We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Paraiso do Ouro Resort(Ponta do Ouro)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
58
20
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
20
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barnew friendsexceptional hostsdolphin retreata true gembeautiful experiencecommunal kitchensplash poolwhale watchingwent above and beyondenjoyable stayfridge freezerscuba divingfire pitself cateringclean roomsa great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We had a very good stay at Gala Gala Eco resort. Friendly service and all you needed in the resort. Accommodation and ablutions were clean and practical. Bev made us a nice dinner on request. Mandy and Bev have good knowledge of the area and activities to be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joelmalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Having decided on staying at Gala Gala at Ponto do Ouro for our first trip into Mozambique we were truly delighted by our choice. The lodge is run by two very welcoming ladies with considerable knowledge of the local area - they also cook a mean evening meal!
Take the walk to the beach from the resort and then continue into town - such an enjoyable and beautiful experience. Also, take a recommendation and eat at Fiorentina's - the prawns and chicken!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Glen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and wanted a place to stay that was quiet and tranquil away from the mad crowds. Gala-Gala is at the southern most point of Ponto nearby the lighthouse. The accommodation is very clean, neat and stylish typical of an island holiday.

Private deluxe reed cabanas are situated under the cool tree canopies, with a relaxing entertaining area with a plunge pool, built in garden lounge with cushions.

Bev and Mandy are the most warm and friendly hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and told us where to go off the beaten track, away from the SA crowds. We were advised about "Mama Alice" where we enjoyed a fantastic meal in the tucked way alley of the local market, famous for her Portuguese chicken at a very reasonable price.

Gala Gala is the only place we will go again when we visit Ponto d Ouro.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brett U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galagala13, Owner at Gala Gala Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Gala Gala Eco resort was our home for 7 blissful days. Set up on the dune minutes away from the bustling Ponto do Ouro it proved to be the perfect sanctuary to return to after a day out . Mandy and Bev the owners and ever present hosts welcomed us and accomodated us from the moment we arrived till the moment we left . Their back up team of Chico and Louise met all our needs immediately. The resort and accomodation was exactly what we imagined and wanted. We accomodated a double unit/4 sleeper reed chalet . The space ,the beds and all extras in the unit were equal to the best. They fitted the enviroment like a glove and never list the island paradise feel. The ablution facilities were clean and spacious..no tiny shower here. Hot water on tap at any time . Sufficient showering facilities to accommodate all the visitors. The kitchen and bar were fully stocked at reasonable prices constantly. The boma area has a communal vibe with small enclaves for serenity and privacy if required. The splash pool was perfect and our littley used it consistently but aptly situated within the boma area and within our sights .. excellent planning on the part of the owners. The kindness and willingness of the hosts needs a special mention.. Mandy and Bev dropped and fetched us from town on demand and at any time..never was it an issue and this was at no cost to us..loan of boogy boards ,sand boards and snorkelling equipment-- that gesture buys miles in my world. There are so many more examples of their love and commitment to Gala Gala I can quote but the list is endless. We will always return to Gala Gala on any trip to Mozambique as the resort laid the perfect foundation for our memories . Thank you ladies ..you have a special blend of magic.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Odette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Staying at Gala Gala is like accepting a special invitation. Imagine what an idyllic beach holiday would be and then add all those unexpected gems that make for unforgettable memories. For us it was to get away from the city, to connect with family, to be present and un-watched by time…and of course, dive, snorkel, eat local food, drink local beer, meet local people, and lie on a beach that has no other footprints. We got it. We also received the most amazing hospitality from Bev, Mandy and their four-legged menagerie. Clean rooms (we had a deluxe room – so worth it) and catering area, a small pool, cold beers...nothing more needed.

Room Tip: Delux is so worth it
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maythambailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galagala13, Owner at Gala Gala Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews