We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ponta's Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2017

It was our first visit to Mozambique and Bev and Mandy at Gala Gala made it a great experience, even before we left Joburg.

The tips and advance they gave from the get-go was a great help and once we arrived at this lush Gem we knew his was going to be an awesome stay!

Very clean and comfortable, friendly dogs and cats, stunning butterflies and beautiful birds... this is the place to go to!!!

Bev and Mandy were extremely hospitable, friendly, generous and accommodating :)

There's a beautiful beach 10 min walk away and you are about a 10 min drive to the buzzing Ponta village, but once you are back at Gala Gala the peaceful surroundings are greatly appreciated, especially for good night's sleep over the holiday season :)

Thanks so much Bev and Mandy!!!

Room Tip: The communal bathrooms are the best I've seen but the en suite cabana was a bonus! The family ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank domzicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galagala13, Owner at Gala Gala Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to review Gala Gala. We so appreciate it.
Warm regards Bev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

We had a very good stay at Gala Gala Eco resort. Friendly service and all you needed in the resort. Accommodation and ablutions were clean and practical. Bev made us a nice dinner on request. Mandy and Bev have good knowledge of the area and activities to be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joelmalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Having decided on staying at Gala Gala at Ponto do Ouro for our first trip into Mozambique we were truly delighted by our choice. The lodge is run by two very welcoming ladies with considerable knowledge of the local area - they also cook a mean evening meal!
Take the walk to the beach from the resort and then continue into town - such an enjoyable and beautiful experience. Also, take a recommendation and eat at Fiorentina's - the prawns and chicken!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and wanted a place to stay that was quiet and tranquil away from the mad crowds. Gala-Gala is at the southern most point of Ponto nearby the lighthouse. The accommodation is very clean, neat and stylish typical of an island holiday.

Private deluxe reed cabanas are situated under the cool tree canopies, with a relaxing entertaining area with a plunge pool, built in garden lounge with cushions.

Bev and Mandy are the most warm and friendly hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and told us where to go off the beaten track, away from the SA crowds. We were advised about "Mama Alice" where we enjoyed a fantastic meal in the tucked way alley of the local market, famous for her Portuguese chicken at a very reasonable price.

Gala Gala is the only place we will go again when we visit Ponto d Ouro.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brett U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galagala13, Owner at Gala Gala Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Gala Gala Eco resort was our home for 7 blissful days. Set up on the dune minutes away from the bustling Ponto do Ouro it proved to be the perfect sanctuary to return to after a day out . Mandy and Bev the owners and ever present hosts welcomed us and accomodated us from the moment we arrived till the moment we left . Their back up team of Chico and Louise met all our needs immediately. The resort and accomodation was exactly what we imagined and wanted. We accomodated a double unit/4 sleeper reed chalet . The space ,the beds and all extras in the unit were equal to the best. They fitted the enviroment like a glove and never list the island paradise feel. The ablution facilities were clean and spacious..no tiny shower here. Hot water on tap at any time . Sufficient showering facilities to accommodate all the visitors. The kitchen and bar were fully stocked at reasonable prices constantly. The boma area has a communal vibe with small enclaves for serenity and privacy if required. The splash pool was perfect and our littley used it consistently but aptly situated within the boma area and within our sights .. excellent planning on the part of the owners. The kindness and willingness of the hosts needs a special mention.. Mandy and Bev dropped and fetched us from town on demand and at any time..never was it an issue and this was at no cost to us..loan of boogy boards ,sand boards and snorkelling equipment-- that gesture buys miles in my world. There are so many more examples of their love and commitment to Gala Gala I can quote but the list is endless. We will always return to Gala Gala on any trip to Mozambique as the resort laid the perfect foundation for our memories . Thank you ladies ..you have a special blend of magic.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Odette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta do Ouro
16.2 km away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
1.5 km away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 17 in Ponta do Ouro
74 reviews
3.9 km away
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
Dream Beach Self-Catering Lodge
#2 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ponta do Ouro
117 reviews
5.7 km away
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Ponta Malongane
9 reviews
10.5 km away
Chinderera Eco Lodge
Chinderera Eco Lodge
#3 of 6 in Kosi Bay
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gala Gala Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Gala Eco Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road, Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ponta do Ouro
Price Range: R574 - R1 352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gala Gala Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the indigenous trees, we have reed cabanas, boma pool area and onsite bar and restaurant. Choose from our deluxe on suite private cabanas or the budget option of standard cabanas with communal facilities. Private campsites each with own shower, toilet and wash up area. For the discerning traveller wanting something authentic and different. Owner managed with personalized attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Safarinow and Expedia so you can book your Gala Gala Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing