satisfy most tastes. Recommend the smoked chocken from the starters and the malaysian beef dish from the main courses. Great service from a friendly staff with a very professional young manageress. We were made to feel very welcome and the service was attentive without being intrusive. All round, an excellent experience and great value for money. Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malayabenfleet, Manager at Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you Sam for your positive review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit at Malaya . Looking forward to seeing you soon Xx
Kind regards
Malaya team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malaya also viewed

 

Been to Malaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing