We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage - great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beech Cottage

Outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside
Open plan living space Open plan living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Outside
Open plan living space
Open plan living space
Open plan living space
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
A short stroll from Dunstanburgh Castle..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Craster, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bess499
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage - great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved spending October half term at Beech Cottage. The cottage had everything we needed, it's warm and well equipped and the owners were extremely helpful. Youngest son aged 8 was delighted with the wi-fi and eldest aged 12 took a liking to a game of darts in the friendly local pub, The Cottage, who also serve good food. We enjoyed lots of beach walks, easily accessible from Craster - no need to drive. Kippers at the Ship at Low Newton after a bracing walk along the beach - superb! Alnwick Castle was a fun day out and a boat trip to the Farne Islands was wonderful - lots of seals and their pups at this time of year. A truly memorable week and Beech Cottage the perfect base.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Many thanks for the fantastic review - hope to welcome you back next year! Very best, Kristen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam g
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fabulous location”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we came for a short break (4 nights) which was just enough time to explore the surrounding area. Cottage was exactly as described and seen online- really lovely and cosy! As well as the usual things, the cottage also provided quite a ot of extras (whihc should should maybe say) including a hairdryer, tea towels, all the basics (tea/coffee) and handy for us, a seletion of OS maps of the area.
We made use of these by exploring the coast roads on our bikes, and as our first viist to Northumberland, were very impressed with the area cycle touring- again, not something that seems to be promoted so well.
Craster is a little walk away, but wilth lovely sunny nights, it was perfect for dinner at the Jolly Fishermen- it relaly is as good as the reviews say!
Lovely stay all round. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne G
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cosy home from home”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beech cottage was perfect for our short break away over Easter. It is really well equipped and we all had a lovely time. It is very cosy with the downstairs being all in one room but this worked well for our needs. Upstairs, the beds were comfortable and the rooms just perfectly proportioned.

The location is perfect being only a short walk to Craster and the Jolly Fisherman - well worth a visit! We also enjoyed a longer walk to Dunstanburgh Castle and on to Embleton Bay - again, mustn't be missed!

The owners were particularly friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay possible - thank you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nippy7
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage! Fabulous location!”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the off the owners could not have done more to help us organise and settle in to their beautiful cottage. Beech cottage is decorated to a very high standard and everything has been thought of to make your stay run smoothly. The little touches made it all so welcoming. A delightful little gesture of fresh eggs left for our arrival from the owners hens was such a lovely thought. The location of the cottage is fantastic. We will definatley be reccomending beech cottage to all our family and friends and hope to be back soon. Thank you for the perfect getaway.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard16...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas at Beech Cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My wife and 2 young children (eldest nearly 2, youngest 11 weeks) and I stayed at Beech Cottage over Christmas and we found the property to be cosy, characterful and a fantastic location in Northumberland. The owners have made a clear effort to think of everything on behalf of visiting guests, and they have gone beyond what could reasonably be expected to ensure that guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a holiday cottage in the Northumberland coastal area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The provision for children - the toys and books were much appreciated by my eldest daughter!
Liked least: Having to drive back to the south of England after Christmas!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$452
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing