We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Very friendly accommodation with many options to choose from, self-catering, camping sites, etc.
The common areas are spacious and very clean (kitchen, bathrooms, boma/braai, bar). Personnel and other guests are very kind, following the spirit and nature of this place.
We had a sleeper cabana, was nicely arranged, it does the job. The whole resort is very nice, surrounded by nature and properly isolated from noise. Perhaps the bed could have been a little bit softer.
The beach is just a few minutes walk away, also reachable by car. This is a very secluded and almost empty beach to enjoy!
Bear in mind this is a self-catering option, and it is exactly like that. Except for breakfast (if you ask for it), you are on your own. Staff is always keen to help in any case.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luis_Gordillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galagala13, Owner at Gala Gala Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you Luis for your review. We appreciate your comments. We are actually in the process of replacing and upgrading the quality of our mattresses .
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Such a wonderful week spent here. We opted for the deluxe chalets and they are worth the extra spend. Our little kids loved it and being off season, we got to experience the whole area easily. Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation with a very special vibe to the resort. Will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank kblonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galagala13, Owner at Gala Gala Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review.
We feel we have created a special place to relax and enjoy a holiday. We look forward to your return visit .
Warm regards
Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I attended an Animal Communication Workshop and Wild Dolphin Retreat that was being held at Gala-Gala and Bev and Mandy made us all feel at home from the minute we arrived to the last second before our departure.

The rooms are wonderfully simplistic and you can hear the ocean when lying in bed at night - what a better way to fall asleep?!

The food was absolutely delicious and nothing was too much trouble. There is also a fully equipped communal kitchen where you can prepare your own food if preferred or required.

We were well and truly spoilt and I cannot wait to go back to the tranquility and beauty of Gala-Gala.

This is truly my version of heaven on earth and it would not be complete without my new friends - Bev and Mandy and all their beautiful and friendly fur-babies.

Thank you guys for the best time ever!! See you soon :)

Lots of love,
Nelmie

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms to choose from - all are comfortable and provide the necessities required for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nelmie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galagala13, Owner at Gala Gala Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi Nelmie
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It was great to meet you .
Well done on your diving, I have already reserved your cabana for you for sept next year!!
Good luck with your continued training with Tammy.
Have a great weekend
Best regards
Bev and Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I have just returned from running a Wild Dolphin Retreat and Animal Communication experience which we hosted at Gala Gala. I cannot thank Bev and Mandy enough for an amazing time. The food was just delicious, the accommodation incredible and their hospitality was superb. They made my guests and participants feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They really went above and beyond and by the time we left it was like leaving family. Thank you Bev and Mandy for an exceptional week. I would highly recommend Gala Gala to all, individual and groups wanting run retreats. It is amazing and work 6 never mind 5 stars. Love and blessings. Tammy

Room Tip: The Deluxe Cabanas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tammydeol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Bev and Mandy are fantastic hosts. Chalets are rustic but very comfortable and clean. Set in peaceful, tranquil surroundings. Within a longush walking distance from the beach and market. The best secret...the food is five star!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GaryvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta do Ouro
1,5 km away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 17 in Ponta do Ouro
76 reviews
16,2 km away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
3,9 km away
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
#2 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,7 km away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ponta do Ouro
119 reviews
5,7 km away
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Ponta Malongane
10 reviews
11,8 km away
Kosi Bay Casitas
Kosi Bay Casitas
#2 of 6 in Kosi Bay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gala Gala Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Gala Eco Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road, Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta do Ouro
Price Range: R587 - R1 655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gala Gala Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the indigenous trees, we have reed cabanas, boma pool area and onsite bar and restaurant. Choose from our deluxe on suite private cabanas or the budget option of standard cabanas with communal facilities. Private campsites each with own shower, toilet and wash up area. For the discerning traveller wanting something authentic and different. Owner managed with personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Safarinow and Expedia so you can book your Gala Gala Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing